ETH Zurich is one of the leading technical and scientific universities. It is well-known for its excellent teaching, pioneering fundamental research, and the direct transfer of new findings to real-world applications. The ETH Zurich provides an inspiring environment for researchers, and a comprehensive education for students.

Established in 1855, today the ETH Zurich has nearly 20,000 students and doctoral students from 110 countries. More than 500 professors are currently engaged in teaching and research in the fields of natural science, engineering, architecture, mathematics, system-oriented sciences, and in management studies and the social sciences.

In the international rankings ETH Zurich is regularly identified as one of the world’s best universities, and in 2015 it achieved a top-ten ranking for the first time. 21 Nobel laureates have studied, taught or done their research here. The innovations of the university flow into the most forward-looking sectors, from informatics to micro- and nanotechnology, or high-tech medical equipment. The 90 or so patent applications each year, the 330 spin-off companies that have been set up since 1996, and the more than 800 research contracts with businesses, all go to show how successful ETH Zurich is in transferring its knowledge to the economy and society.

ETH Zurich contributes to the sustainable solution of global challenges. Its specific fields of research focus on energy supply, managing risks, development of cities of the future, world nutrition and the health of human beings.

L’ETH Zurich est une référence mondiale en sciences naturelles et techniques. Elle est connue pour l’excellence de son enseignement, pour la recherche fondamentale exemplaire qui y est pratiquée et pour le transfert direct des nouvelles connaissances dans la pratique. L’ETH Zurich offre un environnement stimulant à ses chercheurs et une formation solide à ses étudiants.

Fondée en 1855, l’ETH Zurich compte aujourd’hui près de 20 000 étudiants et doctorants originaires de 110 pays. Plus de 500 professeurs y travaillent actuellement dans l'enseignement et la recherche en sciences naturelles et en sciences de l’ingénieur, en architecture, en mathématiques, en sciences orientées système ainsi qu’en sciences de la gestion et en sciences sociales.

Régulièrement citée comme l’une des meilleures universités du monde dans les classements internationaux, l’ETH Zurich se place pour la première fois en 2015 parmi les dix premières. 21 lauréats du prix Nobel y ont étudié, enseigné ou mené des recherches. Les innovations de l'Ecole profitent à des domaines d’avenir, tels que l’informatique, les micro- et nanotechnologies ainsi que les équipements médicaux de pointe. Les 90 dépôts de brevets par an, 330 spin-off créées depuis 1996 et plus de 800 coopérations avec des entreprises du monde entier témoignent du succès de l'ETH Zurich dans le transfert de connaissances vers l'économie et la société.

L’ETH Zurich contribue à la résolution durable des enjeux planétaires. Parmi ses grands axes de recherche figurent l’approvisionnement en énergie, la gestion des risques, le développement des villes du futur, l’alimentation mondiale et la santé humaine.