As the strategic governing body, the ETH Board monitors the attainment of the institutions’ agreed strategic objectives. It supervises the ETH Domain. It condenses the results of its supervision activities in its annual report.

Internal Audit

The ETH Board has an Internal Audit department, which conducts internal auditing of the ETH Domain’s institutions. Internal Audit is oriented towards value creation and improvement of operating activities. In the course of its independent, objective activities, the Internal Audit department supports the institutions in achieving their objectives by using a systematic, recognised method to assess and to help improve the effectiveness of risk management, internal control and monitoring systems, as well as of governance processes. The criteria it applies in its supervisory activities are: compliance, lawfulness, cost-effectiveness and efficacy. In addition to the requirements of the federal government, the Internal Audit department is also bound by the standards of the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA), an international professional association.

The Internal Audit department carries out its tasks autonomously and independently. It reports to the President of the ETH Board for administrative purposes and to the Audit Committee of the ETH Board for functional purposes.

Risk management

In keeping with the autonomous status of the six institutions set out in the ETH Law as the basis for performance in teaching, research, and knowledge and technology transfer (KTT), each institution is responsible for managing the risks which arise in their respective fields themselves. Thus, the Presidents of the two Federal Institutes of Technology and the Directors of the four research institutes bear ultimate responsibility for risk management in their respective institutions.

In their annual reports, the institutions inform the ETH Board about their core risks, particularly regarding the quantity, scope and potential consequences of these risks. In addition, the institutions are obliged to notify the ETH Board (in a direct and timely manner) of any unusual risk changes or unusual events resulting in loss or damage. Once a year, the ETH Domain’s risk maps are submitted to the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research.

Appeals authority

The ETH Domain has an Appeals Commission, i.e. a first-instance special administrative court, which rules on appeals against decisions made by organs of the ETH Domain. Appeals predominantly concern personnel and university legislation. The rulings of the ETH Appeals Commission can be appealed against before the Swiss Federal Administrative Court.

The commission is an independent judicial authority with seven members, who are elected by the ETH Board. Its office is in Berne.

En tant qu’organe de direction stratégique, le Conseil des EPF contrôle l’atteinte des objectifs stratégiques convenus avec les institutions. Il exerce la surveillance du Domaine des EPF et consigne les résultats de son travail en la matière dans son rapport d’activité ainsi que dans son rapport final présenté à la fin de la période de quatre ans correspondant au mandat de prestations. De plus, le Conseil des EPF est informé constamment des risques-clés encourus par les institutions du Domaine des EPF.

Audit interne

Le Conseil des EPF dispose d’un audit interne chargé de la révision interne des institutions du Domaine des EPF. La révision interne est ciblée sur la plus-value et l’amélioration de l’exploitation. Dans le contexte de son activité indépendante et objective, l’audit interne soutient les institution dans l’atteinte de leurs objectifs. Dans ce but, il évalue l’effectivité de la gestion des risques, les systèmes de direction et de contrôle ainsi que les processus de gouvernance et aide à leur développement en appliquant des processus systématiques et reconnus. Les critères de son activité de surveillance sont la régularité, la légalité, la rentabilité et l’efficacité. En plus des exigences de la Confédération, s’appliquent en particulier aussi à l’audit interne les standards de l’Association professionnelle internationale des auditeurs internes (Institute of Internal Auditors, IIA).

L’audit interne remplit ses tâches de manière autonome et indépendante. Du point de vue administratif, il dépend du président du Conseil des EPF et du point de vue fonctionnel, il est rattaché au comité d’audit du Conseil des EPF.

Gestion des risques

Comme l’exige l’autonomie des six institutions sur laquelle la Loi sur les EPF fonde le travail d’enseignement, de recherche ainsi que le transfert de savoir et de technologie (TST), le management et la gestion des risques encourus incombent à chacune des institutions dans leurs domaines respectifs. Les présidents des deux EPF ou les directrices et directeurs des quatre établissements de recherche assument la responsabilité suprême de la gestion des risques dans leur propre institution.

Dans le contexte de leur remise du rapport annuel, les institutions du Conseil des EPF fournissent des informations relatives aux principaux risques, en particulier à ceux qui se rapportent à l’existence, à l’étendue et aux conséquences financières des risques potentiels. De plus, elles ont le devoir, immédiatement et dans les délais voulus, de porter à la connaissance du Conseil des EPF d’éventuelles modifications extraordinaires des risques ou des événements dommageables qui seraient survenus. Les catalogues de risques du Domaine des EPF sont communiqués une fois par an au Département fédéral de l’intérieur.

Instance de recours

Le Domaine des EPF dispose d’une commission de recours qui, en tant que tribunal administratif spécial, statue en première instance sur les recours contre les décisions des organes du Domaine des EPF. Les recours concernent principalement le droit du personnel et des écoles polytechniques. Les décisions de la Commission de recours interne des EPF peuvent être portées en appel devant le Tribunal administratif fédéral.

La Commission de recours interne des EPF est une autorité judiciaire indépendante comportant sept membres élus par le Conseil des EPF. Son siège est à Berne.