ETH Board, 31 March 2020

Switzerland, as many countries worldwide, is facing a huge healthcare crisis. The country, but also our institutions, are challenged to find the best approach to address the current pandemic.

The Swiss scientific community, one of the strongest worldwide, has a huge potential to positively influence the outcome of this crisis, be it through research, education or innovation.

The ETH Domain has the ambition to be a role model on how we handle the current crisis. It therefore called into life an ad-hoc task force in March and gave it the mandate of identifying research, innovation and advisory opportunities for members of the ETH Domain to help combat SARS-CoV-2.

At the end of March, the Federal Council appointed a scientific advisory body to assist the authorities in overcoming the coronavirus crisis. Matthias Egger, president of the National Research Council of the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), heads the «Swiss National Covid-19 Science Task Force». The members of the body are all experts in relevant fields. They will advise the federal government and the cantons based on the latest scientific knowledge. In addition, they are expected to define research topics and special measures.

The Science Task Force uses and integrates the initiative set up in the ETH Domain, and also combines initiatives and expertise from the SNSF, swissuniversities and the Academies of arts and sciences.

ETH-Rat, 31. März 2020

Die Schweiz ist, wie viele Länder weltweit, mit einer enormen Krise im Gesundheitswesen konfrontiert. Das Land, aber auch unsere Institutionen, sind gefordert, den besten Ansatz zur Bekämpfung der aktuellen Pandemie zu finden.

Die Schweizer Wissenschaftsgemeinschaft, eine der stärksten weltweit, hat ein enormes Potenzial, den Ausgang dieser Krise positiv zu beeinflussen, sei es durch Forschung, Bildung oder Innovation.

Der ETH-Bereich hat den Ehrgeiz, ein Vorbild dafür zu sein, wie wir mit der gegenwärtigen Krise umgehen. Er hat daher im März eine Ad-hoc-Task-Force ins Leben gerufen und ihr den Auftrag gegeben, Forschungs-, Innovations- und Beratungsmöglichkeiten zu identifizieren, wie Angehörige des ETH-Bereichs bei der Bekämpfung von SARS-CoV-2 helfen können.

Ende März hat der Bundesrat ein wissenschaftliches Beratungsgremium eingesetzt, das Politik und Behörden bei der Bewältigung der Coronavirus-Krise unterstützt. Die «Swiss National COVID-19 Science Task Force» wird vom Präsidenten des Nationalen Forschungsrats des Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (SNF), Matthias Egger, geleitet und die Mitglieder sind ausgewiesene Expertinnen und Experten in relevanten Fachgebieten. Sie beraten den Bund und die Kantone aus wissenschaftlicher Sicht. Zudem sollen sie Forschungsthemen und Spezialmassnahmen definieren.

Die Science Task Force integriert die im ETH-Bereich gegründete Initiative und bindet ausserdem Initiativen und Kompetenzen des SNF, von swissuniversities sowie der Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz ein.