ETH Board, 27 April 2012

The number of students at ETH Zurich and EPFL rose by 6.3% in 2011 to a total of 25,629. New entrants rose by 6.9%, particularly in mathematics, informatics, natural sciences and technics (the “MINT” subjects). ETH Zurich, EPFL, and the four research institutes PSI, WSL, Empa and Eawag are strengthening knowledge and technology transfer (KTT). Industry associations Swissmem and scienceindustries welcome this development, along with the growth in student numbers. They are calling for the ETH Domain to maintain its leading international position, and for greater investment on the part of the Swiss Confederation.

New student numbers rose at both Federal Institutes of Technology in 2011, particularly in engineering sciences (+4.8%), information and communication technology (+5.4%), and pure natural sciences (+14.7%); the proportion of women pursuing Bachelor courses of study rose slightly once again to 29.4%. Revenues from direct federal funds (“primary funding”) rose by 3.6% year-on-year in 2011 to CHF 2.207 billion. The project funds acquired competitively (“secondary funding”) rose by 9.0% to CHF 445.2 million.

Ensuring the continuing high quality of courses remains a challenge for ETH Zurich and EPFL: The professor-to-student ratio, which is closely observed in international rankings, deteriorated further in 2011 (from 1:33.2 in 2002 up to 1:35.8 today), despite the fact that the ETH Domain employed 30 more professors in 2011 than it did the previous year (new total: 749). At the annual media conference of the ETH Board, President Dr Fritz Schiesser commented as follows: “The rise in the number of students in MINT subjects fulfils a long-standing wish on the part of the Swiss economy and Swiss society, particularly as the study programmes at ETH Zurich and EPFL are continually being evaluated and adapted in keeping with learning outcomes and their practical orientation.” The national contribution made by the two Federal Institutes of Technology and the four research institutes of the ETH Domain is evident, for example, in their participation in 83 of the 246 projects approved by the Commission for Technology and Innovation (CTI) as part of measures to combat the strength of the franc. In the area of energy research, on which the ETH Domain spent some CHF 190 million (excluding overheads) in 2011, the range of promising research projects currently underway includes research into the use of biomass, innovations in the function and manufacture of photovoltaic cells, geothermal energy, and the energy efficiency of buildings (e.g. NEST, the new platform for energy-conscious construction at Empa). Teaching remains a key priority for the ETH Board; with a view to maintaining Switzerland’s international competitiveness, the ETH Domain also invests in large-scale research and infrastructure projects such as high-performance computing. Due to the long-term nature of its work, the ETH Board welcomes the proposal from the Committee for Science, Education and Culture (CSEC) of the Council of States for continued growth of federal contributions in the years 2013–2016: “Switzerland holds an outstanding position in the area of education, research and innovation (ERI), but countries such as Germany and China are catching up. The ETH Domain must be in a position to invest if it is to make an even greater contribution to innovation in Switzerland”, urges Schiesser. 
 

Training, using infrastructures, analysing findings

The way in which the ETH Domain promotes innovation is explained by Dr Adrienne Corboud Fumagalli, Vice-President of Innovation and Technology Transfer at EPFL: According to Fumagalli, the involvement extends from training to shared infrastructures – such as at the Binnig and Rohrer Nanotechnology Center of IBM and ETH Zurich in Rüschlikon (Canton Zurich) – through to the sale of licences and the provision of services and expertise. “Key factors for successful cooperation include commitment to an open campus and sufficient financial resources to bridge over lean phases in the innovation process,” she explains. An example of this kind of bridge financing was the “innogrant” (a grant for entrepreneurial initiative) awarded by EPFL to the initiator of Aleva Neurotherapeutics back in 2008. The company recently raised EUR 9.5 million in the form of venture capital, and today employs eight members of staff in Switzerland at EPFL’s Parc Scientifique. The strength of the links between the ETH Domain and the Swiss economy are revealed by the following figures: In 2011, ETH Zurich concluded some 700 research agreements, of which 219 were with Swiss SMEs. The combined value of these contracts amounted to just under CHF 150 million. EPFL signed 122 agreements for industrial-scientific joint ventures, thereby increasing its direct funding from industry by 16% compared to 2010. Corboud Fumagalli sees the EPFL’s Quartier de l’Innovation as the perfect example of an open campus: Since the end of 2010, this has housed not just start-ups but also major companies, as a result of which more than 1,000 jobs have been created in total. Ultimately, the Quartier de l’Innovation will be in a position to host almost 2,000 people. Many EPFL students are currently on internships or are embarking on their professional careers with these companies. “If Switzerland is to become a national ‘innovation park’ as envisaged by the new Federal Research and Innovation Act, it must build on successful hubs of this kind and integrate the different regions of Switzerland into a single network,” says Corboud Fumagalli.
 

