As the strategic governing body, the ETH Board monitors the attainment of the institutions’ agreed strategic objectives. It supervises the ETH Domain. It condenses the results of its supervision activities in its annual report.

Internal Audit

The ETH Board has an Internal Audit department, which conducts internal auditing of the ETH Domain’s institutions. Internal Audit is oriented towards value creation and improvement of operating activities. In the course of its independent, objective activities, the Internal Audit department supports the institutions in achieving their objectives by using a systematic, recognised method to assess and to help improve the effectiveness of risk management, internal control and monitoring systems, as well as of governance processes. The criteria it applies in its supervisory activities are: compliance, lawfulness, cost-effectiveness and efficacy. In addition to the requirements of the federal government, the Internal Audit department is also bound by the standards of the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA), an international professional association.

The Internal Audit department carries out its tasks autonomously and independently. It reports to the President of the ETH Board for administrative purposes and to the Audit Committee of the ETH Board for functional purposes.

Risk management

In keeping with the autonomous status of the six institutions set out in the ETH Law as the basis for performance in teaching, research, and knowledge and technology transfer (KTT), each institution is responsible for managing the risks which arise in their respective fields themselves. Thus, the Presidents of the two Federal Institutes of Technology and the Directors of the four research institutes bear ultimate responsibility for risk management in their respective institutions.

In their annual reports, the institutions inform the ETH Board about their core risks, particularly regarding the quantity, scope and potential consequences of these risks. In addition, the institutions are obliged to notify the ETH Board (in a direct and timely manner) of any unusual risk changes or unusual events resulting in loss or damage. Once a year, the ETH Domain’s risk maps are submitted to the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research.

Appeals authority

The ETH Domain has an Appeals Commission, i.e. a first-instance special administrative court, which rules on appeals against decisions made by organs of the ETH Domain. Appeals predominantly concern personnel and university legislation. The rulings of the ETH Appeals Commission can be appealed against before the Swiss Federal Administrative Court.

The commission is an independent judicial authority with seven members, who are elected by the ETH Board. Its office is in Berne.

Als strategisches Führungsorgan überwacht der ETH-Rat die Erreichung der vereinbarten strategischen Ziele der Institutionen. Er übt die Aufsicht über den ETH-Bereich aus. Er verdichtet die Resultate seiner Aufsichtsarbeit in seinem jährlichen Rechenschaftsbericht sowie seinem Schlussbericht am Ende der  vierjährigen Leistungsperiode.

Internes Audit

Der ETH-Rat verfügt über ein Internes Audit, welches die interne Revision über die Institutionen des ETH-Bereichs ausübt. Die interne Revision ist auf Wertschöpfung und Verbesserung der betrieblichen Aktivitäten ausgerichtet. Im Rahmen seiner unabhängigen und objektiven Tätigkeit unterstützt das Interne Audit die Institutionen bei der Erreichung ihrer Ziele, indem es mit einer systematischen und anerkannten Vorgehensweise die Effektivität des Risikomanagements, der Internen Steuerungs- und Kontrollsysteme sowie der  Governance-Prozesse beurteilt und diese verbessern hilft. Kriterien seiner Aufsichtstätigkeit sind die Ordnungsmässigkeit, Rechtmässigkeit, Wirtschaftlichkeit und Wirksamkeit. Neben den Vorgaben des Bundes gelten für das Interne Audit insbesondere die Standards des internationalen Berufsverbandes der Internen Auditoren (Institute of Internal Auditors, IIA).

Das Interne Audit nimmt seine Aufgaben unabhängig und selbständig wahr. Es ist administrativ dem Präsidenten des ETH-Rates unterstellt und funktional dem Auditausschuss des ETH-Rates zugeordnet.

Risikomanagement

Entsprechend der im ETH-Gesetz verankerten Autonomie der sechs Institutionen als Grundlage der Leistungen in Lehre, Forschung und Dienstleistung ist jede Institution für das Management der in ihrem Bereich bestehenden Risiken selbst verantwortlich. Die Präsidenten der ETH beziehungsweise die Direktorin und die Direktoren der Forschungsanstalten tragen demnach die oberste Verantwortung für das Risikomanagement in ihrer Institution.

Im Rahmen ihrer jährlichen Berichterstattung informieren die Institutionen dem ETH-Rat über ihre Kernrisiken, insbesondere was Bestand, Umfang und potenzielle Auswirkungen dieser Risiken angeht. Zudem haben die Institutionen die Pflicht dem ETH-Rat als Aufsichtsorgan des ETH-Bereichs unmittelbar und zeitgerecht über eventuelle ausserordentliche Risikoveränderungen oder ausserordentliche Schadenereignisse in Kenntnis zu setzen. Einmal im Jahr werden die Risikokataloge des ETH-Bereichs dem Eidgenössischen Departement des Innern zugestellt.

Beschwerdeinstanz

Der ETH-Bereich verfügt über eine Beschwerdekommission, ein erstinstanzliches Spezialverwaltungsgericht, welches über Beschwerden gegen Verfügungen von Organen des ETH-Bereichs entscheidet. Die Beschwerden betreffen vorwiegend das Personal- und Hochschulrecht. Die Entscheide der ETH-Beschwerdekommission können an das Bundesverwaltungsgericht weiter gezogen werden.

Die Kommission ist eine unabhängige, richterliche Behörde mit sieben Mitgliedern, die vom ETH-Rat gewählt werden. Ihr Sitz ist in Bern.