The Austrian business and finance magazine Format has ranked the international master’s programme in microtechnology and nanotechnology as number one among technical study courses at universities of applied sciences. Thus, this recently established study course already enjoys an excellent reputation after being held just four times.

Students studying at Empa as part of the vocational master’s programme in microtechnology and nanotechnology. Photo: Empa

More than 120 personnel managers from leading companies evaluated Austrian universities and universities of applied sciences with regard to their graduates’ job chances. Here, the most important criteria were the quality of the lecturers and professors, the internationality of the study courses and the proactiveness of the students.

Empa co-founded the study course in 2004; it is currently under the scientific leadership of Gian-Luca Bona, Director of Empa. The Interstate University of Applied Sciences and Technology Buchs, the Zurich University of Applied Sciences and the Vorarlberg University of Applied Sciences are also involved in this study course, which is designed to be completed in combination with occupational work and lasts two years. A maximum of 20 students can take part each year.

Das internationale Masterprogramm Micro- and Nanotechnology hat im Ranking des österreichischen Wirtschafts- und Finanzmagazins «Format» Platz eins unter den technischen Fachhochschulstudiengängen belegt. Damit geniesst der junge Studiengang nach nur vier Durchführungen bereits einen hervorragenden Ruf.

Studierende des berufsbegleitenden Masters Micro- and Nanotechnology während ihrer Ausbildung an der Empa. Foto: Empa

Mehr als 120 Personalchefinnen und -chefs führender Unternehmen haben österreichische Universitäten und Fachhochschulen hinsichtlich der Chancen ihrer Absolventinnen und Absolventen beim Jobeinstieg bewertet. Wichtigste Kriterien waren dabei die Qualität der Dozierenden sowie der Professorinnen und Professoren, die Internationalität der Studiengänge und die Eigeninitiative der Studierenden.

Die Empa hat den Studiengang 2004 mitbegründet; derzeit steht er unter der wissenschaftlichen Leitung von Empa-Direktor Gian-Luca Bona. Am Studiengang beteiligt sind zudem die Interstaatliche Hochschule Buchs NTB, die Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften ZHAW und die Fachhochschule Vorarlberg. Der Studiengang ist berufsbegleitend angelegt und dauert zwei Jahre. Pro Jahrgang können maximal 20 Studierende teilnehmen.