ETH Board, 02 December 2011

At its final meeting of the current term of office, the ETH Board clearly backed the call for more resources to be invested in the education of excellent professionals at ETH Zurich and at EPFL. The increasing student numbers are necessary for the Swiss economy and for Swiss society. In order to safeguard the quality of teaching, however, the ETH Board is no longer able to rule out cutbacks in other areas and will discuss concrete measures in 2012. In ad-dition, the ETH Board appointed executives for the ETH Domain.

In 2012, federal politics will make trail-blazing decisions with regard to education, research and innova-tion in Switzerland for the coming years. In view of increasing burdens, the ETH Board had already given voice to the ETH Domain’s accumulated requirements. The number of students in the ETH Domain rose from 15,592 in 2000 to 24,104 in 2010, i.e. by 54.6 %, whereas the Confederation’s funding contribution increased by a mere 24.8 %. At the same time, there is a lack of 15,000 professionals with a background in mathematics, information technology, natural sciences and technology (MINT), as a current analysis conducted by Economiesuisse and Swiss Engineering has revealed. “The growing student numbers are crucial to Switzerland’s competitiveness”, says Dr Fritz Schiesser, President of the ETH Board.

At the last meeting of the 2008-2011 period of office, the ETH Board therefore discussed the ETH Domain’s problem caused by having to educate more students without lowering its sights with re-gard to quality. ETH Zurich and EPFL have so far handled growth by means of intramural measures and gains in efficiency, but these options have now been exhausted. “High-quality teaching must be close to research, which requires personnel and infrastructures”, points out Professor Ralph Eichler, President of ETH Zurich and member of the ETH Board. ETH Zurich may have been able to establish about 70 addi-tional professorships by means of funding transfers and thanks to third-party resources since 2008, but now investments in further chairs, in senior scientists, as well as in practice rooms and apparatus are necessary. EPFL has mainly coped with the growth in student numbers through the involvement of younger professors but is now reaching its limits in terms of campus infrastructures. “Our analyses demonstrate that most of our students come from Western Switzerland and adjacent neighbouring coun-tries and that 80 % of them pursue careers in Switzerland after graduation”, says Patrick Aebischer, President of EPFL and member of the ETH Board. At present, the financial prospects for education, re-search and innovation are becoming gloomy for the ETH Domain in particular. The ETH Board has there-fore decided to dedicate an extraordinary meeting in early 2012 to concrete cutbacks that could be made for the benefit of teaching. “Switzerland cannot afford, for reasons of cost, not to provide the highly quali-fied graduates required by the economy and by society with an education or to provide them with a poor education, but must instead make investments”, says Hans Hess, the President of Swissmem and mem-ber of the ETH Board.

Energy research: special efforts require special resources

The ETH Board insists that no competition must emerge between teaching and research. In the ETH Board’s view, special research efforts require special resources. For instance, the ETH Domain has so far established competencies in energy research and annually invests approximately CHF 140m in this. If additional teams of researchers were funded, the ETH Domain would be able to extend its activities in a number of fields, thus tackling the challenges in a concerted fashion.

Additionally, the ETH Board has set up a working group, whose function is to further strengthen the already intensive knowledge and technology transfer of the institutions of the ETH Domain while facilitating exchanges with the private sector. “In research, we have to invest just as much in cooperation for the purpose of innovation as in lighthouse projects. Enterprises consider the accessibility of research and the international impact of visionary and high-risk research ventures to be prerequisites for investment decisions”, says Professor Paul Herrling, Vice-President of the ETH Board.

Management decisions concerning Empa and EPFL
Appointment to the General Management of Empa

Upon application of the Director General of Empa, Prof. Gian-Luca Bona, the ETH Board has appointed Dr Brigitte C. Buchmann (*1958) as a member of the General Management of Empa as from 1 September 2012.

As the new member of the General Management of Empa, Brigitte Buchmann will take over the Depart-ment of Mobility, Energy and Environment at Empa. Brigitte Buchmann, who holds a doctor’s degree in chemistry, has successfully headed the Laboratory for Air Pollution/Environmental Technology with its 30 scientists ever since 2002. This Laboratory conducts research into the distribution of pollutants in the at-mosphere and their relation to emission processes. After submitting her doctoral thesis at the University of Zurich in 1988, Brigitte Buchmann made a name for herself with her scientific work in the field of Nu-clear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy. After her move to Empa, she specialised in air pollutants and environmental technology. Soon, she was at the head of the National Air Pollution Monitoring Network (NABEL) and took on international responsibility in the WCC (World Calibration Centre for surface ozone, carbon monoxide, methane and carbon dioxides) of the Global Atmosphere Watch (GAW) programme. Through her expert activities, she has established a wide-ranging network in various domains of the fed-eral offices, but also in international bodies. She has also rendered services to teaching and has excel-lent connections with various universities of applied science.

