Empa is an interdisciplinary research institute for materials science and technology. It finds solutions for industry and society in the fields of nanostructured materials and surfaces, environmental technologies, energy and sustainable technologies, as well as bio- and medical technologies. Working with industry partners and via spin-offs, it converts its research results in the Empa technology centres to marketable innovations, and contributes to the strengthening of the competitiveness of the Swiss economy. Moreover, it creates a scientific basis for the sustainable development of society.

Since 1880 the Empa has provided public offices with data resources for their political decisions, and it also carries out studies on behalf of federal government offices. About 1000 staff incl. 29 professors as well as some 200 doctoral students and 40 trainees are working at Empa. There are also about 200 Bachelor’s and Master’s degree students and trainees here. Added to this, numerous projects with researchers from industry are always underway, as well as some 300 projects financed by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), the Technology and Innovation Commission (CTI) and the EU framework programmes.

In May 2016 the modular research and innovation building NEST, of Empa and Eawag, was opened in Dübendorf. In the NEST building new technologies, materials and systems will be tested and developed under realistic conditions. It is intended that the close cooperation with partners from research, business and the public sector will speed up the process of innovation in buildings.

Die Empa ist das interdisziplinäre Forschungsinstitut für Materialwissenschaften und Technologie. Sie erarbeitet Lösungen für Industrie und Gesellschaft in den Bereichen nanostrukturierte Materialien und Oberflächen, Umwelt-, Energie- und nachhaltige Gebäudetechnologien sowie Bio- und Medizinaltechnologien. Gemeinsam mit Industriepartnern und via Spin-offs setzt sie ihre Forschungsergebnisse in den Empa-Technologiezentren in marktfähige Innovationen um und trägt dazu bei, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Schweizer Wirtschaft zu stärken. Zudem schafft sie wissenschaftliche Grundlagen für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung der Gesellschaft.

Seit 1880 liefert die Empa öffentlichen Stellen Datengrund lagen für politische Entscheide und führt Studien im Auftrag von Bundesämtern durch. An der Empa arbeiten rund 1 000 Mitarbeitende inkl. 29 Professorinnen und Professoren sowie rund 200 Doktorierende und 40 Auszubildende. Hinzu kommen rund 200 Bachelor- und Masterstudierende sowie Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten. Daneben laufen stets zahlreiche Projekte mit Industrieforschenden sowie rund 300 von dem Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF), der Kommission für Technologie und Innovation (KTI) und den EU-Rahmenprogrammen finanzierte Projekte.

Im Mai 2016 wurde in Dübendorf das modulare Forschungs- und Innovationsgebäude NEST der Empa und Eawag eröffnet. In NEST werden neue Technologien, Materialien und Systeme unter realen Bedingungen getestet und weiterentwickelt. Die enge Kooperation mit Partnern aus Forschung, Wirtschaft und öffentlicher Hand soll den Innovationsprozess im Gebäudebereich beschleunigen.