The Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research (WSL) investigates changes to the terrestrial environment, and the use and protection of natural habitats and cultural landscapes. It monitors the condition and progress of landscape, forests, biodiversity, natural hazards and snow and ice, and develops sustainable solutions for socially relevant problems – in collaboration with its partners from academia and society.

Of the 500 or more employees in Birmensdorf, Davos, Lausanne, Bellinzona and Sitten, almost half are scientists and more than 60 are doctoral students. The work force also includes about 150 technical staff and 50 administrative staff, 15 trainees, and apprentices. About a quarter of the employees are working at the WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF in Davos.

Natural hazards can cause great damage. Research at WSL is of great benefit in helping to protect the populace from such events in nature. It operates test installations for the investigation of avalanches, rockfalls and debris flows, which are unique in the world. The goal is to better understand these events in order to enable a more effective protection and early warning of such perilous events in nature.

The research programme “Forest and Climate Change”, cosponsored by the Federal Office of the Environment (FOEN), is gaining fundamental knowledge in its findings. This helps the forestry services, farm managers, forest owners and political decision-makers to correctly assess the risks related to climate change, and the capacity of the forests to adjust and adapt, and respond by taking effective measures. The programme is set to be completed in 2017.

Die Eidgenössische Forschungsanstalt für Wald, Schnee und Landschaft WSL untersucht Veränderungen der terrestrischen Umwelt sowie Nutzung und Schutz von natürlichen Lebensräumen und Kulturlandschaften. Sie überwacht Zustand und Entwicklung von Landschaft, Wald, Biodiversität, Naturgefahren sowie Schnee und Eis und entwickelt nachhaltige Lösungen für gesellschaftlich relevante Probleme – zusammen mit ihren Partnern aus Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft.

Von den gut 500 Mitarbeitenden in Birmensdorf, Davos, Lausanne, Bellinzona und Sitten sind knapp die Hälfte wissenschaftliche Mitarbeitende und mehr als 60 Doktorierende. Etwa 150 technische und 50 administrative Mitarbeitende, 15 Lernende sowie Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten ergänzen die Belegschaft. Rund ein Viertel aller Mitarbeitenden ist am WSL-Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung SLF in Davos tätig.

Naturgefahren können grosse Schäden anrichten. Die WSL hilft mit ihrer Forschung massgeblich, die Bevölkerung vor solchen Naturereignissen zu schützen. Sie betreibt weltweit einzigartige Versuchsanlagen zur Untersuchung von Lawinen, Steinschlag und Murgängen. Ziel ist es, diese besser zu verstehen, um einen besseren Schutz und rechtzeitige Warnungen vor solch drohenden Naturereignissen zu ermöglichen.

Das gemeinsam mit dem Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU) getragene Forschungsprogramm «Wald und Klimawandel» erarbeitet fundiertes Grundlagen wissen. Dank dem können Forstdienste, Betriebsleitende, Waldeigentümer und politische Entscheidungsträger die mit dem Klimawandel verbundenen Risiken und die Anpassungsfähigkeit der Wälder richtig einschätzen und wirksame Anpassungsmassnahmen treffen. Das Programm soll 2017 abgeschlossen werden.