The ETH Board can issue ordinances, directives and guidelines, or applications for legislative amendments. It also issues statements on legal implementation by the Confederation and the institutions of the ETH Domain.

Legal implementation

The ETH Act defines the status, structure and mission of the ETH Domain. The open rules it defines contribute greatly to the ability of the ETH Domain’s institutions to keep pace with technical and scientific developments and with international competition.

The ETH Act grants autonomy to the ETH Domain on the one hand and to the two Federal Institutes of Technology and the four research institutes on the other hand. Within the framework of the ETH Act, the ETH Domain regulates its affairs independently. The two Federal Institutes of Technology and the four research institutes assume the responsibilities which are not explicitly assigned to the ETH Board.

Ordinances and directives

The ETH Board enacts ordinances specifically based on precise authorisations within the ETH Act, in the Framework Ordinance regarding the Federal Act on the Personnel of the Swiss Confederation, and in the Ordinance on Real Estate Management and Federal Logistics. Examples include: the Fees Ordinance, the Personnel Ordinance and the Real Estate Ordinance for the ETH Domain.

In addition, the ETH Board also enacts directives and guidelines, e.g. regulations on the management of third-party funding (investment guidelines) and ETH Board directives on risk management at the Federal Institutes of Technology and research institutes.

Applications for legislative amendments

Due to the constantly changing framework conditions in the education system and the rapid technical progress in research, it is continually necessary to amend federal acts and/or ordinances. If such requirements are identified for the ETH Domain, the ETH Board submits corresponding applications to the relevant offices of its own accord.

Statements on legal implementation by the Confederation and the institutions of the ETH Domain

Within the framework of office consultations, the ETH Board is regularly invited to issue statements on legal implementation by the Confederation. These statements enable the ETH Board to systematically incorporate the ETH Domain’s requirements into the legislative procedure and protect the interests of the institutions.

Likewise, the ETH Board is invited to issue statements regarding legal implementation on the part of the ETH Domain’s institutions.

Der ETH-Rat kann Verordnungen, Weisungen und Richtlinien erlassen oder Anträge für Gesetzesanpassungen stellen. Zudem nimmt er Stellung zur Rechtsetzung des Bundes und der Institutionen des ETH-Bereichs.

Rechtsetzung

Das ETH-Gesetz umschreibt Stellung, Aufbau und Aufgaben des ETH-Bereichs. Seine offene Regelung leistet einen wesentlichen Beitrag dazu, dass die Institutionen des ETH-Bereichs mit der technischen und wissenschaftlichen Entwicklung sowie der inter­nationalen Konkurrenz Schritt halten können.

Das ETH-Gesetz gesteht einerseits dem ETH-Bereich und andererseits den beiden ETH und den vier Forschungsanstalten Autonomie zu. Der ETH-Bereich regelt im Rahmen des ETH-Gesetzes seine Belange selbständig. Die beiden ETH und die Forschungsanstalten nehmen die Zuständigkeiten wahr, die nicht ausdrücklich dem ETH-Rat übertragen sind.

Verordnungen und Weisungen

Der ETH-Rat erlässt Verordnungen namentlich gestützt auf konkrete Ermächtigungen im ETH-Gesetz, in der Rahmenverordnung zum Bundespersonalgesetz und in der Verordnung über das Immobilienmanagement und die Logistik des Bundes. Beispiele sind: Gebührenverordnung, Personalverordnung oder Immobilienverordnung ETH-Bereich.

Ferner erlässt der ETH-Rat auch Weisungen und Richtlinien wie z. B. Vorschriften über die Verwaltung von Drittmitteln (Anlagerichtlinien) oder Weisungen des ETH-Rates über das Risikomanagement der beiden ETH und vier Forschungsanstalten.

Anträge auf Gesetzesanpassungen

Aufgrund der sich stets wandelnden Rahmenbedingungen im Bildungswesen und des rasanten technischen Fortschritts in der Forschung besteht ein kontinuierliches Bedürfnis nach Anpassungen von Bundesgesetzen und/oder Bundesverordnungen. Wenn für den ETH-Bereich solche Bedürfnisse erkannt werden, stellt der ETH-Rat von sich aus entsprechende Anträge an die zuständigen Stellen.

Stellungnahmen zur Rechtsetzung des Bundes und der Institutionen des ETH-Bereichs

Der ETH-Rat wird regelmässig dazu eingeladen, im Rahmen von Ämterkonsultationen Stellungnahmen zur Rechtsetzung des Bundes abzugeben. Diese Stellungnahmen ermöglichen es dem ETH-Rat, gezielt die Bedürfnisse des ETH-Bereichs im Gesetzgebungsverfahren einzubringen und die Interessen der Institutionen zu wahren.

Ebenso wird der ETH-Rat zu Stellungnahmen betreffend die Rechtsetzung der Institutionen des ETH-Bereichs eingeladen.