Science in the year of the pandemic

The coronavirus pandemic shaped the current reporting period like virtually no other event before it. Maintaining teaching and research activities under the influence of the epidemiological emergency was a major challenge for all institutions of the ETH Domain. Numerous research activities and technological developments in 2020 also focused on combating COVID-19. A multinational scientific network and close links to industry proved once again to be valuable foundations where this is concerned. Providing scientific advice to political decision-makers on dealing with the crisis situation was also especially important in the year of the pandemic.

“Switzerland remains a leading nation in terms of education, research and innovation, taking advantage of digitisation.” With this premise, at the beginning of 2020 the Federal Council passed the Dispatch on the Promotion of Education, Research and Innovation (ERI Dispatch) for the period from 2021 to 2024. It applied for a budget of just under CHF 28 billion for the entire period. In the context of the parliamentary debate on the ERI Dispatch between the summer and late autumn of 2020, the National Council and Council of States also made it clear that they support the idea of ensuring that Switzerland remains one of the world’s leading nations in the fields of education, research and innovation. In view of the extraordinary expenditure approved at the same time for the support measures of the Federal Council due to the coronavirus pandemic, this clear commitment to ensuring that Switzerland remains an education and research hub should be rated especially highly. The visibility which science was given during the crisis and the recognisable significance of strong education and research institutions when faced with unknown and urgent challenges certainly also played a role here.

ETH Zurich Campus Centre
From mid-march 2020, the ETH Domain also switched to emergency mode. Here the ETH Zurich's Zentrum Campus. Photo: Nicola Pitaro/ETH Zürich

Teaching and research under the influence of the COVID-19 virus

The switch to completely digital lessons was successfully implemented at ETH Zurich and EPFL following a smooth and very short transitional period. The policy of encouraging digital teaching methods like “flipped classrooms”, which had already been in place for an extended period, made a significant contribution to the efficient organisation of distance learning (see p. 51 f.). Within a very short space of time, researchers also reacted to the occurrence of the new COVID-19 virus and launched numerous projects. Within the ETH Domain, these include, for example, research projects on possible vaccines, ventilators, equipment for test procedures, masks or detecting viruses in waste water (see e.g. p. 14 and 66). Researchers from the ETH Domain are also involved in the national research programme entitled NFP 78 “Covid-19”, which was launched at the end of April 2020, where they are working on several projects.

What Martina Hirayama, State Secretary for Education, Research and Innovation, emphasised in summer at the informal EU ministerial meeting on research and innovation applies in this respect: bottom-up research based on excellence has the potential to provide rapid and innovative responses to crises. She also pointed out that cross-border cooperation and facilitating an exchange of ideas between researchers are key factors in a joint response to crisis situations such as that of the coronavirus pandemic.

Global crisis – international research

The fact that research on the COVID-19 virus within the ETH Domain also has an international dimension goes without saying. The development of the Swiss-Covid app is a good example of this. SwissCovid, the official app of the Federal Council, is – together with contact tracing and systematic testing – an important measure for combating the COVID-19 virus. Assistant Professor Carmela Troncoso, from EPFL’s Security and Privacy Engineering Laboratory, is one of the leading brains behind the application. She worked in a quickly formed, interdisciplinary team which had all the necessary skills. It comprised over 30 researchers from different institutions in eight European countries.

The good European and international cooperation is based on long-standing relationships and networks. Research programmes like Horizon Europe make a significant contribution to creating and expanding them. For the ETH Board and the institutions of the ETH Domain, full association with the European Union Framework Research Programmes for the period from 2021 to 2027 is of key importance. Even in the reporting period, the institutions of the ETH Domain once again successfully secured ERC grants in the context of the current Horizon 2020 programme (see p. 54).

In addition to Horizon Europe, the European Union also plans another edition of the Erasmus education programme from 2021 onwards. International cooperation and mobility in education contribute to the excellence and competitiveness of the Swiss education system and are given a high status by the ETH Board. It is therefore calling for full association with the Erasmus programme for the period from 2021 to
2027.

From research to practice

During the crisis, it also became especially clear how valuable the close partnership with industry is which the institutions of the ETH Domain have built up over the years. The transfer of knowledge and technology
is a keyword where this is concerned. Against the background of the pandemic situation, researchers from Empa, ETH Zurich and EPFL succeeded within a very short space of time in developing innovative mask concepts for efficient protection against viruses and technologies for reusing protective materials in the context of the Innosuisse reMask project. They cooperated with Spiez Laboratory and a national consortium with representatives from the healthcare sector and industry. The approximately 50 industrial partners involved prove in an impressive way just how comprehensive the joint effort was.