Swiss mechanical and electrical engineering industries call for investment in training

Swissmem Chairman Hans Hess, who appeared as a guest speaker at the annual media conference, expressed his firm conviction that Switzerland had to remain a centre of research and innovation: In 2011, more than 1/3 of all Swiss goods exports (CHF 68.5 billion) were accounted for by the mechanical and electrical engineering industries, which generated 9.2% of gross domestic product thanks to total sales of CHF 89 billion. In a survey of Swissmem member companies conducted in 2011, 65% of SMEs (i.e. companies with up to 249 staff) and 78% of larger companies reported a lack of qualified specialists at all levels. Hans Hess is therefore calling for more trust in the dual education system, as well as an increase in Swiss student numbers at the two Federal Institutes of Technology: “Too few young people are training to become engineers.” Where the transfer of knowledge from higher education institutions to companies is concerned, Hess believes that both parties have to make an effort: “Large companies have very good access to KTT. Medium-sized companies have favourable conditions, but they do not exploit them sufficiently. And SMEs need to increasingly cultivate contact with universities of applied sciences, which would be attractive partners for them,” argues Hess. Overall, he is calling for consistent growth of investment in education, research and innovation over the years. In addition, the instruments of knowledge and technology transfer need to be better coordinated and more efficient.
 

Chemical and pharmaceutical industries call for 6% growth in ERI funding

For the Swiss chemical and pharmaceutical industries (as represented by scienceindustries), innovation is the prerequisite for success in the manufacture and marketing of high-value-creating products such as pharmaceuticals, diagnostic equipment, vitamins and nutritional supplements, plant treatment products, and high-quality material treatments. The member companies of scienceindustries directly employ more than 70,000 employees in Switzerland, of which 12,000 work in research. Guest speaker Michael F. Plüss, Vice-Chairman of scienceindustries, emphasises that the member companies of the association account for 44% of all private research expenditure in Switzerland, and are at the same time reliant on the public sector to fund training and basic research to a level of excellence: A cluster effect manifests itself when knowledge and technology transfer functions across the entire network of public and private research. “In research, the rule that ‘people follow jobs’ can become inverted so that ‘jobs follow people’,” says Plüss. The best scientists look for proximity to other outstanding specialists, wherever they may be in the world. Plüss sees a clear lesson to be drawn from this: “If we are not simply to give away the leading global position held by the Swiss science industries and lose our research and innovation status, we need a binding commitment to growth in ERI funding of at least 6%.”

ETH-Rat, 27. April 2012

Die Zahl der Studierenden an ETH Zürich und EPFL stieg 2011 um 6,3% auf total 25‘629. Die Neueintritte nahmen um 6,9% zu, namentlich in Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften und Technologie (MINT-Fächer).  ETH Zürich und EPFL sowie die vier Forschungsanstalten PSI, WSL, Empa und Eawag stärken den Wissens- und Technologietransfer (WTT). Die Wirtschaftsverbände Swissmem und scienceindustries begrüssen dies wie auch das Wachstum der Studierendenzahlen. Sie fordern eine internationale Spitzenstellung für den ETH-Bereich und höhere Investitionen des Bundes.

An den beiden ETH sind 2011 die Neueintritte von Studierenden angestiegen, namentlich in den Ingenieurwissenschaften (+4,8%), in Informatik- und Kommunikationstechnologie (+5,4%) sowie in den exakten Naturwissenschaften (+14,7%); auch der Anteil der Frauen in den Bachelorstudien hat sich nochmals leicht auf neu 29,4% erhöht. Die Erträge aus direkten Bundesmitteln («Erstmittel») sind 2011 gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 3,6% auf 2,207 Mia. CHF angestiegen. Die im Wettbewerb eingeworbenen Projektmittel («Zweitmittel») stiegen um  9,0% auf 445,2 Mio. CHF. 

