ETH Zurich is one of the leading technical and scientific universities. It is well-known for its excellent teaching, pioneering fundamental research, and the direct transfer of new findings to real-world applications. The ETH Zurich provides an inspiring environment for researchers, and a comprehensive education for students.

Established in 1855, today the ETH Zurich has nearly 20,000 students and doctoral students from 110 countries. More than 500 professors are currently engaged in teaching and research in the fields of natural science, engineering, architecture, mathematics, system-oriented sciences, and in management studies and the social sciences.

In the international rankings ETH Zurich is regularly identified as one of the world’s best universities, and in 2015 it achieved a top-ten ranking for the first time. 21 Nobel laureates have studied, taught or done their research here. The innovations of the university flow into the most forward-looking sectors, from informatics to micro- and nanotechnology, or high-tech medical equipment. The 90 or so patent applications each year, the 330 spin-off companies that have been set up since 1996, and the more than 800 research contracts with businesses, all go to show how successful ETH Zurich is in transferring its knowledge to the economy and society.

ETH Zurich contributes to the sustainable solution of global challenges. Its specific fields of research focus on energy supply, managing risks, development of cities of the future, world nutrition and the health of human beings.

Die ETH Zürich ist eine der führenden technisch-naturwissenschaftlichen Hochschulen. Sie ist bekannt für ihre exzellente Lehre, eine wegweisende Grundlagenforschung und den direkten Transfer neuer Erkenntnisse in die Praxis. Forschenden bietet die ETH Zürich ein inspirierendes Umfeld und ihren Studierenden eine umfassende Ausbildung.

1855 gegründet, zählt die ETH Zürich heute fast 20 000 Studierende und Doktorierende aus 110 Ländern. Mehr als 500 Professorinnen und Professoren unterrichten und forschen zurzeit in Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften, Architektur, Mathematik, systemorientierten Wissenschaften sowie in Management- und Sozialwissenschaften.

In internationalen Rankings wird die ETH Zürich regelmässig als eine der weltweit besten Universitäten bewertet, 2015 rangierte sie erstmals unter den Top Ten. 21 Nobelpreisträger haben hier studiert, gelehrt oder geforscht. Die Innovationen der Hochschule fliessen in die zukunftsträchtigen Branchen, von Informatik über Mikro- und Nanotechnologie bis hin zu medizinischen High-Tech-Geräten. Jährlich gut 90 Patentanmeldungen, 330 Spin-off-Unternehmen seit 1996 und weltweit über 800 Kooperationen mit Firmen belegen, wie erfolgreich die ETH Zürich ihr Wissen in die Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft transferiert.

Die ETH Zürich trägt zur nachhaltigen Lösung globaler Herausforderungen bei. Zu ihren Forschungsschwerpunkten gehören die Energieversorgung, der Umgang mit Risiken, die Entwicklung von Zukunftsstädten, die Welternährung sowie die Gesundheit des Menschen.