Even where other areas of innovation are concerned, it is possible to state that cooperation with businesses was successful in 2020. For instance, a similar number of patents, licences and cooperation agreements were reported as in the previous year and and there was even a new record with 66 spin-offs foundations. The above-average success of such spin-offs and the high number of jobs created as a result were proven in the reporting period by a study conducted by the University of St.Gallen (see also p. 18).

Dialogue between scientists and politicians

One important contribution of science was ultimately in establishing the Swiss National COVID-19 Science Task Force. It supports the political authorities and decision-makers by providing them with information on which to base their decisions from the perspective of academics and researchers. The foundation of the Task Force had been proposed in March 2020 at the initiative of scientists and with the involvement of the ETH Board after there had been an exchange among researchers at an early stage and they wanted to contact politicians. Responsible science includes getting involved in the political negotiation process in an advisory capacity. At the same time, the different roles must be clearly defined. The Task Force is an independent expert panel which makes scientifically sound recommendations.

One of the basic principles of science lies in constantly questioning answers and solutions and developing them based on the latest findings. Mutual understanding for the different roles and working methods of scientists and politicians forms the basis for effective cooperation. In this sense, the current crisis is also a learning field, in order to establish a good form of exchange and to create a basis of trust for dialogue with a view to dealing with other issues and future crises. The issues of national and global importance where scientific expertise is highly relevant in aiding policy-making certainly include climate change and sustainability. The ETH Domain also wants to get deeply involved in this area and make its contribution.

La science face à la pandémie

Jamais un événement n’aura autant marqué un exercice que l’actuelle pandémie de coronavirus. Le maintien des activités d’enseignement et de recherche dans cette situation d’urgence sanitaire fut un défi majeur pour l’ensemble des institutions du Domaine des EPF. De nombreuses activités de recherche et beaucoup de développements technologiques de 2020 ont porté sur la lutte contre le COVID-19. Une fois de plus, l’existence d’un réseau scientifique transfrontalier et de liens étroits avec l’industrie a porté ses fruits. Durant cette année de pandémie, les services de conseils fournis par les scientifiques aux décideurs politiques pour gérer la crise ont pris une dimension particulière.

«La Suisse maintient son excellence dans les domaines de la formation, de la recherche et de l’innovation, et saisit les chances qu’offre le numérique.» Tel est l’objectif à la base du message relatif à l’encouragement de la formation, de la recherche et de l’innovation (message FRI) pour les années 2021 à 2024 approuvé par le Conseil fédéral début 2020. Une enveloppe financière de 28 mia CHF était prévue pour la période. Dans le cadre de l’examen parlementaire du message FRI entre l’été et la fin de l’automne 2020, le Conseil des Etats et le Conseil national ont eux aussi affiché leur soutien à une Suisse qui maintient son excellence dans la formation, la recherche et l’innovation à l’échelle internationale. Cette profession de foi claire en faveur du site de formation et de recherche suisse est remarquable au vu des dépenses exceptionnelles engagées sur la même période par la Confédération pour faire face à la pandémie. La visibilité acquise par la science au moment de la crise n’y est certainement pas étrangère, de même que la prise de conscience du bien-fondé d’institutions de formation et de recherche fortes pour faire face à des défis urgents et sans précédent.

ETH Zurich Campus Zentrum
L’état d’urgence s’est appliqué au Domaine des EPF à la mi-mars 2020 - ici campus centre de l'ETH Zurich. Photo: Nicolas Pitaro/ETH Zürich

L’enseignement et la recherche
sous le signe du COVID-19

L’ETH Zurich et l’EPFL ont basculé vers l’enseignement entièrement numérique très rapidement et sans encombre. L’encouragement, depuis plusieurs années, des méthodes d’enseignement numériques comme les flipped classrooms a contribué à la réorganisation efficace des cours en distanciel (cf. p. 51 s.). En un temps très court, les scientifiques ont réagi à l’apparition du nouveau coronavirus et lancé de nombreux projets. Le Domaine des EPF a notamment engagé des projets de recherche sur des vaccins, des respirateurs, des appareils de test, des masques ou l’analyse des eaux usées (cf. p. 14 ou p. 69 p. ex. ). Des scientifiques du Domaine des EPF ont également pris part à plusieurs projets du programme national de recherche «COVID-19» (PNR 78), lancé fin avril 2020.

