EPFL is the birthplace of the modern computer mouse, as well as ambitious scientific projects and sustainable innovations such as the transparent-dye solar cells, the solar-powered aircraft Solar Impulse, the ultra-fast yacht Hydroptère, and the EU flagship programme the Human Brain Project (HBP).

The prestigious university provides teaching facilities for every study level, from Bachelor’s to Doctorate, and has grown at an impressive rate since it became a federal institution in 1969. Situated on the shores of Lake Geneva, EPFL houses some 16,000 people: over 10,000 students and some 5,800 staff members working in the fields of teaching, research, technology and administration, including more than 320 professors.

The campus with the Rolex Learning Center as its distinguishing feature, unique in the world, provides the most appealing living conditions and the most modern working facilities in the field of teaching and research. People from more than 125 nations meet here every day at what is one of the world’s most international universities. From Master’s degree level upward the language of instruction is mostly in English.

A special concern of EPFL is the promotion of international partnerships, sponsorships and joint projects between academia and industry. The campus also includes the “EPFL Innovation Park”, where around 170 start-ups and research centres of respected companies find a dynamic environment. The institution produces some 15 start-ups each year, in fact 2015 saw the creation of 18, for which more than 110m CHF was invested as venture capital.

L’Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) est le berceau non seulement de la souris informatique telle que nous la connaissons aujourd'hui, mais aussi d’ambitieux projets scientifiques et d’innovations durables, comme les cellules solaires transparentes à colorant, l’avion solaire Solar Impulse, le voilier ultrarapide Hydroptère ou encore le Human Brain Project (HBP), un programme phare de l’UE.

Cette haute école réputée propose des cours pour chaque niveau d’études (du bachelor au doctorat) et connaît une croissance considérable depuis 1969, année où elle est devenue une institution fédérale. Surplombant le lac Léman, l’EPFL accueille quelque 16 000 personnes: plus de 10 000 étudiants et environ 5800 collaborateurs travaillant dans l’enseignement, la recherche, la technique et l’administration, dont plus de 320 professeurs.

Avec le Rolex Learning Center, bâtiment hors du commun et nouvel emblème de l'Ecole, le campus offre des conditions de travail et un environnement des plus attrayants pour l’enseignement et la recherche. L’EPFL est l’une des hautes écoles les plus internationales du monde. Plus de 125 nations s’y côtoient chaque jour, et les cours sont généralement dispensés en anglais à partir du master.

L’une des particularités de l’EPFL est sa volonté d’encourager les partenariats, parrainages et projets communs internationaux associant la science et l’industrie. Le campus abrite également l'EPFL Innovation Park, qui regroupe environ 170 start-up et centres de recherche d’entreprises renommées dans un environnement dynamique. Chaque année, l'Ecole donne naissance à une quinzaine de start-up en moyenne. En 2015, leur nombre a même atteint 18, totalisant un capital-risque de plus de 110 mio CHF.