How can the whole population benefit from technical and scientific advances made in the ETH Domain? This is illustrated by a number of examples from various fields – and a look back to the 19th century, when engineers brought their expertise to civilian society.

The NEST modular research and innovation building on the Empa campus. Photo: Roman Keller

Homo faber is something of a Swiss national hero. One of the few engineers to have achieved fame in world literature. Damien C. Weber, head of proton therapy at the PSI, has another hero. “Have you ever heard of Robert Wilson? He wasn't just a physicist, he was also an artist and a great humanist.” The pioneer in proton therapy for cancer was the founding director of the American ring accelerator, Fermilab. He dedicated his career to classical fundamental research. Others took on the task of proving his assumption in 1947 that protons should be particularly well suited to the precision, localised treatment of tumours. The proof arrived in 1954 with the first treatment.

Today, 65 years later, we are sitting in a rather mundane meeting room in the middle of the PSI campus. But when Weber talks about Wilson, you can hear the doctor's passion in every word he says. He doesn't just see the possibilities of his high-tech equipment, he sees the benefits for his patients in particular. Children also come here, often from great distances, because the qualities of proton therapy are best demonstrated in bodies that are still growing: the proton beam only takes effect inside the body when the protons have lost speed. This means more intensive radiation at the site where the tumour is to be treated and less radiation in the healthy tissue that needs to be protected. This can be crucial for successful recovery. At the PSI, patients are treated with the best proton therapy available worldwide – and it's hardly any wonder seeing as the spot-scanning technique was developed here. And true to their task, physicists, doctors and engineers at the PSI have been conducting continuous research into the use of innovative treatment concepts.

A great success, both in Switzerland and further afield:
thanks to the SLF's RAMMS software, avalanches and debris flows can be calculated by computer.

Engineers possess the expertise, although in the early days of engineering, it was almost exclusively for military purposes. It was not until the 19th century that engineers broke away from this role, and civil engineering took shape. It became all about technical and economic progress that worked for everyone. However, military research continues to be the driving force behind many technologies – such as GPS – which also benefit civil society. Meanwhile, the engineers set out to “rationalise“ land use, surveying it and covering it with all manner of infrastructure. Nature was largely tamed, and a great deal of practical knowledge came together, especially in Switzerland. “We have carried this knowledge over into the computer age,“ says Perry Bartelt, who is in charge of the RAMMS simulation software at the WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF in Davos. “What's happening on the mountain?“ is a question people have asked since the dawn of time. Thanks to a wealth of experience and complex models, there is now often a scientific answer to hand. Avalanches and debris flows can be calculated in the computer and traced in detail on a digital map. Bartelt regards RAMMS specifically as a service to society. The software is a great success, both in Switzerland and further afield. This success could not be measured primarily in terms of much-cited academic articles, but rather through contact with practical application. The close cooperation with engineering offices, in particular, was extremely important: “This was the goal: we wanted to provide the planners with a tool that would enable them to gauge which construction measures would be useful and where.” The simulation is improved continuously through feedback from practical experience and in-house field research.

 

EPFL Extension School

Digital Skills. For everyone. The EPFL Extension School offers online courses for everyone to learn digital skills. Photo: EPFL

But at times there is a sense that engineers have lost this sense of responsibility towards society as a whole. “Move fast and break things“? The infamous slogan from the early days of Facebook probably still describes the basic attitude of many digital pioneers who have found that success can follow mistakes. Marcel Salathé, biotechnologist and specialist in digital approaches in life sciences, wants to help shape this world from a non-commercial perspective. Why shouldn't digital know-how, which is obviously available at technical universities, be made available to wider society? The EPFL Extension School has been offering online courses on digital skills for about two years now. It's a kind of community college for civil engineering in the 21st century. Since the relevant infrastructure in many jobs is digital nowadays, you have to be able to program websites or analyse and visualise data sets. While the interest is there, the EPFL label is also a “double-edged sword“. Much of the general public was not attracted by the offer, saying that it is not for everyone. For this reason, Salathé is planning a communication offensive: why not run a poster campaign in major Swiss railway stations? And why not expand the model even further, for the next generation? The latest idea from the enterprising EPFL professor is to offer a free module on artificial intelligence for schoolchildren.