Dr Peter Hofer, the Director General’s present Deputy and long-standing member of the General Management of Empa, will retire on 1 September 2012. To ensure his succession, a new member of the General Management was sought to head the Department of Mobility, Energy and Environment. The members of Empa’s General Management have jointly opted for Brigitte Buchmann to fill that vacancy.

Reappointment as Vice-Presidents of EPFL
Upon application of the President of EPFL, Professor Patrick Aebischer, the Vice-Presidents Dr Adrienne Corboud Fumagalli and Professor Philippe Gillet have been reappointed for the period of 1 March 2012 to 29 February 2016. By way of an exception to retirement age regulations, it also reappointed Professor Francis-Luc Perret as Vice-President for a term of office lasting until 28 February 2014.

Adrienne Corboud Fumagalli (*1958) has been reappointed Vice-President for Innovation and Technology Transfer at EPFL. In this capacity, she will continue to be responsible for all activities in the field of the transfer of knowledge and technology, as well as for strategic partnerships and research cooperation ventures with the private sector. In the context of her successful activities to date, she has been an influ-ential driving force behind EPFL’s Quartier de l’Innovation. Even before her appointment as Vice-President of EPFL in 2008, Adrienne Corboud Fumagalli had an excellent track record both as an execu-tive in reputable Swiss companies and in teaching and research.

Professor Philippe Gillet (*1958) has been reappointed Vice-President for Academic Affairs at EPFL. Since his appointment on 1 April 2010, Philippe Gillet has already successfully pressed ahead with both intramural and international initiatives, among them the strategic EPFL projects Guardian Angels and Blue Brain, which have been selected as FET Flagship candidates by the EU. Even before he was ap-pointed a Vice-President of EPFL, the renowned geophysicist and geochemist, who is a Full Professor of Physics, had an impressive track record both in teaching and research and in university management and science policy.

Professor Francis-Luc Perret (*1943) has been reappointed Vice-President for Planning and Logistics. Since his appointment on 1 April 2000, he has supervised the constructional changes on the EPFL cam-pus with far-sightedness and success. Under his leadership, the construction of the future congress cen-tre of EPFL has also made great progress and is expected to be completed by early 2014. In view of this important project, the ETH Board has exceptionally extended Francis-Luc Perret’s contract, which had al-ready been extended two years beyond his retirement age, for another and final time until he has reached the age of 70.

ETH-Rat, 02. Dezember 2011

Der ETH-Rat stellte sich an der letzten Sitzung seiner Amtsperiode klar hinter die Forderung nach mehr Mitteln für die Ausbildung exzellenter Fachkräfte an der ETH Zürich und an der EPFL. Die steigenden Studierendenzahlen sind notwendig für die Schweizer Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Um die Qualität der Lehre zu sichern kann der ETH-Rat aber Abbaumassnahmen in anderen Bereichen nicht mehr ausschliessen und wird 2012 konkrete Möglichkeiten diskutieren. Zudem ernannte der ETH-Rat Führungspersonen für den ETH-Bereich.

2012 wird die Bundespolitik mit Blick auf die kommenden Jahre wegweisende Entscheide für den Bildungs-, Forschungs- und Innovationsplatz Schweiz fällen. Angesichts zunehmender Lasten hatte der ETH-Rat bereits 2011 den Nachholbedarf des ETH-Bereichs transparent gemacht. Die Zahl der Studierenden im ETH-Bereich stieg zwischen 2000 (15‘592) und 2010 (24‘104) um 54,6%, der Finanzierungsbeitrag des Bundes aber nur um 24.8%. Gleichzeitig fehlen gemäss einer aktuellen Analyse von Economiesuisse und Swiss Engineering 15‘000 Fachkräfte aus Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften und Technik (MINT). «Die steigenden Studierendenzahlen sind entscheidend für die Konkurrenzfähigkeit der Schweiz», sagt Dr. Fritz Schiesser, Präsident des ETH-Rats.

