Jamie Paik isn’t your average robotics researcher, and the machines she and her team develop in the Reconfigurable Robotics Lab at EPFL are every bit as unusual. Are they conducting tests here for a future where machines will become such an intuitive part of our everyday lives as smartphones are today?

Tribots. Photo: Basul Stücheli

The word ‘robotics’ makes you think of little mechanical men or rotating metal arms, but certainly not of something like this: an unusual backpack with two pressure cylinders, tubes and rods, connected to bulging packages on the chest, back and sides of the wearer, an exosuit. The fact that Jamie Paik’s colleagues are strapping the latest creation onto their own backs and testing it out reflects the image of a laboratory known for its experimental designs. What Paik and her team do in the Reconfigurable Robotics Lab at EPFL is perhaps something like an art department in the world of robot research. And that hardly comes as a surprise since Paik had once considered studying art. But then she moved into the field of technology. Then again, she has never had any fear of “going down unconventional routes”.

She has consistently drawn her inspiration from unusual sources: one of her most successful designs originates from the odontomachus ant but bases its working principles on folding joints – a bit like origami. The tiny robots called Tribots can communicate with each other, act and create different motion sequences by reshaping themselves. These little helpers could potentially be used en masse for search and rescue operations. Some colleagues and industries would have found it difficult and rather “cute” in the early days – a veiled insult to Paik. She has always been concerned with very practical considerations, and the perception of the robot as being “cute” betrayed the limits of conventional robotics in her eyes. For a long time, this field had been bent on the idea of building ever more powerful, stronger, more high-precision machines. But it did not reflect its environment at all; robots slavishly followed command schemes – and they have become an ever greater danger for any people who get too close to them. We’ve all seen those pictures from the car-manufacturing industry: isolated production lines where robots do their monotonous work behind barriers and signs for “authorised personnel only”.

Paik had a completely different “collaborative” idea about robots from the outset. As well as a different definition. She views a robot as an intelligent machine with the ability to provide feedback. The intelligence of this machine can be reflected on very different levels. It can be achieved in the possible movement options and not solely on the highly complex artificial intelligence. A decade has now passed since the origami robots were unveiled, and attitudes are gradually changing in the scientific community as well as in industry. The need for new intelligence and automation in the manufacturing industries, personalised technologies and health care have forced the field to open up to other forms and concepts of robots: adaptive and interactive human companions.

Professor Jamie Paik

Robotics artist and researcher Jamie Paik benefits from the possibility of freeform robotics in the Reconfigurable Robotics Lab. Photo: Basil Stücheli

One of the examples is the soft exosuit, which serves to give active force feedback to the user via soft pneumatic actuators distributed over the upper body. The idea here is to support the body in its movements or to protect it against false movements with sufficient counter-pressure, for example during construction work. Paik’s laboratory, the Reconfigurable Robotics Lab also maintains a stock of finer variants of these body-oriented machines; elastic skins with embedded pressure points that enable interaction via the sense of touch. This could finally make VR (virtual reality), a physical experience. Paik calls it TR; tangible reality. Is that still robotics in the narrower sense? Paik is not all that interested in that question; for her the ideal robot is invisible anyway, blending into our lives so effortlessly that we don’t even notice it any more. Her work is chiefly driven by a desire to improve the quality of people’s lives, especially for those with functional difficulties. In Paik’s view, “today’s technology is not really democratic”. For that to change, there would have to be a suitably diverse team of people involved, from the concept, through development, to the final design.

In Paik’s view “today’s technology is not really democratic. For that to change, there would have to be a suitably diverse team of people involved, from the concept, through development, to the final design.”

She would give her machines a certain degree of autonomy, but in the end it would always have to be human beings who decided what to do. There would be only one instance in which she would design machines to be autonomous; for space exploration. For her, this is the ultimate challenge in robotics. And then she gets a little philosophical at the end of the chat. You never really know what you’ll encounter in space. Adaptability is the decisive factor for survival there. Here on Earth, we humans are vastly superior to most artificial systems in this respect. But isn’t that simply because evolution has taught us to claim that our intelligence, whether it be mental or intuitively physical, is a reflection of this environment? In space, it would be more of a level playing field. And adaptive robots, perhaps even swarms of them, could perform tasks which we humans are simply not equipped to do, optimised as we are for Earth.

Jamie Paik ist eine untypische Roboterforscherin, und ebenso untypisch sind die Maschinen, die sie mit ihrem Team im Reconfigurable Robotics Lab der EPFL entwickelt. Wird hier eine Zukunft erprobt, in der Maschinen ein so intuitiver Teil unseres Alltags sind wie heute schon Smartphones?

Tribots. Foto: Basul Stücheli

Robotics – da denkt man an mechanische kleine Männchen oder an rotierende metallene Arme, aber bestimmt nicht an einen Rucksack mit zwei Druckflaschen, Schläuchen und Gestänge, verbunden mit wulstigen Paketen an Brust, Rücken und Flanken des Trägers — ein Exosuit. Dass Jamie Paiks Mitarbeiter sich die neuste Kreation gleich selbst auf den Rücken schnallt und austestet, passt eher ins Bild eines Labors, das für seine experimentellen Entwürfe bekannt ist. Was Paik und ihr Team im Reconfigurable Robotics Lab der EPFL machen, ist vielleicht so etwas wie die Kunstabteilung der Roboterforschung. Kein Wunder, Paik hatte sich ursprünglich überlegt, Kunst zu studieren. Aber dann zog es sie doch ins technische Feld. Dass sie keine Angst hat, «unkonventionelle Wege zu gehen», ist ihr aber geblieben.