 

DFAB House

The DFAB House in the NEST on the Empa campus is the largest house in the world created using digital fabrication. Photo: Roman Keller

But back to the engineers and planners who design our analogue environment. How do you build a world that is increasingly aware of its fragility and limitations? And in which a “civilian“ society, whatever that may mean, does not simply stop at national borders; another important difference to the 19th century. Matthias Kohler, in a team with Fabio Gramazio, Professor of Architecture and Digital Fabrication at ETH Zurich, stressed in an interview that the team's primary concern was not to try out new forms of construction (he calls it the “liberation of concrete”). Ultimately, it is always about sustainability. Kohler hopes that this will be understood not only ecologically, but also from a social perspective. Apart from making better use of resources, he also wants to bring a certain “sensuality” back into architecture, as a contrast to the “fully rationalised building“ that he sees as an expression of industrial building. However, a “tailor-made version of industrialisation” is being developed using digital methodologies. You can get a sense of this on the way to Kohler's office on the ETH Hönggerberg campus: on the ground floor, large industrial robots work in the world's largest laboratory for robotic fabrication in architecture, and the upper floors, where teaching is also carried out, are full of designs with unfamiliar use of forms. Research and experiments are not the only things that go on here; research findings are also put into practice. One result is on display at the Eawag-Empa campus in Dübendorf; the modular research and innovation building NEST (Next Evolution in Sustainable Building Technologies), which is the only one of its kind in the world.

25% lower energy consumption:

the intelligent heating control system developed by the Empa Energy Hub is a NEST flagship project.

At NEST, pioneering building technologies can be tested in close collaboration with industry. NEST seeks to help these technologies through the difficult transition between the development laboratory and the market, says Enrico Marchesi, Innovation Manager NEST at Empa. The construction industry is one of the largest sectors in the economy, but unfortunately it is also the one with the most sluggish pace of innovation. Researchers who like simulations feel just as much at home in NEST as industrial partners who want to see how it works in practice, says Marchesi. It has developed into a flagship project in little more than three years since opening: it not only attracts great attention from national partners from research and industry, but is also regularly visited by international delegations. One of the flagship projects is an intelligent heating control system developed by the Empa Energy hub, which can reduce energy consumption by a good 25 percent. Its autonomous handling, just as importantly, is also widely accepted by residents. The most ambitious part of the NEST, however, is the DFAB House, the “largest house in the world created using digital fabrication” and the latest unit in which Gramazio Kohler Research, together with six other ETH professors, have taken their concept of digital design and construction to the ultimate level. Around 40 researchers from a variety of disciplines have been involved in planning the NCCR’s “Digital Fabrication“. Many parts, such as the unusual wooden façade timber framework, were even “generated“ by algorithms. Kohler also believes that there has been a paradigm shift here planning processes are becoming adaptive, needs can be continuously coordinated. Building brings many voices together.

“A s an ecologist, I conduct fundamental research, but as an expert, I owe a duty of service to society.“ Florian Altermatt, group leader at Eawag and Professor of Aquatic Ecology at UZH

“In order to overcome the challenges facing us today, it takes the more wide-ranging perspective of an environmental scientist. Technological solutions alone will simply not be enough.” This is something that Florian Altermatt is convinced of. As group leader at Eawag and Professor of Aquatic Ecology at the University of Zurich, he is investigating the state and changes in biodiversity in water bodies. In recent times “we have actually seen extreme changes, heavily influenced by land use“. It would be the right time for a rigorous biodiversity assessment, with new
techniques that he helped to develop such as environmental DNA (eDNA) analysis. At the same time, this knowledge is also of urgent social relevance: “We still have insufficient knowledge about biodiversity and we have important decisions to make.“ With one million species worldwide said to be in danger of extinction, in water or on land, Altermatt believes that a substantial change is needed, “and it cannot be of a technical nature alone”. It won't be an easy task. He expects it to be nothing less than “one of the greatest challenges mankind has ever faced“. But one which can be overcome with the right mix of expertise. At Eawag in particular, Altermatt sees a great deal of excellence in thinking about social conditions in interdisciplinary teams. Nowadays, theory and practice can no longer be separated. “As an ecologist, I conduct fundamental research, but the implementation of this systemic knowledge is extremely important to me and my colleagues.“ As a researcher, he is driven by theoretical insights. As an expert, he feels that he owes a duty of service to society; for example, he recently produced a synthesis report commissioned by the FOEN on how Swiss waters are being affected by climate change.

Wie kommen technisch-wissenschaftliche Fortschritte aus dem ETH-Bereich der ganzen Bevölkerung zugute? Dies illustrieren einige Beispiele aus verschiedenen Fachbereichen – und ein Blick zurück ins 19. Jahrhundert, als der Ingenieur zum zivilgesellschaftlichen Genie wurde.