An der letzten Sitzung seiner Amtsperiode 2008-2011 diskutierte der ETH-Rat daher das Problem des ETH-Bereichs, die wachsende Zahl der Studierenden auszubilden ohne bei der Qualität Abstriche zu machen. ETH Zürich und EPFL haben das Wachstum bisher mit internen Massnahmen und Effizienzgewinnen bewältigt, aber diese Wege sind nun ausgereizt. «Hochstehende Lehre muss forschungsnah erfolgen, was Personal und Infrastrukturen erfordert», gibt Prof. Ralph Eichler, Präsident der ETH Zürich und Mitglied des ETH-Rats, zu bedenken. Seit 2008 hat die ETH Zürich durch Umlagerungen und dank Drittmitteln zwar rund 70 zusätzliche Professuren schaffen können, doch sind nun Investitionen in weitere Professuren, in Senior Scientists sowie in Praktikumsräume und Apparaturen notwendig. Die EPFL hat das Wachstum der Studierendenzahlen namentlich mit dem Engagement jüngerer Professorinnen und Professoren bewältigt, stösst aber bei den Infrastrukturen auf dem Campus an Grenzen. «Unsere Analysen zeigen, dass unsere Studierenden hauptsächlich aus der Westschweiz und aus dem unmittelbar benachbarten Ausland stammen sowie nach dem Abschluss zu 80% ins Berufsleben in der Schweiz übertreten», sagt Prof. Patrick Aebischer, Präsident der EPFL und Mitglied des ETH-Rats. Derzeit verdüstern sich die finanziellen Aussichten für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation, insbesondere für den ETH-Bereich. Der ETH-Rat hat daher beschlossen, sich anfangs 2012 an einer ausserordentlichen Sitzung mit konkreten Abbaumassnahmen zu befassen, welche zu Gunsten der Lehre getroffen werden können. «Die Schweiz kann es sich nicht leisten, die von der Wirtschaft und der Gesellschaft benötigten hochqualifizierten Studienabsolventinnen und Studienabsolventen aus Kostengründen nicht oder schlecht auszubilden, sondern muss investieren», sagt Hans Hess, Präsident von Swissmem und Mitglied des ETH-Rats.

Energieforschung: Besondere Anstrengungen verlangen besondere Ressourcen
Keine Konkurrenz darf gemäss ETH-Rat zwischen Lehre und Forschung aufkommen. Besondere Forschungsanstrengungen verlangen aus Sicht des ETH-Rats besondere Ressourcen. Beispielsweise hat der ETH-Bereich bereits bisher Kompetenzen in der Energieforschung aufgebaut und investiert dafür jährlich rund 140 Mio. CHF. Wenn zusätzliche Teams von Forschenden finanziert würden, könnte der ETH-Bereich seine Aktivitäten in einer Reihe von Aktionsfeldern ausbauen und so die gestellten Herausforderungen zielgerichtet angehen.

Zusätzlich hat der ETH-Rat eine Arbeitsgruppe eingesetzt und damit beauftragt, den bereits intensiven Wissens- und Technologietransfer der Institutionen des ETH-Bereichs weiter zu stärken und den Austausch mit Privaten zu erleichtern. «In der Forschung müssen wir ebenso in neue Innovationszusammenarbeit investieren wie in Leuchtturmprojekte. Die Zugänglichkeit der Forschung und die internationale Ausstrahlung visionärer und risikoreicher Forschungsvorhaben sind für Unternehmen Voraussetzungen für Investitionsentscheide», sagt Prof. Dr. Paul Herrling, Vize-Präsident des ETH-Rats.

Führungsentscheide zur Empa und der EPFL
Wahl ins Direktorium der Empa
Der ETH-Rat hat auf Antrag des Direktors der Empa, Prof. Gian-Luca Bona, Dr. Brigitte C. Buchmann (*1958) als Mitglied der Direktion der Empa per 1. September 2012 ernannt.

