Whenever the earth moves anywhere in the world, the possibility of an earthquake in Switzerland hits the headlines too. And the headlines are accompanied by a comment from the Swiss Seismological Service (SED) at the ETH Zurich. The SED monitors seismic activity throughout the country and formulates preventive measures.

The SED is the federal agency specialising in earthquakes. It monitors seismic activity throughout Switzerland and carries out studies of the country’s earthquake risk. SED’s activities are integrated into the federal package of measures designed to reduce potential damage associated with an earthquake in Switzerland.

 

Highly sensitive measuring network

The SED monitors seismic activity in Switzerland and neighbouring areas using a digital high-sensitivity system (SDSNet). The seismometers are extremely sensitive and are thus positioned in remote areas on solid rock. All seismic signals are transmitted continuously to the SED data centre in Zurich, where the data is evaluated automatically, and manually if needed, and is then archived. Some 700 gigabytes of data are stored every year.

In addition to the high-sensitivity SDSNet, the Seismological Service also uses a national network of instruments that monitor strong motion. This equipment is capable of recording undistorted signals even during very powerful quakes. The instruments are distributed in Switzerland's seismically active regions, with special emphasis on high-risk areas such as Valais, Basel and the larger agglomerations. Strong-motion measuring stations have also been installed in the dams of some of Switzerland’s larger reservoirs in collaboration with the Federal Office of Energy and the operators of large hydroelectric power stations.

Services for industry and the public

The SED provides a number of further services for industry and public institutions in relation, for example, to geothermal energy projects and the assessment of seismic risk for the cantonal and communal structure plans. The specialists at The SED are always pleased to answer questions from the public and the media. The SED also pursues its own activities designed to increase awareness of the risk of earthquakes in Switzerland and of the need for preparedness.

Le risque de séisme fait la une en Suisse quand la terre tremble à l’autre bout du monde. Le Service sismologique suisse (SED) de l'ETH Zurich, qui surveille les activités sismiques dans le pays et définit les mesures de prévention, est alors amené à s'exprimer.

Le SED est le service spécialisé de la Confédération en matière de tremblements de terre. Il est chargé d'observer et d'étudier les mouvements et les risques sismiques en Suisse. Ses activités sont intégrées dans le programme fédéral pour la réduction du risque sismique dans le pays.

Réseau de mesure ultrasensible

Le SED utilise un réseau d'instruments de mesure numériques extrêmement sensibles (Swiss Digital Seismic Network, SDSNet) afin de surveiller l'activité sismique en Suisse et dans les zones frontalières. Ces sismomètres sont placés sur des rochers solides, dans des endroits reculés. Les signaux sismiques sont transmis en continu au centre de données du SED à Zurich, où les informations sont évaluées automatiquement, et si nécessaire manuellement, puis archivées. Environ 700 gigaoctets de données sont stockés chaque année.

En plus du SDSNet extrêmement sensible, le service sismologique entretient un réseau national d'instruments de mesure pour les forts tremblements de terre. Ces appareils, des accéléromètres, sont capables d'enregistrer des signaux de bonne qualité même lors de tremblements de terre puissants. Ils sont répartis dans les régions sismiquement actives de Suisse, en particulier dans celles à hauts risques, telles que le Valais ou Bâle, et dans les très grandes agglomérations. Des accéléromètres sont également installés sur certains grands barrages suisses, en collaboration avec l'Office fédéral de l'énergie et les exploitants des principales centrales hydrauliques.

Prestations pour l'industrie et le grand public

Le SED propose différentes prestations à l'industrie et aux établissements publics, notamment dans le cadre de projets de géothermie ou pour évaluer l'aléa sismique lors de la planification directrice des cantons et des communes. Ses spécialistes répondent volontiers aux questions de la population et des médias. En outre, le SED essaie de sensibiliser le public au risque sismique et à sa prévention afin que celle-ci soit renforcée en Suisse.