Das modulare Foschungs- und Innovationsgebäude NEST auf dem Empa-Campus. Foto: Roman Keller

Der Homo Faber ist so etwas wie ein Schweizer Nationalheld. Einer der wenigen Ingenieure, die es in der Weltliteratur zu Ruhm gebracht haben. Damien C. Weber, Leiter der Protonentherapie am PSI, hat einen anderen Helden: «Kennen Sie Robert Wilson? Er war nicht nur Physiker, er war auch Künstler und ein grosser Humanist.» Der Vordenker der Behandlung von Krebserkrankungen mit Protonen war Gründungsdirektor des amerikanischen Ringbeschleunigers Fermilab. Seine Karriere widmete er der klassischen Grundlagenforschung. Andere übernahmen es, seine Vermutung von 1947 zu belegen, dass sich Protonen besonders gut für die präzise, lokal begrenzte Bekämpfung von Tumoren eignen müssten. Der Beweis gelang 1954 mit der ersten Behandlung.

Heute, 65 Jahre später, sitzen wir in einem eher nüchternen Sitzungszimmer mitten auf dem PSI-Gelände. Aber wenn Weber von Wilson erzählt, hört man aus jedem seiner Worte die Leidenschaft des Arztes, der nicht einfach die Möglichkeiten seiner Hightechgeräte sieht, sondern vor allem den Nutzen für seine Patienten. Auch Kinder kommen – oft von weit – hierher, denn die Protonentherapie zeigt ihre Qualitäten am besten im noch wachsenden Körper: Der Protonenstrahl entfaltet seine Wirkung im Körperinneren erst, wenn die Protonen an Geschwindigkeit verloren haben. Das bedeutet intensivere Strahlung, wo man den Tumor bekämpfen will, und weniger Strahlung im zu schützenden gesunden Gewebe. Das kann entscheidend für den Heilungserfolg sein. Am PSI werden Patienten mit der besten weltweit verfügbaren Protonentherapie behandelt – kein Wunder, denn die Spot-Scanning-Technik wurde hier entwickelt. Und getreu ihrer Aufgabe forschen am PSI Physikerinnen, Ärzte und Ingenieurinnen kontinuierlich an der Einführung innovativer Behandlungskonzepte.

Ein grosser Erfolg, in der Schweiz und international:
Dank der Software RAMMS des SLF lassen sich Lawinenzüge und Murgänge am Computer berechnen.

Im Ingenieur steckt das «Génie». Doch zunächst war es fast ausschliesslich ein «Génie militaire». Erst im 19. Jahrhundert emanzipierten sich die Ingenieure von dieser Rolle und es formierte sich das «Génie civil». Nun ging es um den technisch-wirtschaftlichen Fortschritt, der allen zugutekommen sollte. Aber nach wie vor treibt die militärische Forschung viele Technologien – wie zum Beispiel GPS – voran, die auch der Zivilgesellschaft nützen. Die Ingenieure machten sich indessen auf, das Land zu «rationalisieren», es zu vermessen und mit Infrastruktur aller Art zu überziehen. Die Natur wurde weitgehend gezähmt, viel praktisches Wissen kam dabei zusammen, gerade in der Schweiz. «Wir haben dieses Wissen ins Computerzeitalter überführt», sagt Perry Bartelt, verantwortlich am WSL-Institut für Schnee- und Lawinenforschung SLF in Davos für die Simulations-Software RAMMS. «Was macht der Berg?», hat der Mensch seit Urzeiten gefragt. Dank viel Erfahrungswissen und komplexer Modelle kennt die Wissenschaft nun sehr oft die Antwort: Lawinenzüge und Murgänge lassen sich im Computer berechnen und auf einer digitalen Landkarte detailliert nachvollziehen. Bartelt sieht RAMMS ausdrücklich als Dienst an der Gesellschaft. Die Software ist ein grosser Erfolg, in der Schweiz wie auch international. Dieser Erfolg lasse sich nicht in erster Linie durch viel zitierte akademische Artikel messen, sondern im Kontakt mit der Praxis. Gerade die enge Zusammenarbeit mit Ingenieurbüros sei extrem wichtig gewesen: «Das war das Ziel: Wir wollten den Planerinnen und Planern ein Tool zur Verfügung stellen, damit sie abschätzen können, welche baulichen Massnahmen wo sinnvoll sind.» Durch Rückmeldungen aus der Praxis und eigene Feldforschung wird die Simulation laufend verbessert.

