The supercomputing infrastructure at CSCS (Swiss National Supercomputing Centre) in Ticino is sustainably operated as a scientific user laboratory. ETH Zurich is thus continuing to implement the ETH Board’s National Strategic Plan for High-Performance Computing and Networking (HPCN Strategy) at CSCS on behalf of the Swiss Confederation.

Bone implant used in case of osteoporosis. The current supercomputer of the CSCS simulates the mechanical stresses exerted by an implant on the bone tissue and provides knowledge that is used to design new models. (Illustration: Institute of Biomechanics, ETH Zurich)

High-performance computing (HPC) is a new key technology for both science and business. It complements theory and experiment and allows for new approaches to complex research questions. The ETH Board developed the national HPCN Strategy for Switzerland on behalf of the Confederation in 2007. Subsequent to resolutions adopted by the Federal Council and Parliament, the first two stages (2009–2012, 2013–2016) rested on a sound foundation totalling 172.5m CHF. The HPCN Strategy is now already engaged in its third stage, which lasts from 2017–2020.

Third stage (2017–2020): preparation for the exascale era

At the CSCS and in Switzerland, plans are already being drawn up for the coming exascale era, which is expected by 2020. In the future, exascale computers will be capable of billions by billons of calculations per second. In the third, 2017–2020 stage of the HPCN strategy, it is particularly the development and optimisation of codes that is being advanced in order to ensure that future computer architectures can be exploited better while still remaining energy-efficient. 12m CHF is available for this, with 80m CHF expected for the next hardware generation.

Successful implementation of the first two stages

During the first two stages of the HPCN Strategy the CSCS, under the aegis of ETH Zurich, developed an infrastructure which enables scientists to conduct research with the help of computer simulations at the highest level. Since computing power owing to new technologies, and the supercomputers’ energy efficiency, are continually improving on an exponential scale, existing supercomputer infrastructures had to be continually adapted and retrofitted or replaced. For the CSCS User Lab, this entails annual investment costs of approx. 20m CHF. ETH Zurich invests the same amount in operation costs on an annual basis.

In order to be able to use most cost- and energy-efficient computer architectures at any time, investments were made in the renewal of user codes from the very start. To date, an annual 3m CHF has been earmarked for this, with the same amount being contributed by the groups of researchers involved. To begin with, these projects were conducted within the scope of the Swiss Platform for High-Performance and High-Productivity Computing (HP2C). In the summer of 2013, HP2C was replaced by the Platform for Advanced Scientific Computing (PASC), in which the CSCS closely cooperates with hardware manufacturers, researchers, application software developers, mathematicians and IT experts. HP2C and PASC did not only provide the fertile soil for an annual conference which by now is well-known beyond European borders and registers approx. 400 participants; rather, they also and primarily established a network of cooperation ventures both at home and abroad.

International network

In the wake of the HPCN Strategy, Switzerland and the CSCS also established themselves in the international environment of high-performance computing. Since 2007, the CSCS has been a member of PRACE (Partnership for Advanced Computing in Europe), and since late 2016, it has also been a hosting member with its flagship supercomputer, which at present has a top performance of more than 25 petaflops (as at spring 2017). Membership of PRACE provides Swiss researchers with access to various European systems, and researchers from Europe with access to Piz Daint.

L'infrastructure de calcul à haute performance du Centre suisse de calcul scientifique (CSCS) au Tessin est exploitée de manière durable comme laboratoire ouvert aux utilisateurs (User Lab). Par l’intermédiaire du CSCS, l'ETH Zurich poursuit ainsi la stratégie nationale pour le calcul à haute performance et sa mise en réseau (stratégie HPCN) menée par le Conseil des EPF sur mandat de la Confédération.

