Dr Fritz Schiesser (Photo: Elisabeth Real)

The relief was palpable within the Swiss research community when the Federal Council ratified the Croatia Protocol on 16 December 2016, thereby enabling the country to become fully involved in Horizon 2020. Switzerland has thus secured access to international networks, innovations and to cooperation with the best in the world.

Innovation is vital for competitiveness and for the success of our economy. To hold their own on the global market, Swiss SMEs and industry must continually win customers over with new products and processes of the very highest quality. Together with industrial partners, the ETH Domain is seeking to develop state-of-the-art production processes and new materials, making its contribution towards the implementation of Industry 4.0. The latest findings in “Advanced Manufacturing” – a research specialism defined by the ETH Domain – are intended to help to counteract the ongoing deindustrialisation of our country and to underpin Switzerland as a place of activity.

The ETH Domain with its two Federal Institutes of Technology and the four research institutes drive innovation in Switzerland. This is not only reflected in the 50 spin-offs and 230 patents which emerged from the ETH Domain in 2016, but also in the renewed close collaboration between the economy and the public sector. In addition, the ETH Domain plays a key role in the Switzerland Innovation Park and trains over 3,000 highly skilled graduates every year who join the employment market.

Digitisation poses one of the biggest challenges to the economy and society. With its world’s leading teaching and research institutions for science and engineering, the ETH Domain is set to play a pivotal role in this area and to contribute towards making Switzerland a leading international research centre for digitisation, thus continuing to generate added value in our country and to safeguard employment and well-being.

Bern/Zurich, February 2017
Dr Fritz Schiesser
President of the ETH Board

Dr. Fritz Schiesser (Foto: Elisabeth Real)

Die Erleichterung des Forschungsplatzes Schweiz war gross, als der Bundesrat am 16. Dezember 2016 das Kroatien-Protokoll ratifizierte und somit die vollständige Teilnahme an Horizon 2020 ermöglichte. Die Schweiz sichert sich damit den Zugang zu internationalen Netzwerken, zu Innovationen und zur Zusammenarbeit mit den Besten der Welt.

Innovationen sind entscheidend für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und den Erfolg unserer Wirtschaft. Um auf dem Weltmarkt zu bestehen, müssen Schweizer KMU und die Industrie stets mit neuen Produkten und Prozessen von allerhöchster Qualität überzeugen. Gemeinsam mit industriellen Partnern will der ETH-Bereich modernste Produktionsverfahren und neue Materialien entwickeln und so bei der Umsetzung der Industrie 4.0 seinen Beitrag leisten. Neuste Erkenntnisse bei «Advanced Manufacturing» – einem vom ETH-Bereich definierten Forschungsschwerpunkt – sollen helfen, einer schleichenden Deindustrialisierung unseres Landes entgegenzuwirken und den Werkplatz Schweiz zu stärken.

Der ETH-Bereich mit seinen beiden Technischen Hochschulen und den vier Forschungsanstalten ist der Innovationsmotor der Schweiz. Dies zeigt sich nicht nur in den 50 Spin-offs und 230 Patenten, die 2016 aus dem ETH-Bereich hervorgingen, sondern auch in der erneut engen Zusammenarbeit mit Wirtschaft und öffentlicher Hand. Der ETH-Bereich übernimmt zudem eine Schlüsselrolle beim Schweizerischen Innovationspark und bildet jährlich über 3 000 hochqualifizierte Absolventinnen und Absolventen aus, die dem Arbeitsmarkt zur Verfügung stehen.

Eine der grössten Herausforderungen für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft stellt die Digitalisierung dar. Der ETH-Bereich ist mit seinen weltweit führenden Lehr- und Forschungsstätten der Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften prädestiniert, eine zentrale Rolle bei diesem Zukunftsthema zu übernehmen und wesentlich dazu beizutragen, die Schweiz zu einem international führenden Forschungsstandort für Digitalisierung zu machen und so Wertschöpfung in unserem Land zu halten sowie Beschäftigung und Wohlstand zu sichern.

Bern/Zürich, im Februar 2017
Dr. Fritz Schiesser
Präsident des ETH-Rats