 

EPFL Extension School

Digital Skills. For everyone. Die EPFL Extension School bietet für jedermann Onlinekurse an, um digitale Skills zu erlernen. Foto: EPFL
 

Mitunter beschleicht einen allerdings das Gefühl, dieses gesamtgesellschaftliche Verantwortungsbewusstsein sei den Ingenieurinnen und Ingenieuren ein wenig abhandengekommen. «Move fast and break things?»: Das notorische Motto aus den Anfangstagen von Facebook beschreibt wohl immer noch die Grundhaltung vieler Digital-Pioniere, die gelernt haben, dass Erfolg nicht nur im Alphabet gleich nach Disruption kommt. Marcel Salathé, Biotechnologe und Spezialist für digitale Ansätze in Life Sciences, möchte diese Welt von nicht-kommerzieller Seite aus mitgestalten. Warum nicht digitales Know-how, das gerade an technischen Hochschulen selbstverständlich vorhanden ist, der ganzen Gesellschaft zur Verfügung stellen? Seit rund zwei Jahren bietet die EPFL Extension School Onlinekurse zu digitalen Skills an. Eine Art Volkshochschule für das Génie civil des 21. Jahrhunderts. Denn heute ist die relevante Infrastruktur in vielen Jobs digital, man muss Webseiten programmieren oder ein Datenset analysieren und visualisieren können. Das Interesse ist da, doch das Label EPFL sei auch ein «zweischneidiges Schwert». Viele aus der breiten Bevölkerung fühlten sich vom Angebot nicht angesprochen und meinten, es sei nicht für jedermann. Deshalb plant Salathé eine Kommunikationsoffensive: Warum nicht eine Plakataktion in grossen Schweizer Bahnhöfen? Und warum das Modell nicht noch erweitern für die nächste Generation? Die neuste Idee des umtriebigen EPFL-Professors: ein Gratis-Modul rund um künstliche Intelligenz für Schülerinnen und Schüler.

 

DFAB House

Das DFAB House im NEST auf dem Empa-Campus ist das grösste in digitaler Fabrikation realisierte Haus der Welt. Foto: Roman Keller

Aber zurück zu den Ingenieurinnen und Planern, die unsere analoge Umwelt gestalten. Wie baut man eine Welt, die sich ihrer Fragilität und Begrenztheit immer mehr bewusst wird? Und in der, auch ein wichtiger Unterschied zum 19. Jahrhundert, eine wie auch immer verstandene «zivile» Gesellschaft nicht einfach an den Ländergrenzen aufhört? Matthias Kohler, im Team mit Fabio Gramazio, Professor für Architektur und Digitale Fabrikation an der ETH Zürich, betont im Gespräch, dass es dem Team nicht in erster Linie darum gehe, neue Formen des Bauens zu erproben (er nennt es die «Befreiung des Betons»). Letztlich gehe es immer um Nachhaltigkeit. Kohler will diese nicht nur ökologisch, sondern auch gesellschaftlich verstanden wissen: Neben der besseren Ressourcennutzung will er auch eine gewisse «Sinnlichkeit» in die Architektur zurückbringen, als Kontrast zum «durchrationalisierten Bauen», das man als Ausdruck industriellen Bauens verstehen kann. Was sich gerade durch digitale Methoden entwickle sei jedoch eine «massgeschneiderte Version der Industrialisierung». Auf dem Weg zu Kohlers Büro auf dem Campus ETH Hönggerberg bekommt man einen Eindruck davon: Im Erdgeschoss arbeiten grosse Industrieroboter im weltweit grössten Labor für robotische Fabrikation in der Architektur und die oberen Etagen, wo auch gelehrt wird, sind voller Entwürfe mit ungewohnten Formensprachen. Dabei bleibt es nicht nur bei der Forschung und dem Experiment, sondern Forschungsergebnisse werden auch in die Praxis überführt. Ein Resultat steht auf dem Eawag-Empa-Campus in Dübendorf: das weltweit einzigartige modulare Forschungs- und Innovationsgebäude NEST (Next Evolution in Sustainable Building Technologies).

25 % weniger Energieverbrauch

Die vom Empa-Energy-Hub entwickelte intelligente Heizungssteuerung ist ein Vorzeigeprojekt des NEST.

