ETH Domain

Switzerland as a global player

For the third time, ETH Zurich exhibited at the WEF with its own pavilion in Davos. The ETH Board and the institutions of the ETH Domain invited delegates to events on cutting-edge research in Switzerland. The networking events brought together national and international scientists, policy-makers and the business community.

Switzerland as a global player

Federal Councillor Guy Parmelin with the Presidents and the Directors of the institutions of the ETH Domain. Photo: Markus Mallaun

ETH Zurich: Fields Medal 2018

Profile of Alessio Figalli

He won it. The most prestigious prize in mathematics in the world, the Fields Medal. And this has turned Figalli, a professor in mathematics at ETH Zurich, into a role model. Twice as many young people enrolled to study mathematics in his native city of Rome in Italy in autumn 2018. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Profile of Alessio Figalli

EPFL: 2018 Latsis Preis

Winner Andrea Ablasser

Andrea Ablasser, assistant professor at EPFL, was awarded the 2018 National Latsis Prize for her ground-breaking research on innate immunity. Photo: EPFL

Winner Andrea Ablasser

WSL

Mounting extremes

In an interview, WSL experts Andreas Rigling and Manfred Stähli explain what effect dry summers like the one in 2018 will have on nature in Switzerland. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Mounting extremes

Empa

Actuators instead of motors

CTsystems, a spin-off company from Empa, has already unveiled the first prototype of electromechanical polymer converters in a stacked configuration: as an actuator, it converts electrical energy into mechanical work with an “integrated” sensor function. Thanks to the collaboration with the Swiss specialist Dätwyler, the degree of industrial production reached a new level. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Actuators instead of motors

PSI

Successful expansion of research infrastructure

The ETH Domain maintains numerous research infrastructures such as the research and innovation building NEST or the neutron source SINQ, which is at the disposal of national and international researchers. The latter is currently being refurbished and will then be the source with the best lens in the world. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Successful expansion of research infrastructure

Eawag

The wastewater goldmine

Millions of people around the world have no access to sanitation that offers a “clean” solution. Therefore, Eawag is researching technical possibilities for treating wastewater and recovering resources from it. Photo: Basil Stücheli

The wastewater goldmine

EPFL

Disappearing glaciers and ecosystems

A team of researchers from EPFL is planning a major expedition to around 200 glaciers around the world to gain a better understanding of microbial life in those disappearing ecosystems. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Disappearing glaciers and ecosystems

ETH-Bereich

Die Schweiz als globaler Player

Bereits zum dritten Mal präsentierte sich die ETH Zürich im Rahmen des WEF mit einem eigenen Pavillon in Davos. Der ETH-Rat und die Institutionen des ETH-Bereichs luden zu Veranstaltungen über Spitzenforschung in der Schweiz ein. Die Netzwerkanlässe führten nationale und internationale Wissenschaft, Politik und Wirtschaft zusammen.

Bild

Bundesrat Guy Parmelin mit den Präsidenten, der Direktorin und den Direktoren der Institutionen des ETH-Bereichs. Bild: Markus Mallaun

ETH Zürich: Fields-Medaille 2018

Alessio Figalli im Porträt

Er hat ihn gewonnen. Den wichtigsten Mathematik- Preis der Welt – die Fields-Medaille. Und sie machte Alessio Figalli, Mathematikprofessor der ETH Zürich, zum Vorbild. Auch in seiner italienischen Heimatstadt Rom, wo sich im Herbst 2018 doppelt so viele Jugendliche zum Mathematikstudium anmeldeten. Bild: Basil Stücheli

Alessio Figalli im Porträt

EPFL: Latsis-Preis 2018

Gewinnerin Andrea Ablasser

Für ihre bahnbrechende Forschung zur angeborenen Immunität wurde Andrea Ablasser, Assistenzprofessorin an der EPFL, mit dem Nationalen Latsis-Preis 2018 ausgezeichnet. Bild: EPFL

Andrea Ablasser

WSL

Die Extreme häufen sich

Im Interview erläutern die WSL-Experten Andreas Rigling und Manfred Stähli, welche Auswirkungen trockene Sommer wie der von 2018 auf die Natur in der Schweiz haben. Bild: Basil Stücheli

Die Extreme häufen sich

Empa

Aktuatoren statt Motoren

CTsystems, ein Spin-off der Empa, hat den ersten Prototyp elektromechanischer Polymerwandler in Stapelbauweise bereits vorgestellt: Dieser setzt als Aktuator elektrische Energie in mechanische Arbeit mit «eingebauter» Sensorfunktion um. Dank der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schweizer Spezialisten Dätwyler erreicht der Grad der industriellen Produktion ein neues Niveau. Bild: Basil Stücheli

Aktuatoren statt Motore

PSI

Erfolgreicher Ausbau der Forschungsinfrastrukturen

Der ETH-Bereich unterhält zahlreiche Forschungsinfrastrukturen wie das Forschungs- und Innovationsgebäude NEST oder die Neutronenquelle SINQ, die nationalen und internationalen Forschenden zur Verfügung stehen. Letztere wird gerade umgebaut und danach die Quelle mit der besten Optik der Welt sein. Bild: Basil Stücheli

Erfolgreicher Ausbau der Forschungsinfrastrukturen

Eawag

Abwasser als Goldgrube

Millionen von Menschen haben keinen Zugang zu sanitären Anlagen, die eine «saubere» Lösung bieten. Die Eawag forscht deshalb an technischen Möglichkeiten, Abwässer aufzubereiten und aus ihnen Ressourcen rückzugewinnen.Bild: Basil Stücheli

Abwasser als Goldgrube

EPFL

Verschwindende Gletscher und Ökosysteme

Ein Forschungsteam der EPFL bereitet eine grosse Expedition zu rund 200 Gletschern auf der ganzen Welt vor, um das mikrobielle Leben in diesen verschwindenden Ökosystemen besser zu verstehen. Bild: Basil Stücheli

Verschwindende Gletscher und Ökosysteme