The ETH Board is responsible for the ETH Domain’s strategic planning. It compiles this four-year strategy for submission to the Confederation, from which the Federal Council’s strategic objectives for the ETH Domain (formerly known as “performance mandate“) are derived. The basis for this is provided by the Dispatch on the Promotion of Education, Research and Innovation (ERI Dispatch).

In the ERI Dispatch, the Federal Council formulates the guidelines, objectives and measures of its policy on education and science for a four-year period. In order to fulfil the set objectives, the corresponding funding is also addressed.

The State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) oversees the preparation of the ERI Dispatch; the domains which it affects (ETH Domain, universities, universities of applied sciences, the Swiss National Science Foundation, the Commission for Technology and Innovation, etc.) are closely involved in its preparation (cf. State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation). Here, the ETH Board incorporates the strategic planning for the ETH Domain.

The Federal Council's strategic objectives for the ETH Domain

In the ERI Dispatch, the Federal Council defines strategic objectives (which were referred to until 2016 as the “performance mandate“) for the ETH Domain for four years at a time. In addition, the Federal Parliament approves a budgetary framework for the ETH Domain’s operations and investments. On this basis, the ETH Board directs ETH Zurich, EPFL and the four research institutes PSI, WSL, Empa and Eawag. It enters into a target agreement with each institution.

Federal budgetary framework for the ETH Domain 2017–2020

In the 2017–2020 performance period, the budgetary framework approved by the Federal Assembly for the ETH Domain amounts to CHF 10,337.7 m.

Federal objectives for the ETH Domain as per the 2017–2020 strategic objectives

The Federal Council’s strategic objectives for the ETH Domain for the 2017–2020 period build on the previous “performance mandates” (as they were referred to until 2016) and the experience gained from them. The most significant challenges for the ETH Domain are rising student numbers, withstanding global competition and the possibility of taking part without restrictions in international cooperation projects plus the funding, operation and further development of research infrastructure.

In the 2017–2020 performance period, the ETH Board will be pursuing the following objectives (among others) requested by the Federal Council and approved by the Federal Parliament, for the performance of its core tasks of teaching, research and knowledge and technology transfer (KTT):

  • The ETH Domain provides research-based teaching which is top-class and attractive for students in an international comparison. It will further extend its globally leading position in research and define focal points in specific areas.
  • It operates and develops large-scale research facilities of national and international significance.
  • It promotes the transfer of its findings and competencies to society and to the economy. The ETH Domain is continuing to expand its position as a key academic partner to companies and public administration. It is actively involved in the continuing design and implementation of the Swiss innovation park strategy.
  • It is actively involved in structuring the “higher education area Switzerland“ project and is further expanding cooperation and networking with the world’s leading institutions, thus strengthening its international reputation.
  • The ETH Domain creates working conditions which are attractive and family-friendly in an international comparison, promotes equality of opportunity and fosters the next generation of scientists.

Furthermore, the Federal Council and parliament have instructed the ETH Board to coordinate the management of land and buildings and to ensure the preservation of their value and utility, to extend the ETH Domain’s funding basis and to allocate the resources to the institutions with due regard to its strategic objectives, to academic performance and to the load factors arising for the institutions on account of their core tasks. The ETH Board, together with the ETH Domain institutions, has also defined four strategic focus areas for research: Advanced Manufacturing, Personalised health and related technologies, Data sciences and Energy.

Der ETH-Rat ist verantwortlich für die Strategische Planung des ETH-Bereichs. Er erstellt diese Vierjahresstrategie zuhanden des Bundes, der daraus die strategischen Ziele (vormals Leistungsauftrag) des Bundesrats für den ETH-Bereich ableitet. Als inhaltliche Grundlage dient die Botschaft zur Förderung von Bildung, Forschung und Innovation.

In der Botschaft zur Förderung von Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (BFI-Botschaft)  formuliert der Bundesrat die Leitlinien, Ziele und Massnahmen seiner Bildungs- und Wissenschaftspolitik für eine Periode von jeweils vier Jahren. Um die gesteckten Ziele zu erreichen, werden auch die entsprechenden Gelder gesprochen.

