The Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research (WSL) investigates changes to the terrestrial environment, and the use and protection of natural habitats and cultural landscapes. It monitors the condition and progress of landscape, forests, biodiversity, natural hazards and snow and ice, and develops sustainable solutions for socially relevant problems – in collaboration with its partners from academia and society.

Of the 500 or more employees in Birmensdorf, Davos, Lausanne, Bellinzona and Sitten, almost half are scientists and more than 60 are doctoral students. The work force also includes about 150 technical staff and 50 administrative staff, 15 trainees, and apprentices. About a quarter of the employees are working at the WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF in Davos.

Natural hazards can cause great damage. Research at WSL is of great benefit in helping to protect the populace from such events in nature. It operates test installations for the investigation of avalanches, rockfalls and debris flows, which are unique in the world. The goal is to better understand these events in order to enable a more effective protection and early warning of such perilous events in nature.

The research programme “Forest and Climate Change”, cosponsored by the Federal Office of the Environment (FOEN), is gaining fundamental knowledge in its findings. This helps the forestry services, farm managers, forest owners and political decision-makers to correctly assess the risks related to climate change, and the capacity of the forests to adjust and adapt, and respond by taking effective measures. The programme is set to be completed in 2017.

L'Institut fédéral de recherche sur la forêt, la neige et le paysage (WSL) étudie les changements de l’environnement terrestre, ainsi que l’utilisation et la protection des habitats naturels et des paysages ruraux. Avec ses partenaires issus des milieux scientifiques et de la société, il surveille l’état et l’évolution du paysage, de la forêt, de la biodiversité, des dangers naturels ainsi que de la neige et de la glace et développe des solutions durables pour répondre à des enjeux de société.

Sur les plus de 500 collaborateurs employés sur les sites de Birmensdorf, Davos, Lausanne, Bellinzone et Sion, presque la moitié sont des scientifiques, dont plus de 60 doctorants. Environ 150 collaborateurs techniques, 50 collaborateurs administratifs, 15 apprentis ainsi que des stagiaires viennent compléter les effectifs. Près d’un quart du personnel du WSL travaille pour l’Institut fédéral pour l’étude de la neige et des avalanches (SLF) à Davos.

Les risques naturels peuvent causer des dégâts importants. Par sa recherche, le WSL contribue significativement à protéger la population en cas de catastrophe. Il exploite des installations d'essais uniques au monde pour étudier les avalanches, les éboulements et les coulées de boue. Son objectif est de mieux comprendre ces phénomènes afin de mettre en place une protection plus adéquate et de pouvoir donner l’alerte assez tôt en cas de danger imminent.

Le programme de recherche «Forêt et changement climatique», mené conjointement avec l’OFEV, permet d'élaborer une base de connaissances fiables grâce auxquelles les services forestiers, les chefs d’exploitation, les propriétaires forestiers et les responsables politiques  sont capables d’évaluer correctement les risques liés aux changements climatiques et d'estimer la capacité d'adaptation des forêts en vue de prendre des mesures d'ajustement. Il est prévu que ce programme s’achève en 2017.