The PSI is the largest research centre for natural sciences and engineering in Switzerland.

It carries out top-level research in the fields matter and materials, energy and the environment, and humanity and health. By carrying out fundamental and applied research, the PSI has been working on sustainable solutions for central questions of society, the economy and science since 1988.

It operates large-scale research facilities that are unique in Switzerland – and in some cases in the world – such as the Swiss Spallation Neutron Source, the Swiss Light Source, and the Swiss Muon Source. Each year over 2,500 researchers from Switzerland and all over the world come to perform experiments at the PSI. In addition to its research, the PSI operates the only installation in Switzerland for the treatment of specific types of cancer using protons.

Of the approximately 1,900 staff members of the PSI, 700 are scientists. The education of young persons is a central concern of the PSI: about one quarter of the staff are postdocs, doctoral students or trainees. Schoolchildren, students and professionals are educated and given higher training in the iLab school laboratory or at the PSI training centre.

In 2016 the PSI started operating the next large-scale research installation, the X-ray free electron laser SwissFEL, which allows one to see very short-duration changes in atomic and molecular structures. This will enable researchers to gain insights that are not possible with the currently available methods. The first pilot experiments are planned for 2017.

L'Institut Paul Scherrer (PSI) est le plus grand centre de recherche de Suisse dédié aux sciences naturelles et aux sciences de l’ingénieur.

Il mène une recherche de pointe sur la matière et les matériaux, l’énergie et l’environnement ainsi que l’homme et la santé. Dans le cadre de ses activités de recherche fondamentale et appliquée, il élabore depuis 1988 des solutions durables en réponse à des enjeux de société ainsi qu'à des questionnements économiques et scientifiques.

Le PSI exploite de grandes installations de recherche telles que la Source de neutrons de spallation, la Source de Lumière Synchrotron et la Source de muons, qui sont uniques en Suisse et, pour certaines, uniques au monde. Chaque année, plus de 2500 chercheurs de Suisse et du monde entier viennent réaliser leurs expériences au PSI. De plus, l’établissement dispose de la seule installation de protonthérapie en Suisse capable de traiter certains types de cancer.

Sur les quelque 1900 collaborateurs que compte le PSI, 700 sont des scientifiques. La formation de la relève y occupe une place centrale: environ un quart de ses collaborateurs sont des postdoctorants, des doctorants ou des apprentis. Des écoliers, étudiants et professionnels suivent des formations de base ou des formations continues au laboratoire iLab ou au centre de formation du PSI.

L’année 2016 a vu l’inauguration de la nouvelle grande installation de recherche du PSI: le laser à électrons libres SwissFEL, qui permet d’observer les changements rapides des structures atomiques et moléculaires. Les chercheurs ont ainsi accès à des informations qu’il n’est pas possible d’obtenir avec les méthodes actuellement disponibles. Les premières expériences pilotes sont prévues pour 2017.