Beth Krasna, Acting President from May 2019 to January 2020

Dear readers

Klimajugend — Climate youth has been chosen as word of the year for 2019 in the German-speaking region of Switzerland. The French-speaking cantons call it vague verte, and the Italian-speaking part of the country refers to an onda verde. They all refer to the same issues of climate change and sustainability, issues which the ETH Domain takes seriously. For example, more than half of the 350 laboratories at EPFL are engaged in research on the UN's Sustainable Development Goals. With its competence centres on nutrition, climate change and urban development, ETH Zurich is a world leader in teaching and research on sustainable development. The research institutions of the ETH Domain are making significant contributions towards the sustainable restructuring of the Swiss energy system. They play a central role in practical research and knowledge transfer in the area of the environment.

The ETH Domain is also a beacon institution in construction and operation. It has further reduced environmental pollution in recent years, and its energy efficiency has increased by more than a third since 2006.

In 2019, the two Federal Institutes of Technology either achieved good grades in most relevant international university rankings or maintained their very good rankings. They continue to be among the best universities in the world. The external evaluation of the ETH Domain, which is performed every four years, also highlighted the exceptional quality of the two universities and the four research institutes. The ETH Domain also celebrated an anniversary in 2019 as EPFL turned 50. The onetime Ecole Polytechnique de l'Université de Lausanne has grown into a world-class university, which has made a major contribution to making the French-speaking part of Switzerland a thriving region.

The two Federal Institutes of Technology and the four research institutes are committed to working together to find solutions to the many challenges facing our society. The impact of climate change is paramount. Consequently, the ETH Board would like to focus research in the ETH Domain more specifically on this issue. The ETH Board took the landmark strategic decision in September 2019 to establish a research institute for environment and sustainability and to pool the strengths of WSL and Eawag in the medium term. The ETH Board feels sure that this will boost scientific competence, cooperation within and outside the ETH Domain, as well as the quick transfer of knowledge further. The new research institute will also help to ensure that the ETH Domain remains well positioned in the future and can hold its own in the face of international competition – in the interests of the Swiss economy and society.

Zurich/Bern, January 2020

Beth Krasna
Acting President ETH Board

 

Beth Krasna was Acting President of the ETH Board from May 2019 to January 2020 after the previous President Fritz Schiesser retired at the end of April, having reached retirement age. In February 2020 Michael O. Hengartner took over the presidency.

Beth Krasna, présidente a.i. de mai 2019 à janvier 2020

Chères lectrices, chers lecteurs,

«Klimajugend»: c’est le mot de l’année 2019 en Suisse alémanique. En Suisse romande, on parle de «vague verte» et en Suisse italophone de «onda verde». Les trois termes font référence aux mêmes thèmes, le changement climatique et le développement durable. Des thèmes où le Domaine des EPF est bien ancré. Plus de la moitié des 350 laboratoires de l’EPFL travaillent sur les Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU, par exemple. Avec ses pôles de compétences en alimentation, changement climatique ou urbanisme, l’ETH Zurich est une référence mondiale de l’enseignement et de la recherche sur le développement durable. Les établissements de recherche du Domaine des EPF contribuent significativement à la transformation durable du système énergétique suisse. Dans le secteur de l’environnement, ce sont des acteurs incontournables de la recherche axée sur la pratique et du transfert des connaissances.

Côté construction et exploitation, le Domaine des EPF est ici aussi exemplaire. Ces dernières années, il a encore diminué son impact sur l’environnement et amélioré son efficience énergétique de plus d’un tiers par rapport à 2006.

En 2019, les deux EPF ont progressé ou maintenu leurs très bonnes places dans la plupart des classements internationaux. Elles restent parmi les meilleures hautes écoles au monde. L’évaluation quadriennale externe du Domaine des EPF a une fois de plus souligné la qualité exceptionnelle des deux écoles polytechniques et des quatre établissements de recherche. Parmi les événements marquants de 2019, l’EPFL a fêté ses 50 ans. L’ancienne école polytechnique de l’Université de Lausanne est devenue une haute école d’envergure internationale. L’EPFL a fortement contribué au dynamisme de la Suisse romande.

Les deux EPF et les quatre établissements de recherche veulent trouver ensemble des solutions pour résoudre les multiples défis de notre société. Les conséquences du changement climatique sont en première place. Le Conseil des EPF aimerait donc cibler davantage la recherche sur cette thématique au sein du Domaine des EPF. En septembre 2019, il a décidé de fonder un établissement de recherche dédié à l’environnement et au développement durable qui réunirait à moyen terme les forces du WSL et de l’Eawag. Le Conseil des EPF est convaincu que cette mesure consolidera les compétences scientifiques et la collaboration au sein et à l’extérieur du Domaine des EPF et accélérera le transfert de connaissances. Le nouvel établissement aidera également le Domaine des EPF à se positionner fortement et à conserver sa place au sein de la concurrence internationale – l’économie et la société suisses en profiteront.

Bern/Zurich, janvier 2020

Beth Krasna
Présidente a.i. du Conseil des EPF

 

Beth Krasna a présidé le Conseil des EPF ad interim de mai 2019 à janvier 2020, suite au départ à la retraite de l’ancien président, Fritz Schiesser, fin avril. Michael O. Hengartner l’a relayée à la présidence en février 2020.