Die Qualität der Ausbildungen sicherzustellen bleibt für ETH Zürich und EPFL eine Herausforderung: Das in internationalen Rankings beachtete Betreuungsverhältnis hat sich 2011 weiter verschlechtert (von 1:33,2 im Jahr 2002 auf heute 1:35,8), obwohl der ETH-Bereich 2011 30 Professorinnen und Professoren mehr als im Vorjahr beschäftigte (total neu 749). An der Jahresmedienkonferenz des ETH-Rats sagt Prä-sident Dr. Fritz Schiesser: «Mit dem Anstieg der Studierendenzahlen in den MINT-Fächern erfüllt sich ein langjähriger Wunsch von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft, zumal die Studiengänge an ETH Zürich und EPFL laufend auf Praxisnähe und Erfolg geprüft und ausgerichtet werden.» Den Beitrag der zwei Hochschulen und vier Forschungsanstalten des ETH-Bereichs für die Schweiz belegt zum Beispiel die Mitwirkung an 83 der 246 Projekte, welche die Kommission für Technologie und Innovation (KTI) im Zuge der Massnahmen gegen die Frankenstärke bewilligt hatte. In der Energieforschung, für die der ETH-Bereich 2011 rund 190 Mio. CHF (ohne Overhead) aufwendete, laufen vielversprechende Forschungsprojekte etwa zur Nutzung von Biomasse, für Innovationen bei Funktion und Fertigung von Photovoltaikzellen, für Geothermie oder auch zur Energieeffizienz von Gebäuden (z. B. die neue Plattform für energiebewusstes Bauen NEST an der Empa). Prioritär bleibt für den ETH-Rat die Lehre; mit Blick auf die internationale Konkurrenzfähigkeit der Schweiz investiert der ETH-Bereich zudem in Grossforschungs- und Infrastruk-turprojekte wie das Hochleistungsrechnen. Wegen der langfristigen Natur des Geschäfts begrüsst der ETH-Rat den Vorschlag der zuständigen Ständeratskommission (WBK) für ein kontinuierliches Wachstum der Bundesbeiträge in den Jahren 2013-2016: «Die Schweiz ist in einer hervorragenden Position bei Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (BFI), aber Länder wie Deutschland und China holen auf. Der ETH-Bereich muss investieren können, um noch mehr zur Innovationskraft der Schweiz beitragen zu können», so Schiesser.

Ausbilden, Infrastrukturen nutzen, Erkenntnisse verwerten

Wie der ETH-Bereich Innovation fördert, erläutert Dr. Adrienne Corboud Fumagalli, Vizepräsidentin für Innovation und Technologietransfer der EPFL: Das Engagement reiche von der Ausbildung über gemeinsam genutzte Infrastrukturen wie am Binnig and Rohrer Nanotechnology Center von IBM und ETH Zürich in Rüschlikon ZH bis hin zum Verkauf von Lizenzen und Angebot von Dienstleistungen und Expertisen. «Entscheidend für eine erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit sind die Pflege eines offenen Campus und finanzielle Mittel zur Überbrückung von Talsohlen im Innovationsprozess», sagt Corboud Fumagalli. Ein Beispiel für eine solche Brückenfinanzierung war der «Innogrant» (Stipendium für unternehmerische Initiative), den die EPFL 2008 dem Initiator von Aleva Therapeutics gewährt hatte. Kürzlich konnte das Unternehmen 9,5 Mio. EUR  Risikokapital akquirieren und beschäftigt heute in der Schweiz 8 Mitarbeitende im Parc Scientifique der EPFL. Wie eng die WTT-Verbindungen zwischen dem ETH-Bereich und der Wirtschaft sind, verdeutlichen folgende Zahlen: Die ETH Zürich schloss 2011 rund 700 Forschungsverträge ab, davon 219 mit Schweizer KMU. Der finanzielle Rahmen belief sich auf knapp CHF 150 Mio. CHF. Die EPFL unterzeichnete 122 Verträge über industrielle Wissenschaftskooperationen und erhöhte dadurch die direkten Mittel aus der Industrie um 16% gegenüber 2010. Als Modell für den offenen Campus sieht Corboud Fumagalli das Quartier de l’Innovation der EPFL: Seit Ende 2010 finden sich nebst den Start-Ups auch Grossunternehmen, wodurch insgesamt über 1000 Arbeitsplätze entstanden sind. Letztendlich wird das Quartier de l’Innovation nahezu 2000 Arbeitsplätze anbieten können. Viele Studierende der EPFL absolvieren in diesen Unternehmen Praktika oder nehmen dort ihre erste Berufstätigkeit auf. «Ein Innovationspark Schweiz, wie ihn das neue Forschungs- und Innovationsgesetz vorsieht, muss auf solchen erfolgreichen Hubs aufbauen und als Netzwerk die verschiedenen Regionen der Schweiz einbeziehen», sagt Corboud Fumagalli.  
 

