Empa is an interdisciplinary research institute for materials science and technology. It finds solutions for industry and society in the fields of nanostructured materials and surfaces, environmental technologies, energy and sustainable technologies, as well as bio- and medical technologies. Working with industry partners and via spin-offs, it converts its research results in the Empa technology centres to marketable innovations, and contributes to the strengthening of the competitiveness of the Swiss economy. Moreover, it creates a scientific basis for the sustainable development of society.

Since 1880 the Empa has provided public offices with data resources for their political decisions, and it also carries out studies on behalf of federal government offices. About 1000 staff incl. 29 professors as well as some 200 doctoral students and 40 trainees are working at Empa. There are also about 200 Bachelor’s and Master’s degree students and trainees here. Added to this, numerous projects with researchers from industry are always underway, as well as some 300 projects financed by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), the Technology and Innovation Commission (CTI) and the EU framework programmes.

In May 2016 the modular research and innovation building NEST, of Empa and Eawag, was opened in Dübendorf. In the NEST building new technologies, materials and systems will be tested and developed under realistic conditions. It is intended that the close cooperation with partners from research, business and the public sector will speed up the process of innovation in buildings.

Le Laboratoire fédéral d'essai des matériaux et de recherche (Empa) est un établissement interdisciplinaire de recherche consacré aux sciences et à la technologie des matériaux. Il élabore des solutions destinées à l’industrie et à la société dans les domaines des surfaces et des matériaux nanostructurés, des biotechnologies et de la technologie médicale, des technologies environnementales et énergétiques ainsi que des technologies de construction durables. Avec des partenaires industriels ou par le biais de spin-off, l’Empa réalise dans ses centres de technologie des innovations pouvant être commercialisées et contribue ainsi à renforcer la compétitivité de l’économie suisse. Par ailleurs, il jette les bases scientifiques du développement durable de la société.

Depuis 1880, l’Empa fournit aux pouvoirs publics des informations de fond pour étayer certaines décisions politiques et conduit des études sur mandat d’offices fédéraux. L’Empa emploie environ 1000 collaborateurs, dont 29 professeurs, 200 doctorants et 40 apprentis. A cela s’ajoutent près de 200 étudiants en bachelor et en master, ainsi que des stagiaires. Dans le même temps, de nombreux projets sont menés avec des chercheurs de l’industrie, et quelque 300 projets sont financés par le Fonds national suisse (FNS), la Commission pour la technologie et l’innovation (CTI) et les programmes-cadres de l’UE.

Le mois de mai 2016 a vu l’ouverture de NEST, le bâtiment modulaire de recherche et d’innovation de l’Empa et de l’Eawag à Dübendorf. NEST permet de tester et de développer de nouvelles technologies ainsi que de nouveaux matériaux et systèmes dans des conditions réelles. L’étroite collaboration entre des partenaires scientifiques et ceux de l'économie et des pouvoirs publics devrait accélérer le processus d’innovation dans le secteur du bâtiment.