The Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) has been developing, constructing and operating complex large-scale research facilities for several decades. The research institute also makes these facilities available to external researchers at universities, research institutes and in industry – for researchers in Switzerland, this is the only opportunity to carry out such experiments in the country.

The PSI, part of the ETH Domain, has large-scale, complex research facilities that allow experiments to be performed in the fields of physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, material science and energy and environmental technology. These facilities include the neutron source SINQ, the Swiss light source SLS and the muon source SµS. They are unique in Switzerland, as they are complicated and expensive to operate. Researchers in a variety of disciplines from universities and other research institutes can obtain decisive findings for their research in experiments using PSI's large-scale facilities, which often lends them a competitive edge. As a user laboratory, the PSI not only offers access to its facilities but also sets great store by providing highly experienced instrument technicians to professionally assist external scientists by precisely adjusting their complex equipment to suit the user's needs.

Beam time in high demand

Around 4,560 working visits were made to the PSI in 2010, 1,141 of which by researchers from Switzerland. In total, approximately 1,755 experiments were carried out. The demand for beam time exceeds the actual time available. For this reason, researchers must submit a proposal, with beam time being allocated to only the best proposals. Most Swiss users come from the ETH Zurich and the University of Zurich, closely followed by the EPFL. PSI’s regular guests also include researchers from the universities in Basel, Berne, Fribourg, Geneva, Lausanne and Neuchâtel. The research arm of the Swiss pharmaceutical industry has financed its own measuring stations at the large-scale facilities, so it visits the PSI just as regularly as other Swiss companies, which prefer to remain unnamed for competitive reasons.

L'Institut Paul Scherrer (PSI) développe, construit et gère de grandes installations de recherche sophistiquées depuis plusieurs décennies. Il les met également à la disposition des chercheurs externes, issus des hautes écoles, d’autres institutions de recherche et de l'industrie. Pour les chercheurs basés en Suisse, il s’agit là de la seule possibilité d’effectuer ce genre d’expériences dans le pays.

Le PSI, qui fait partie du Domaine des EPF, possède de grandes installations de recherche sophistiquées (p. ex. la source de neutrons SINQ, la Source de Lumière Synchrotron Suisse [SLS] et la source de muons SμS) qui permettent aux chercheurs de réaliser des expériences dans les domaines de la physique, de la chimie, de la biologie et de la médecine, dans les sciences des matériaux ainsi que dans les techniques environnementales et énergétiques. Ces installations sont uniques en Suisse, car leur fonctionnement est très complexe et coûteux. Grâce aux expériences effectuées sur ces installations, des chercheurs de différentes disciplines et provenant des hautes écoles ainsi que d'autres institutions de recherche ont la possibilité de réaliser des percées décisives dans leurs travaux et, bien souvent, de bénéficier d'un avantage concurrentiel. En tant que laboratoire utilisateurs, le PSI donne non seulement accès à ses installations, mais propose également des prestations tout aussi précieuses d'encadrement des scientifiques externes par du personnel hautement qualifié, capable d'ajuster avec une grande précision les appareillages complexes du PSI aux besoins des utilisateurs.

Forte demande de temps de mesure

En 2010, le PSI a comptabilisé près de 4560 visites de travail, dont 1141 pour les seuls chercheurs basés en Suisse. Au total, 1755 expériences ont été réalisées. La demande de temps de mesure dépassant le temps à disposition, les chercheurs doivent soumettre une requête au PSI. Seuls les meilleurs dossiers sont retenus. Les utilisateurs suisses proviennent pour la plupart de l'ETH Zurich et de l'Université de Zurich, suivis de près par l'EPFL. Mais les chercheurs des Universités de Bâle, Berne, Fribourg, Genève, Lausanne et Neuchâtel sont aussi des habitués du PSI. L'industrie pharmaceutique suisse a elle aussi financé ses propres postes de mesure dans les grandes installations du PSI et les utilise régulièrement, tout comme d'autres entreprises helvétiques. Ces sociétés préfèrent garder l’anonymat pour des raisons de concurrence.