Die Federführung bei der Erarbeitung der BFI-Botschaft liegt beim Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI). Die davon betroffenen Bereiche (ETH-Bereich, Universitäten, Fachhochschulen, Schweizerischer Nationalfonds, Kommission für Technologie und Innovation etc.) werden bei der Erarbeitung stark miteinbezogen (vgl. Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation). Der ETH-Rat bringt dabei seine Strategische Planung für den ETH-Bereich ein.

Die strategischen Ziele des Bundesrats für den ETH-Bereich

Im Rahmen der BFI-Botschaft legt der Bundesrat die strategischen Ziele (bis 2016: Leistungsauftrag) für den ETH-Bereich für jeweils vier Jahre fest. Das Parlament bewilligt dazu einen Zahlungsrahmen für Betrieb und Investitionen des ETH-Bereichs. Auf dieser Grundlage führt der ETH-Rat die ETH Zürich, die EPFL und die vier Forschungsanstalten PSI, WSL, Empa und Eawag. Er schliesst dafür mit jeder Institution eine Zielvereinbarung ab.

Zahlungsrahmen des Bundes für den ETH-Bereich 2017-2020

In der Leistungsperiode 2017 bis 2020 beträgt der von der Bundesversammlung genehmigte Zahlungsrahmen für den ETH-Bereich 10‘337,7 Mio. CHF.

Die Ziele des Bundes für den ETH-Bereich gemäss den strategischen Zielen 2017-2020

Die strategischen Ziele des Bundesrats für den ETH-Bereich für die Jahre 2017–2020 bauen auf den vorangegangenen Leistungsaufträgen (Bezeichnung bis 2016) und den daraus gewonnen Erkenntnissen auf. Die wichtigsten Herausforderungen für den ETH-Bereich sind die steigenden Studierendenzahlen, im weltweiten Wettbewerb zu bestehen, die Möglichkeit, ohne Einschränkungen an internationalen Kooperationen teilzunehmen sowie die Finanzierung, der Betrieb und die Weiterentwicklung der Forschungsinfrastrukturen.

In der Leistungsperiode 2017 bis 2020 strebt der ETH-Rat u.a. die folgenden, vom Bundesrat beantragten und vom Parlament genehmigten Ziele zur Erfüllung seiner Kernaufgaben der Lehre, Forschung und des Wissens- und Technologietransfers (WTT) an:

  • Der ETH-Bereich bietet eine im internationalen Vergleich erstklassige, forschungsbasierte und für die Studierenden attraktive Lehre an. Er baut seine internationale Spitzenposition in der Forschung weiter aus und setzt thematische Schwerpunkte.
  • Er betreibt und entwickelt grosse Forschungsinfrastrukturen von gesamtschweizerischer und internationaler Bedeutung.
  • Er fördert den Transfer seiner Erkenntnisse und Kompetenzen in die Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft. Der ETH-Bereich baut seine Position als wichtiger akademischer Partner von Unternehmen und der öffentlichen Verwaltung weiter aus. Er beteiligt sich aktiv an der weiteren Konzeption und Umsetzung der Strategie für den Schweizerischen Innovationspark.
  • Er wirkt bei der Gestaltung des Hochschulraums Schweiz aktiv mit und baut die Zusammenarbeit und Vernetzung mit den besten Institutionen der Welt weiter aus und stärkt seine internationale Ausstrahlung.
  • Der ETH-Bereich sorgt für international attraktive und familienfreundliche Arbeitsbedingungen, sorgt für Chancengleichheit und fördert den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs.

Bundesrat und Parlament haben den ETH-Rat darüber hinaus beauftragt, die Bewirtschaftung der Grundstücke und Immobilien zu koordinieren und für deren Wert- und Funktionserhalt zu sorgen, die Finanzierungsbasis des ETH-Bereichs zu erweitern und den Institutionen die Mittel unter Berücksichtigung seiner strategischen Ziele, der akademischen Leistung und der Lastfaktoren, die den Institutionen durch die Kernaufgaben entstehen, zuzuteilen. Der ETH-Rat hat gemeinsam mit den Institutionen des ETH-Bereichs ausserdem vier strategische Forschungsschwerpunkte festgelegt: Advanced Manufacturing, Personalisierte Gesundheit und zugehörige Technologien, Datenwissenschaften und Energie.