The best-known service provided by the WSL Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research SLF is its national avalanche bulletin. This information on the snow and hazard situation is published twice a day in winter, and it prevents accidents which would often have fatal consequences.

Anyone planning a skiing trip to one of the peaks in the Swiss Alps will probably consult the avalanche bulletins published by the Institute for Snow and Avalanche Research (SLF) in Davos. Few other documents published in the ETH Domain are consulted as widely by the public as these very detailed warnings about the state of the snow and the risk of avalanches in the mountains between the Engadin valley and the Alps in Valais.

Innovative products for practical applications

The SLF is an interdisciplinary research and service centre that forms part of the research institute WSL. It has around 130 staff. Its fields of interest are snow, the atmosphere, natural hazards, permafrost and mountain ecosystems. The SLF employees are involved in both fundamental and applied research, the aim of which is to develop innovative instruments for the authorities, industry and the public that can be used, for example, to manage the risk of natural hazards or to analyse climate and environmental change.

Serving the public

The SLF also works closely with research scientists to offer a range of services which include avalanche bulletins, advice, expert opinions on accidents involving avalanches, protection against avalanches and the development of warning systems for natural alpine hazards. In addition, the SLF employees teach in the ETH Domain and at various universities in Switzerland and abroad, and they also train safety specialists. The experts at the SLF pass on their expertise to the general public via the media and other communication channels.

Le bulletin d'avalanches est la prestation la plus connue du WSL Institut pour l'étude de la neige et des avalanches SLF. En hiver, il est publié deux fois par jour et permet d'éviter des accidents souvent tragiques.

Consulter le bulletin d'avalanches de l'Institut pour l'étude de la neige et des avalanches (SLF) basé à Davos fait généralement partie des préparatifs en vue d'une randonnée à ski dans les Alpes suisses. Ces informations très détaillées sur l'enneigement et le risque d'avalanches dans les montagnes situées entre l'Engadine et les Alpes valaisannes comptent parmi les publications du Domaine des EPF les plus consultées.

Instruments pratiques efficaces

Rattaché à l’Institut fédéral de recherches sur la forêt, la neige et le paysage WSL, le SLF est un centre de recherche et de prestation interdisciplinairequi emploie près de 130 collaborateurs. Ses activités portent essentiellement sur la neige, l'atmosphère, les risques naturels, les pergélisols et les écosystèmes de montagne. Les collaborateurs du SLF sont actifs dans la recherche tant fondamentale qu'appliquée. L'objectif consiste à développer des instruments efficaces destinés aux autorités, à l'industrie et au grand public, qui peuvent être mis en œuvre notamment pour gérer les risques naturels ou analyser les changements climatiques et environnementaux.

Au service du public

De plus, le SLF propose toute une série de prestations en étroite collaboration avec la recherche: mandats de conseil, expertise pour les accidents d'avalanche et la protection contre les avalanches et développement de systèmes d'alerte pour les dangers naturels alpins. Les collaborateurs du SLF enseignent également au sein du Domaine des EPF ainsi que dans plusieurs universités suisses et étrangères et ils forment des spécialistes de la sécurité. Ils transmettent leur savoir-faire au grand public à travers les médias et d'autres moyens de communication.