ETH Board, 11 July 2014

The ETH Board has appointed Prof. Sarah Springman as the new Rector of ETH Zurich on the occasion of its meeting of 10 July 2014. She will succeed Prof. Lino Guzzella, President Designate of ETH Zurich, as from 1 January 2015.

The ETH Board has appointed Prof. Sarah Springman as the new Executive Board member and Rector of ETH Zurich, thus following the application of the President of ETH Zurich, Prof. Ralph Eichler. Sarah Springman will succeed Lino Guzzella, who will become President of ETH Zurich on 1 January 2015. In the Executive Board of ETH Zurich, Sarah Springman will be responsible for teaching matters.

Sarah Springman (*1956, British national) has been Professor of Geotechnical Engineering at ETH Zurich since 1997. As a pioneer in the field of the geotechnical modelling of soil structure/building interactions and a recognised expert in the domain of the geotechnical aspects of natural hazards, Sarah Springman is part of an excellent international network. She has also been actively involved in science policy bodies and exercised management functions in the Department of Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering. Sarah Springman has also run various learning and teaching projects of ETH Zurich and made major contributions to the establishment of the Bachelor’s and Master’s programmes of her department.

For further appointments by the ETH Board, cf. the ETH Board’s separate media release (release in the course of today).

ETH-Rat, 11. Juli 2014

Der ETH-Rat hat an seiner Sitzung vom 10. Juli 2014 Prof. Dr. Sarah Springman als neue Rektorin der ETH Zürich ernannt. Sie tritt per 1. Januar 2015 die Nachfolge von Prof. Dr. Lino Guzzella, designierter Präsident der ETH Zürich, an.

Der ETH-Rat hat Prof. Dr. Sarah Springman als neues Mitglied der Schulleitung und Rektorin der ETH Zürich ernannt. Er folgt damit dem Antrag des Präsidenten der ETH Zürich, Prof. Dr. Ralph Eichler. Sarah Springman tritt die Nachfolge von Prof. Dr. Lino Guzzella an, der per 1. Januar 2015 Präsident der ETH Zürich wird. Innerhalb der Schulleitung der ETH Zürich wird Sarah Springman für die Belange der Lehre zuständig sein.

Sarah Springman (*1956, britische Staatsangehörige) ist seit 1997 ordentliche Professorin für Geotechnik an der ETH Zürich. Als Pionierin auf dem Gebiet der geotechnischen Modellierung von Untergrund-Bauwerk-Interaktionen und anerkannte Expertin im Bereich der geotechnischen Aspekte von Naturgefahren ist Sarah Springman international bestens vernetzt. Sie hat sich auch in wissenschaftspolitischen Gremien engagiert und im Departement Bau, Umwelt und Geomatik Leitungsfunktionen wahrgenommen. Sarah Springman hat zudem diverse Lern- und Lehrprojekte der ETH Zürich geleitet und war massgeblich am Aufbau der Bachelor- und Masterprogramme ihres Departements beteiligt.

Für die weiteren Ernennungen des ETH-Rats vgl. separate Medienmitteilung des ETH-Rats (Versand heute im Verlaufe des Tages).