Dr. Brigitte C. Buchmann übernimmt als neues Mitglied der Direktion der Empa das Departement Mobiliät, Energie und Umwelt der Empa. Als promovierte Chemikerin leitet sie seit 2002 erfolgreich die Abteilung Luftfremdstoffe/Umwelttechnik mit über 30 wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitenden. Diese forscht über die atmosphärische Schadstoffverteilung und deren Bezug zu den emittierenden Prozessen. Brigitte Buchmann hat sich nach ihrer Dissertation 1988 an der Universität Zürich einen Namen durch ihre wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten im Gebiet der NMR-Spektroskopie (Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy) geschaffen und nach dem Wechsel an die Empa im Bereich Luftfremdstoffe und Umwelttechnik spezialisiert. Schon bald leitete sie das Nationale Beobachtungsnetz für Luftfremdstoffe (NABEL) und übernahm international Verantwortung im WCC (World Calibration Centre for surface ozone, carbon monoxide, methane and carbon dioxide) des GAW-Programms (Global Atmosphere Watch). Durch ihre Expertentätigkeit hat sie sich ein breites Netzwerk in verschiedenen Bereichen der Bundesämter, aber auch in internationalen Gremien aufgebaut. Sie hat sich ausserdem in der Lehre verdient gemacht und verfügt über ausgezeichnete Verbindungen zu verschiedenen Fachhochschulen.

Dr. Peter Hofer geht als stellvertretender Direktor und langjähriges Direktionsmitglied der Empa per 1. September 2012 in Pension. Im Zuge einer Nachfolgeregelung wurde ein neues Direktionsmitglied für das Departement Mobilität, Energie und Umwelt gesucht. Die Mitglieder der Empa-Direktion haben sich gemeinsam für Dr. Brigitte Buchmann als neues Direktionsmitglied entschieden.

Wiederwahl in den Vizepräsidien der EPFL
Der ETH-Rat hat auf Antrag des Präsidenten der EPFL, Prof. Dr. Patrick Aebischer, Vizepräsidentin Dr. Adrienne Corboud Fumagalli sowie Vizepräsident Prof. Dr. Philippe Gillet für die Periode vom 1. März 2012 bis 29. Februar 2016 wiedergewählt. Ebenso hat er Prof. Francis-Luc Perret im Sinne einer Ausnahme von den Altersrücktrittsbestimmungen nochmals für eine Amtszeit bis zum 28. Februar 2014 als Vizepräsident gewählt.

Dr. Adrienne Corboud Fumagalli (*1958) wurde als Vize-Präsidentin für Innovation und Valorisation der EPFL wiedergewählt. In dieser Funktion ist sie weiterhin für sämtliche Aktivitäten des Wissens- und Technologietransfers sowie für strategische Partnerschaften und Forschungskooperationen mit der Privatwirtschaft zuständig. Im Rahmen ihrer bisherigen erfolgreichen Tätigkeit hat sie insbesondere die Entwicklung des „Quartier de l’innovation“ der EPFL massgebend vorangetrieben. Bereits vor ihrer Wahl zur Vizepräsidentin der EPFL 2008 verfügte Adrienne Corboud Fumagalli über einen ausgezeichneten Leistungsausweis sowohl als Managerin bei renommierten Schweizer Unternehmen als auch in der Lehre und Forschung.

Prof. Dr. Philippe Gillet (*1958) wurde als Vizepräsident für akademische Angelegenheiten an der EPFL wiedergewählt. Seit seiner Wahl am 1. April 2010 hat Philippe Gillet bereits sowohl interne wie auch internationale Initiativen erfolgreich vorangetrieben, darunter auch die strategischen EPFL-Projekte „Guardian Angels“ und „Blue Brain“, die von der EU als FET-Flagship-Kandidaten ausgewählt worden sind. Der renommierte Geophysiker und Geochemiker und ordentlicher Professor für Physik verfügte bereits vor seiner Wahl zum Vizepräsidenten der EPFL über einen eindrücklichen Leistungsausweis sowohl in der Lehre und Forschung als auch im Hochschulmanagement und in der Wissenschaftspolitik.

Prof. Dr. Francis-Luc Perret (*1943) wurde als Vizepräsident für Planung und Logistik wiedergewählt. Seit seiner Wahl vom 1. April 2000 hat er mit Weitsicht und Erfolg die baulichen Veränderungen auf dem Campus der EPFL betreut. Unter seiner Führung ist auch der Bau des künftigen Kongresszentrums der EPFL weit vorangeschritten und soll voraussichtlich bis Anfang 2014 erstellt sein. Angesichts dieses wichtigen Projekts hat der ETH-Rat ausnahmsweise die Tätigkeit von Francis-Luc Perret, die bereits früher um zwei Jahre über das Pensionsalter verlängert worden war, nochmals und letztmalig bis zur Vollendung seines 70. Lebensjahres erstreckt.