Comme l’a souligné Martina Hirayama, secrétaire d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation, cet été, lors de la réunion informelle des ministres européens en charge de la recherche et de l’innovation, une recherche fondée sur l’excellence et procédant à une approche bottom-up possède le potentiel pour livrer des réponses innovantes rapidement. Elle a également rappelé que la coopération internationale et la facilitation des échanges entre chercheurs constituaient des facteurs clés dans une optique de réaction européenne commune à des situations de crise telles que celles liées au coronavirus.

Crise mondiale – recherche internationale

Bien entendu, le Domaine des EPF travaille sur le COVID-19 avec plusieurs pays. Le développement de l’app SwissCovid est un bon exemple. SwissCovid, l’application officielle de la Confédération, est l’une des grandes mesures de lutte contre le nouveau coronavirus, au même titre que le traçage des cas contacts et la réalisation systématique de tests. Carmela Troncoso, professeure assistante au Security and Privacy Engineering Laboratory de l’EPFL, est l’une des têtes pensantes à l’origine de cette application. Elle a fait partie de l’équipe interdisciplinaire, rapidement mise sur pied, qui a réuni toutes les compétences nécessaires à son développement. L'équipe était composée de plus de trente chercheurs de différentes institutions réparties dans huit pays européens.

La bonne coopération européenne et internationale repose sur des relations et des réseaux déjà anciens que des programmes de recherche tels que «Horizon Europe» ont créés et approfondis. Pour le Conseil des EPF et les institutions du Domaine des EPF, la pleine participation au programme-cadre de recherche de l’Union européenne pour les années 2021–2027 est donc capitale. Durant l’année sous revue, les institutions du Domaine des EPF ont à nouveau obtenu des ERC Grants dans le cadre du programme «Horizon 2020» (cf. p. 54).

Outre «Horizon Europe», l’Union européenne compte renforcer le programme de formation «Erasmus» dès 2021. La coopération internationale et la mobilité en matière de formation contribuent à l’excellence et à la compétitivité de la Suisse comme pays de formation et sont très importantes pour le Conseil des EPF. Ce dernier plaide donc pour une pleine participation au programme «Erasmus» pour les années 2021–2027.

De la recherche à la pratique

La crise a révélé l’importance des liens étroits avec l’industrie que les institutions du Domaine des EPF ont tissé au fil des ans, notamment pour le transfert de savoir et de technologie (TST). Sur fond de pandémie, dans le cadre du projet Innosuisse ReMask, des scientifiques de l’Empa, de l’ETH Zurich et de l’EPFL ont réussi en un temps très court à développer des concepts de masque innovants qui protègent efficacement des virus, ainsi que des technologies de réutilisation des matériaux de protection. Ils ont travaillé avec le Laboratoire Spiez et un consortium national réunissant des acteurs de la santé et des industriels. La cinquantaine de partenaires industriels participants témoigne de l’ampleur de l’effort commun déployé.

D’autres secteurs de l’innovation montrent le succès de la coopération avec l’économie en 2020. Le nombre de brevets, licences et contrats de collaboration déclaré est du même ordre de grandeur qu’en 2019, et un nouveau record a même été établi avec la création de 66 spin-off. Une étude de la Haute Ecole de St-Gall atteste le succès supérieur à la moyenne de ces spin-off et le nombre élevé d’emplois qu’elles génèrent (cf. p. 18).

Dialogue entre la science et la politique

La création de la Swiss National COVID-19 Science Task Force est une contribution importante de la science. Ce groupe de travail aide les autorités et les décideurs politiques à prendre des décisions en leur soumettant les points de vue des hautes écoles et de la recherche. Sa création a été suggérée en mars
2020 à l’initiative de scientifiques et avec la participation du Conseil des EPF, suite à des échanges précoces entre chercheurs et à la recherche de contacts avec le monde politique.

Il appartient à la science de prendre part au processus de négociation politique avec une voix consultative. En même temps, les différents rôles de chacun devraient être clairement définis. La Task Force est un comité d’experts indépendant qui prononce des recommandations étayées scientifiquement. Par nature, la science questionne constamment les réponses et les solutions et les adapte en fonction de ses conclusions.

Une coopération appropriée passe par la compréhension mutuelle des rôles et des modes de fonctionnement de la science et de la politique. Dans ce sens, la crise actuelle est aussi un terrain d’apprentissage pour établir une bonne forme d’échange et instaurer une base de confiance pour le dialogue, en vue d’autres thématiques et crises futures. Le changement climatique et le développement durable font certainement partie des thèmes d’importance nationale et internationale où il est très pertinent de mettre l’expertise scientifique au service de la politique. Le Domaine des EPF veut s’y investir pleinement et apporter sa contribution.