The ETH Board can issue ordinances, directives and guidelines, or applications for legislative amendments. It also issues statements on legal implementation by the Confederation and the institutions of the ETH Domain.

Legal implementation

The ETH Act defines the status, structure and mission of the ETH Domain. The open rules it defines contribute greatly to the ability of the ETH Domain’s institutions to keep pace with technical and scientific developments and with international competition.

The ETH Act grants autonomy to the ETH Domain on the one hand and to the two Federal Institutes of Technology and the four research institutes on the other hand. Within the framework of the ETH Act, the ETH Domain regulates its affairs independently. The two Federal Institutes of Technology and the four research institutes assume the responsibilities which are not explicitly assigned to the ETH Board.

Ordinances and directives

The ETH Board enacts ordinances specifically based on precise authorisations within the ETH Act, in the Framework Ordinance regarding the Federal Act on the Personnel of the Swiss Confederation, and in the Ordinance on Real Estate Management and Federal Logistics. Examples include: the Fees Ordinance, the Personnel Ordinance and the Real Estate Ordinance for the ETH Domain.

In addition, the ETH Board also enacts directives and guidelines, e.g. regulations on the management of third-party funding (investment guidelines) and ETH Board directives on risk management at the Federal Institutes of Technology and research institutes.

Applications for legislative amendments

Due to the constantly changing framework conditions in the education system and the rapid technical progress in research, it is continually necessary to amend federal acts and/or ordinances. If such requirements are identified for the ETH Domain, the ETH Board submits corresponding applications to the relevant offices of its own accord.

Statements on legal implementation by the Confederation and the institutions of the ETH Domain

Within the framework of office consultations, the ETH Board is regularly invited to issue statements on legal implementation by the Confederation. These statements enable the ETH Board to systematically incorporate the ETH Domain’s requirements into the legislative procedure and protect the interests of the institutions.

Likewise, the ETH Board is invited to issue statements regarding legal implementation on the part of the ETH Domain’s institutions.

Le Conseil des EPF peut promulguer des ordonnances, des directives et des règlements ou soumettre des propositions de modifications législatives. De plus, il prend position concernant la législation de la Confédération et des institutions du Domaine des EPF.

Législation

La Loi sur les EPF définit la position, la structure et les tâches du Domaine des EPF. Cette réglementation ouverte est un facteur essentiel qui permet aux institutions du Domaine des EPF de suivre les développements techniques et scientifiques et de faire face à la concurrence internationale.

La Loi sur les EPF confère l’autonomie au Domaine des EPF, d’une part, et aux EPF ainsi qu’aux établissements de recherche, d’autre part. Le Domaine des EPF règle lui-même ses propres affaires dans le cadre de la Loi sur les EPF. Les responsabilités qui ne sont pas expressément confiées au Conseil des EPF sont assumées par les EPF et les établissements de recherche.

Ordonnances et instructions

Le Conseil des EPF édicte des ordonnances fondées notamment sur les autorisations concrètes de la Loi sur les EPF, de l’Ordonnance-cadre relative à la loi sur le personnel de la Confédération et de l’Ordonnance concernant la gestion de l’immobilier et la logistique de la Confédération. Par exemple: Ordonnance sur les émoluments, Ordonnance sur le personnel ou Ordonnance immobilière du domaine des EPF.

De plus, le Conseil des EPF édicte aussi des instructions et des directives s’appliquant notamment à la gestion de fonds de tiers (directives de placement) ou des directives concernant la gestion des risques des EPF et des établissements de recherche.

Proposition d’adaptation de lois

Sur la base de la constante évolution des conditions cadres pour la formation ainsi que de l’essor rapide du progrès technique en matière de recherche, une adaptation continuelle des lois fédérales et/ou des ordonnances fédérales s’impose. Lorsque de tels besoins sont identifiés pour le Domaine des EPF, le Conseil des EPF soumet des propositions correspondantes aux services responsables.

Prises de position relatives à la législation de la Confédération et des institutions du Domaine des EPF

Dans le contexte des procédures de consultation, le Conseil des EPF est régulièrement invité à des prises de position relatives à la législation de la Confédération. Ces prises de position permettent au Conseil des EPF de faire communiquer de manière ciblée les besoins du Domaine des EPF lors des procédures législatives, donc de préserver les intérêts des institutions.

Le Conseil des EPF est également invité à prendre position en matière de législation des institutions du Domaine des EPF.