Implant osseux utilisé en cas d’ostéoporose. L’actuel superordinateur du CSCS simule les contraintes mécaniques exercées par un implant sur le tissu osseux et fournit des connaissances qui servent à la conception de nouveaux modèles. (Illustration: Institut de biomécanique de l’ETH Zurich)

Le calcul à haute performance (High Performance Computing, HPC) est une technologie-clé pour la science et l’économie. Il complète les travaux théoriques et expérimentaux, tout en permettant aux chercheurs d'aborder des questions complexes sous un angle nouveau. Sur mandat de la Confédération, le Conseil des EPF a défini en 2007 la stratégie HPCN pour la Suisse. Sur décision du Conseil fédéral et du Parlement, les deux premières phases (2009–2012, 2013–2016) ont fait l'objet d'un financement important de 172,5 mio CHF en tout. La stratégie HPCN se trouve déjà dans sa troisième phase, qui couvre la période 2017–2020.

Troisième phase (2017–2020): préparation à l'ère de l'exascale

Le CSCS et la Suisse se préparent à entrer d'ici à 2020 dans l'ère de l'exascale. Les calculateurs de classe exascale pourront un jour effectuer des milliards de milliards d'opérations par seconde. La troisième phase (2017-2020) de la stratégie HPCN sera donc principalement consacrée au développement de codes et à leur optimisation, de manière à ce que l'architecture des calculateurs puisse à l'avenir être encore mieux exploitée tout en restant efficace sur le plan énergétique. 12 mio CHF sont à disposition pour cette étape, et 80 mio CHF sont prévus pour la prochaine génération de matériel informatique.

Réalisation des deux premières phases

Au cours des deux premières phases de la stratégie HPCN et sous la supervision de l'ETH Zurich, le CSCS a mis sur pied une infrastructure permettant aux scientifiques de mener des recherches extrêmement poussées en Suisse au moyen de simulations informatiques. Etant donné que la puissance de calcul et l'efficacité énergétique des supercalculateurs s’améliorent de manière continue et exponentielle grâce aux progrès technologiques, les infrastructures existantes de calcul à haute performance ont toujours dû faire l'objet d'adaptations et de mises à niveau/rénovations régulières. Concernant le User Lab, ces ajustements génèrent des coûts d'investissement annuels de près de 20 mio CHF. L’ETH Zurich investit chaque année un montant identique dans les coûts d’exploitation.

Afin de mettre en œuvre l'architecture de calculateur la plus efficace du point de vue des coûts et des besoins énergétiques, des investissements ont été consentis dès le début pour renouveler les codes d'utilisateurs. Jusqu’à présent, 3 mio CHF ont été mobilisés chaque année dans ce but, et ce montant a été doublé par les groupes de chercheurs impliqués. Ces projets ont tout d’abord été réalisés dans le cadre de la Swiss Platform for High-Performance and High-Productivity Computing, HP2C. Durant l'été 2013, HP2C a été remplacée par la Platform for Advanced Scientific Computing (PASC) dans le cadre de laquelle le CSCS travaille étroitement avec des producteurs de matériel informatique, des chercheurs, des développeurs de logiciels d'application, des mathématiciens et des informaticiens. HP2C et PASC n'ont pas seulement donné lieu à une conférence annuelle, qui réunit quelque 400 participants et fait à présent parler d'elle en dehors d'Europe; elles ont avant tout permis de créer un réseau de coopérations qui s’étend au-delà des frontières helvétiques.

Un réseau international

La Suisse, au travers du CSCS, s’est fait sa place sur la scène internationale du calcul à haute performance avec la stratégie HPCN. Le CSCS est membre de l'association européenne PRACE (Partnership for Advanced Computing in Europe) depuis 2007 et hosting member depuis 2016 avec son supercalculateur «Piz Daint», qui atteint un pic de puissance supérieur à 25 pétaflops (état au printemps 2017). La participation à PRACE permet entre autres aux chercheurs suisses d'accéder à divers systèmes européens, mais également aux chercheurs européens de se servir du supercalculateur «Piz Daint».