Immer wieder schöpft sie ihre Inspiration aus ungewöhnlichen Quellen: Einer ihrer erfolgreichsten Entwürfe orientiert sich an den Odontomachusameisen, basiert aber auf den Funktionsweisen von Klappgelenken - ein wenig wie ein Origami. Die winzigen Roboter, Tribots, können miteinander kommunizieren, handeln und verschiedene Bewegungsabläufe erzeugen, indem sie sich falten. In Massen könnten diese kleinen Helfer potenziell bei Such- und Rettungsaktionen zum Einsatz kommen. «Difficult and rather cute», fanden manche Kollegen und auch die Industrie das anfänglich. Für Paik wie eine versteckte Beleidigung. Denn ihr ging es immer um sehr praktische Erwägungen, und das «Niedliche» zeigte in ihren Augen die Grenzen der herkömmlichen Robotik auf. Diese habe sich lange darauf versteift, immer leistungsfähigere, stärkere, akkurater operierende Maschinen zu bauen. Ohne Sinn für ihre Umwelt, stupide Befolger von Befehlsschemen, die dabei eine immer grössere Gefahr für alle Menschen wurden, die ihnen zu nahe kamen. Man kennt die Bilder aus der Autoindustrie: abgeschottete Fabrikationsstrassen, wo Roboter hinter Schranken und Türen mit der Aufschrift «Nur für befugtes Personal» ihre eintönige Arbeit verrichten.

Paik hatte von Anfang an eine ganz andere «kollaborative» Idee von Robotern. Und auch eine andere Definition: Ein Roboter ist für sie eine intelligente Maschine, die über Feedback-Funktionen verfügt. Die Intelligenz dieser Maschine kann sich auf ganz verschiedenen Ebenen äussern. Sie kann bereits in den Bewegungsmöglichkeiten angelegt sein und nicht nur in hochkomplexer künstlicher Intelligenz. Ein Jahrzehnt ist seit den Origami-Robotern vergangen, und langsam ändert sich die Einstellung der Wissenschaftsgemeinde und Industrie. Der Bedarf an neuer Intelligenz und Automatisierung in der verarbeitenden Industrie, für personalisierte Technologien oder in der medizinischen Versorgung hat das Feld geöffnet für andere Formen und Konzepte von Robotern: adaptive und interaktive Begleiter des Menschen.

Professor Jamie Paik

Die Roboterkünstlerin und Forscherin Jamie Paik nutzt mit ihrem Reconfigurable Robotics Lab die Möglichkeiten der «formfreien» Robotik. Foto: Basil Stücheli

Ein Beispiel ist der Soft-Exosuit, der dem Träger über weiche pneumatische Aktuatoren auf dem Oberkörper eine aktive Kraftrückmeldung gibt. Die Idee: den Körper in seinen Bewegungen zu unterstützen oder mit entsprechend starkem Gegendruck vor Fehlbewegungen zu schützen, zum Beispiel bei Bauarbeiten. Paiks Labor hat auch feinere Varianten dieser körpernahen Maschinen auf Lager, elastische Häute mit eingebetteten Druckpunkten, die Interaktion über den Tastsinn ermöglichen. Das könnte Virtual Reality (VR) endlich physisch erlebbar machen, Paik nennt es TR: Tangible Reality (spürbare Realität). Ob das noch Robotik im engeren Sinn ist? Die Frage interessiert Paik nicht wirklich, für sie ist der ideale Roboter sowieso unsichtbar, weil er sich so zwanglos in unser Leben einfügt, dass wir ihn gar nicht mehr wahrnehmen. Oberste Motivation für ihre Arbeit sei es, die Lebensqualität der Menschen zu verbessern, und zwar vorzugsweise derjenigen, die vielleicht nicht immer perfekt funktional seien. «Heutige Technologie ist nicht wirklich demokratisch», findet Paik. Damit sich das ändert, brauche es entsprechend divers zusammengesetzte Teams überall von der Konzeption über die Entwicklung bis zum finalen Design.

«Heutige Technologie ist nicht wirklich demokratisch. Damit sich das ändert, braucht es entsprechend divers zusammengesetzte Teams überall von der Konzeption über die Entwicklung bis zum finalen Design», findet Paik.

Eine gewisse Autonomie würde sie ihren Maschinen durchaus zugestehen, aber letztendlich müsse immer der Mensch über ihr Tun entscheiden. Bloss in einem Fall würde sie Maschinen autonom konzipieren: für die Eroberung des Weltalls. Das ist für sie die ultimative Herausforderung der Robotik. Und da gerät man zum Schluss des Gesprächs dann noch ein wenig ins Philosophieren. Im All weiss man nie so genau, was man antrifft. Anpassungsfähigkeit ist dort der entscheidende Überlebensfaktor. Hier auf der Erde sind wir Menschen den allermeisten künstlichen Systemen diesbezüglich haushoch überlegen. Aber liegt das nicht einfach daran, dass die Evolution uns gelehrt hat, uns in dieser Umwelt zu behaupten, dass unsere Intelligenz, sei sie geistig oder intuitiv körperlich, diese Umwelt widerspiegelt? Im All wären die Spiesse ziemlich gleich lang. Und adaptive Roboter, vielleicht sogar Schwärme von ihnen, könnten Aufgaben lösen, für die wir Menschen schlicht nicht gemacht sind. Irdisch optimiert wie wir nun einmal sind.