Eawag is one of the world’s leading water research institutes. Its strength and success are based on the combination of research, teaching and higher education that it has provided for 80 years, along with consultancy and the transfer of knowledge. The combination of natural sciences, engineering and social sciences enables a comprehensive research into water in relatively untouched natural bodies of water, right through to fully automated waste water management systems.

Here the research activity focuses on how to secure a balance between humanity’s use of water and the preservation and strengthening of the aquatic ecosystem. 26 professors, some 200 scientists and more than 140 doctoral students meet at Eawag in a unique research environment to investigate questions that lead to new scientific findings and that serve the basic requirements of society.

Its interdisciplinary nature and the way it includes stakeholders from business and society play an important role in this. The 4,400-plus teaching hours at Swiss universities and the supervision of 140 Bachelor’s and Master’s degree theses (every year) are making an important contribution to the education of young professionals in the Swiss water sector.

In order to transfer and apply findings from fundamental research to natural bodies of water, Eawag has built an installation with 36 test pools on its grounds in Dübendorf, unique in Europe. The installation started operating in 2016. It allows researchers to investigate questions about the way ecosystems work and how biodiversity is changing, under controlled environmental conditions.

Die Eawag ist ein weltweit führendes Wasserforschungsinstitut. Stärke und Erfolg basieren auf der seit 80 Jahren gepflegten Verknüpfung von Forschung, Lehre und Weiterbildung sowie auf der Beratung und dem Wissenstransfer. Die Kombination von Natur-, Ingenieur- und Sozialwissenschaften erlaubt eine umfassende Erforschung des Wassers von relativ naturbelassenen Gewässern bis hin zu voll technisierten Abwassermanagementsystemen.

Die Forschungstätigkeit fokussiert dabei darauf, wie die Nutzung durch den Menschen mit der Erhaltung und Widerstandsfähigkeit des aquatischen Ökosystems in Balance gebracht werden kann. 26 Professorinnen und Professoren, rund 200 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeitende und über 140 Doktorierende treffen an der Eawag auf ein einzigartiges Forschungsumfeld, um Fragen nachzugehen, die neue wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse bringen und fundamentale gesellschaftliche Bedürfnisse abdecken.

Die Interdisziplinarität und der Einbezug der Interessengruppen aus Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft spielen dabei eine wichtige Rolle. Mehr als 4 400 Lehrstunden an Schweizer Hochschulen und die Betreuung von rund 140 Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten pro Jahr tragen intensiv zur Ausbildung junger Fachkräfte für den Schweizer Wassersektor bei.

Um Erkenntnisse aus der Grundlagenforschung im Labor auch auf natürliche Gewässer übertragen zu können, hat die Eawag auf ihrem Areal in Dübendorf eine in Europa einzigartige Anlage mit 36 Versuchsteichen gebaut. 2016 wurde die Anlage in Betrieb genommen. Sie ermöglicht es, Fragen zur Funktionsweise von Ökosystemen und zur Veränderung von Biodiversität unter kontrollierten Umweltbedingungen zu erforschen.