Im NEST können zukunftsweisende Bautechnologien erprobt werden, in enger Kollaboration mit der Industrie. Diesen Technologien durch die schwierige Phase zwischen Entwicklungslabor und Markt zu helfen, sei das Ziel von NEST, so Enrico Marchesi, Innovation Manager NEST bei der Empa. Die Baubranche sei eine der volkswirtschaftlich grössten Branchen, aber leider auch diejenige mit dem langsamsten Innovationstempo. Im NEST fühlen sich Forschende, die gern etwas simulieren, genauso wohl wie die Industriepartner, die sehen wollen, wie es in der Praxis funktioniert, sagt Marchesi. Das Projekt hat sich in den etwas mehr als drei Jahren seit der Eröffnung zu einem Leuchtturm entwickelt: Es findet nicht nur bei nationalen Partnern aus Forschung und Industrie grosse Beachtung, sondern wird auch regelmässig von internationalen Delegationen besucht. Eines der Vorzeigeprojekte ist eine vom Empa-Energy-Hub entwickelte intelligente Heizungssteuerung, die den Energieverbrauch um gut 25 Prozent senken kann. Und deren autonomes Schalten und Walten bei den Bewohnern – ebenso wichtig – auf breite Akzeptanz stösst. Der verwegenste Teil des NEST ist aber das DFAB House, das grösste in digitaler Fabrikation realisierte Haus der Welt und die neuste Einheit, in der «Gramazio Kohler Research» im Kollektiv mit sechs weiteren ETH-Professuren ihr Konzept des digitalen Gestaltens und Bauens auf die Spitze getrieben haben. Rund 40 Forschende unterschiedlicher Disziplinen haben im Rahmen des NFS «Digitale Fabrikation» mitgeplant. Viele Teile, wie zum Beispiel das ungewöhnliche Holzfassaden-Fachwerk, wurden sogar von Algorithmen «generiert». Kohler sieht auch hier einen Paradigmenwechsel: Planungsprozesse werden adaptiv, Bedürfnisse können laufend aufeinander abgestimmt werden. Bauen als Kanon vieler Stimmen.

«Als Ökologe bin ich Grundlagenforscher, aber als Experte stelle ich mich in den Dienst der Gesellschaft.» Florian Altermatt, Gruppenleiter an der Eawag und Professor für Aquatische Ökologie an der UZH

«Um die Herausforderungen von heute zu meistern, braucht es die umfassendere Sicht des Umweltnaturwissenschaftlers. Techniklösungen allein werden schlichtweg nicht reichen», ist Florian Altermatt überzeugt. Als Gruppenleiter an der Eawag und Professor für Aquatische Ökologie an der Universität Zürich untersucht er den Zustand und Wandel der Biodiversität in Gewässern. «In jüngster Zeit sehen wir tatsächlich extreme Veränderungen, stark beeinflusst durch die Landnutzung.» Es wäre der Moment für eine rigorose Bestandsaufnahme der Biodiversität, mit neuen von ihm mitentwickelten technischen Möglichkeiten wie der Umwelt-DNA-(eDNA)-Analyse. Gleichzeitig ist dieses Wissen aber auch von dringlicher gesellschaftlicher Relevanz: «Eigentlich verfügen wir noch über ungenügendes Wissen über Biodiversität – und dabei müssten wir wichtige Entscheide fällen.» Eine Million Arten seien weltweit vom Aussterben bedroht, in Gewässern oder an Land, es wäre also, glaubt Altermatt, ein transformativer Wandel nötig, «und der kann nicht allein technischer Natur sein». Es wird keine einfache Aufgabe sein, er hält es für nichts weniger «als eine der grössten Herausforderung vor denen die Menschheit je stand». Die aber — mit der richtigen Mischung an Expertise — zu
meistern sei. Gerade an der Eawag sieht Altermatt eine grosse Exzellenz, gesellschaftliche Rahmenbedingungen mitzudenken, in interdisziplinären Teams. Theorie und Praxis sind heutzutage nicht mehr zu trennen. «Als Ökologe bin ich Grundlagenforscher, aber mir und meinen Kolleginnen und Kollegen ist die Umsetzung dieses systemischen Wissens extrem wichtig.» Als Forscher treiben ihn die theoretischen Einblicke an, als Experte stellt er sich in den Dienst der Gesellschaft – so hat er unlängst einen Synthesebericht im Auftrag des BAFU erstellt, in dem es um die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf Schweizer Gewässer geht.