The ETH Board’s core tasks concern longer-term financial and investment planning, the allocation of the funds approved by the Federal Parliament to the two Federal Institutes of Technology and the four research institutes, the terms of reference for the budgets, as well as the preparation of the consolidated budget and the consolidated accounts of the ETH Domain.

Financial and investment planning

In the context of strategic planning, the ETH Board establishes the finances required for the implementation of strategic objectives and projects. The ETH Board is involved in drawing up the Federal Council’s strategic objectives for the ETH Domain (“performance mandate“ until 2016), during which process the two Federal Institutes of Technology and the research institutes are consulted. On the basis of the rolling budgeting process and the financial planning of the Confederation, the Federal Council’s strategic objectives for the ETH Domain and the budgetary framework (including the annual tranches) – and with due consideration of the instructions of the Federal Council, the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) and the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER) – the ETH Board annually submits the budget and finance plan figures to the EAER.

Allocation of funding and terms of reference for the budgets

Based on the terms of reference provided by the Federal Council’s strategic objectives and the budgetary framework, the ETH Board concludes four-year target agreements with the two Federal Institutes of Technology and the four research institutes and allocates federal resources. In particular, it bases its decisions on the budget requests submitted by the two Federal Institutes of Technology and the four research institutes. Annual allocation of funding must be in keeping with the payment appropriations approved by the Federal Parliament.

Taking into account the planned expenses and investments for real estate, the ETH Board initiates the annual budget process with budgeting instructions. The instructions provide the two Federal Institutes of Technology and the four research institutes with the material and formal framework within which they have to draw up their budgets, i.e. their profit and loss accounts, as well as investment and cash flow statements.

Budget and accounts

The ETH Board draws up an annual consolidated budget and annual consolidated accounts with a balance sheet and profit and loss account for the ETH Domain in accordance with IPSAS.

The ETH Board submits a request concerning budget and accounts to the EAER for the attention of the Federal Council.

The Federal Finance Administration and the ETH Domain conclude a treasury agreement. The ETH Domain’s payment transactions are effected through accounts with financial institutions under private or public law.

La planification financière et la planification des investissements à plus long terme, l'allocation des fonds approuvés par les Chambres fédérales aux deux EPF et aux quatre établissements de recherche, l’instauration de directives budgétaires ainsi que l’élaboration du budget consolidé et des comptes consolidés du Domaine des EPF constituent les principales missions du Conseil des EPF.

Planification financière et planification des investissements

Le Conseil des EPF calcule le montant des crédits nécessaires à la mise en œuvre des objectifs et des projets stratégiques dans le cadre de l’élaboration de son Plan stratégique. La participation du  Conseil des EPF ainsi que la consultation des deux EPF et des quatre établissements de recherche est requise lors de la préparation des objectifs stratégiques (jusqu'en 2016: mandat de prestations) assignés par le Conseil fédéral au Domaine des EPF. Chaque année, le Conseil des EPF fournit au Département fédéral de l’économie, de la formation et de la recherche (DEFR) les chiffres relatifs au budget et au plan financier, qui sont établis sur la base de la budgétisation et de la planification financière en continu de la Confédération, ainsi qu'en fonction des objectifs stratégiques assignés par le Conseil fédéral au Domaine des EPF et de l’enveloppe budgétaire (tranches annuelles comprises), dans le respect des directives du Conseil fédéral, du Département fédéral des finances (DFF) et du DEFR.

Allocation des ressources et directives budgétaires

Le Conseil des EPF passe avec les deux EPF et les quatre établissements de recherche des conventions d’objectifs d’une durée de quatre ans, qui sont fonction des objectifs stratégiques et de l’enveloppe budgétaire; il répartit les fonds accordés par la Confédération en se fondant notamment sur les demandes de crédits émanant des deux EPF et des quatre établissements de recherche. L’allocation annuelle des ressources doit s'aligner sur les crédits de paiement approuvés par les Chambres fédérales.

Le Conseil des EPF lance le processus annuel d’établissement du budget en s’appuyant sur les directives budgétaires, tout en tenant compte des dépenses et des investissements prévus dans le secteur immobilier. Ces directives fournissent aux deux EPF et aux quatre établissements de recherche le cadre matériel et formel nécessaire à l’élaboration de leur budget (compte de résultats, compte des investissements et tableau de financement).

Budget et comptes

Le Conseil des EPF établit le budget annuel consolidé ainsi que les comptes annuels consolidés du Domaine des EPF (avec bilan et compte de résultats) conformément aux normes IPSAS.

Le Conseil des EPF soumet la proposition de budget et les comptes au DEFR, qui les transmet au Conseil fédéral.

L’Administration fédérale des finances et le Domaine des EPF concluent une convention de trésorerie. Le trafic des paiements du Domaine des EPF se fait par l’intermédiaire de comptes ouverts auprès d’instituts financiers de droit public ou privé.