Maschinen-, Elektro- und Metall-Industrie für Investitionen in Ausbildung

Für einen starken Forschungs- und Innovationsplatz Schweiz spricht sich Gastredner Hans Hess, Präsident Swissmem, aus: Aufs Konto der Maschinen-, Elektro und Metall-Industrie ging 2011 über 1/3 aller Schweizer Güterexporte (68,5 Mia. CHF) und die Branche erwirtschaftete mit einem Gesamtumsatz von 89 Mia. CHF 9,2% des Bruttoinlandprodukts. In einer 2011 durchgeführten Umfrage bei den Swissmem-Mitgliedfirmen meldeten 65% der KMU (bis 249 Mitarbeitende) und 78% der grösseren Firmen einen Fachkräftemangel auf allen Stufen. Hans Hess fordert daher wieder mehr Vertrauen ins duale Bildungssystem und zugleich steigende einheimische Studierendenzahlen an den beiden ETH: «Zuwenig junge Menschen lassen sich zu Ingenieurinnen und Ingenieuren ausbilden». Beim Transfer des Wissens von den Hochschulen in die Unternehmen sieht Hess sowohl eine Bringschuld bei den Hochschulen als auch eine Holschuld bei den Unternehmen: «Grosskonzerne haben sehr guten Zugang zu WTT. Mittelständige Firmen haben günstige Voraussetzungen, nutzen diese aber zu wenig. Und KMUs müssen vermehrt den Kontakt zu den Fachhochschulen suchen. Sie wären attraktive Partner», sagt Hess. Insgesamt verlangt er über die Jahre konstant wachsende Investitionen in Bildung, Forschung und Innovation. Zudem müssen die Instrumente für den Wissens- und Technologietransfer besser koordiniert und effizienter werden.
 

Chemisch-pharmazeutische Industrie fordert 6% Wachstum der BFI-Mittel

Für die Schweizer chemisch-pharmazeutische Industrie (scienceindustries) bildet Innovationskraft die Voraussetzung für den Erfolg bei der Herstellung und Vermarktung wertschöpfungsintensiver Produkte wie Pharmazeutika, Diagnostika, Vitamine und Nahrungsmittelzusätze, Pflanzenbehandlungsmittel sowie hochwertige Materialbehandlung. Die Mitgliedfirmen von scienceindustries beschäftigen in der Schweiz direkt über 70.000 Mitarbeitende, davon rund 12.000 Forschende. Gastredner Michael F. Plüss, Vizepräsident von scienceindustries, unterstreicht, dass die Mitgliedfirmen des Verbandes 44% aller privaten Forschungsaufwendungen in der Schweiz erbringen und zugleich auf exzellente, öffentlich finanzierte Ausbildung und Grundlagenforschung angewiesen sind: Von einem funktionierenden Wissens- und Technologietransfers im ganzen Netzwerk öffentlicher Forschung wie privater Forschung geht eine Cluster-Wirkung aus. «In der Forschung kann die Regel ‚People follow Jobs‘ in das Gegenteil zu ‚Jobs follow People‘ kippen», sagt Plüss. Denn die besten Wissenschaftler suchen die Nähe zu anderen herausragenden Fachkräften, egal wo auf der Welt. Daraus zieht Plüss einen klaren Schluss: «Wir dürfen die erreichte globale Spitzenstellung der Schweizer Science  Industries und unserer Forschung und Innovation nicht preisgeben, weshalb wir verbindlich ein jährliches Wachstum der BFI-Mittel von mindestens 6% fordern.»