Eawag is one of the world’s leading water research institutes. Its strength and success are based on the combination of research, teaching and higher education that it has provided for 80 years, along with consultancy and the transfer of knowledge. The combination of natural sciences, engineering and social sciences enables a comprehensive research into water in relatively untouched natural bodies of water, right through to fully automated waste water management systems.

Here the research activity focuses on how to secure a balance between humanity’s use of water and the preservation and strengthening of the aquatic ecosystem. 26 professors, some 200 scientists and more than 140 doctoral students meet at Eawag in a unique research environment to investigate questions that lead to new scientific findings and that serve the basic requirements of society.

Its interdisciplinary nature and the way it includes stakeholders from business and society play an important role in this. The 4,400-plus teaching hours at Swiss universities and the supervision of 140 Bachelor’s and Master’s degree theses (every year) are making an important contribution to the education of young professionals in the Swiss water sector.

In order to transfer and apply findings from fundamental research to natural bodies of water, Eawag has built an installation with 36 test pools on its grounds in Dübendorf, unique in Europe. The installation started operating in 2016. It allows researchers to investigate questions about the way ecosystems work and how biodiversity is changing, under controlled environmental conditions.

L’Eawag est un institut de recherche sur l’eau de renommée internationale. Depuis 80 ans, il tire sa force et son succès de ses efforts pour relier entre eux la recherche, l’enseignement et la formation continue. Le conseil et le transfert de savoir sont deux autres de ses atouts. L’association des sciences naturelles, sociales et des sciences de l’ingénieur permet de mener une recherche pointue sur l’eau, portant aussi bien sur les eaux à l’état naturel que sur les systèmes hautement techniques de gestion des eaux usées.

Les activités de recherche de l’Eawag consistent avant tout à trouver un juste équilibre entre la nécessité pour l’homme d’utiliser l’eau et celle de préserver l’écosystème aquatique. L’Eawag offre à 26 professeurs, environ 200 collaborateurs scientifiques et plus de 140 doctorants un environnement de recherche exceptionnel pour étudier des questions qui débouchent sur de nouvelles connaissances scientifiques et répondent aux besoins fondamentaux de la société.

Le caractère interdisciplinaire et l’implication de groupes d’intérêt issus de l’économie et de la société jouent ici un rôle important. Les quelque 4400 heures d'enseignement dispensées dans les hautes écoles suisses et l'encadrement d'environ 140 travaux de bachelor et de master par an contribuent fortement à la formation de jeunes spécialistes du secteur de l'eau en Suisse.

Afin de pouvoir appliquer les connaissances issues de la recherche fondamentale en laboratoire sur des cours d’eau naturels, l’Eawag a construit sur son site de Dübendorf une installation unique en Europe, composée de 36 étangs artificiels. Inauguré en 2016, cet espace permet d’étudier les questions liées au fonctionnement des écosystèmes et à l’évolution de la biodiversité dans des conditions environnementales contrôlées.