The ETH Board is responsible for the ETH Domain’s strategic planning. It compiles this four-year strategy for submission to the Confederation, from which the Federal Council’s strategic objectives for the ETH Domain (formerly known as “performance mandate“) are derived. The basis for this is provided by the Dispatch on the Promotion of Education, Research and Innovation (ERI Dispatch).

In the ERI Dispatch, the Federal Council formulates the guidelines, objectives and measures of its policy on education and science for a four-year period. In order to fulfil the set objectives, the corresponding funding is also addressed.

The State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) oversees the preparation of the ERI Dispatch; the domains which it affects (ETH Domain, universities, universities of applied sciences, the Swiss National Science Foundation, the Commission for Technology and Innovation, etc.) are closely involved in its preparation (cf. State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation). Here, the ETH Board incorporates the strategic planning for the ETH Domain.

The Federal Council's strategic objectives for the ETH Domain

In the ERI Dispatch, the Federal Council defines strategic objectives (which were referred to until 2016 as the “performance mandate“) for the ETH Domain for four years at a time. In addition, the Federal Parliament approves a budgetary framework for the ETH Domain’s operations and investments. On this basis, the ETH Board directs ETH Zurich, EPFL and the four research institutes PSI, WSL, Empa and Eawag. It enters into a target agreement with each institution.

Federal budgetary framework for the ETH Domain 2017–2020

In the 2017–2020 performance period, the budgetary framework approved by the Federal Assembly for the ETH Domain amounts to CHF 10,337.7 m.

Federal objectives for the ETH Domain as per the 2017–2020 strategic objectives

The Federal Council’s strategic objectives for the ETH Domain for the 2017–2020 period build on the previous “performance mandates” (as they were referred to until 2016) and the experience gained from them. The most significant challenges for the ETH Domain are rising student numbers, withstanding global competition and the possibility of taking part without restrictions in international cooperation projects plus the funding, operation and further development of research infrastructure.

In the 2017–2020 performance period, the ETH Board will be pursuing the following objectives (among others) requested by the Federal Council and approved by the Federal Parliament, for the performance of its core tasks of teaching, research and knowledge and technology transfer (KTT):

  • The ETH Domain provides research-based teaching which is top-class and attractive for students in an international comparison. It will further extend its globally leading position in research and define focal points in specific areas.
  • It operates and develops large-scale research facilities of national and international significance.
  • It promotes the transfer of its findings and competencies to society and to the economy. The ETH Domain is continuing to expand its position as a key academic partner to companies and public administration. It is actively involved in the continuing design and implementation of the Swiss innovation park strategy.
  • It is actively involved in structuring the “higher education area Switzerland“ project and is further expanding cooperation and networking with the world’s leading institutions, thus strengthening its international reputation.
  • The ETH Domain creates working conditions which are attractive and family-friendly in an international comparison, promotes equality of opportunity and fosters the next generation of scientists.

Furthermore, the Federal Council and parliament have instructed the ETH Board to coordinate the management of land and buildings and to ensure the preservation of their value and utility, to extend the ETH Domain’s funding basis and to allocate the resources to the institutions with due regard to its strategic objectives, to academic performance and to the load factors arising for the institutions on account of their core tasks. The ETH Board, together with the ETH Domain institutions, has also defined four strategic focus areas for research: Advanced Manufacturing, Personalised health and related technologies, Data sciences and Energy.

Le Conseil des EPF est responsable de la planification stratégique du Domaine des EPF. Il élabore sa stratégie quadriennale à l’intention de la Confédération, qui rédige sur ces bases les objectifs stratégiques (anciennement mandat de prestations) assignés par le Conseil fédéral au Domaine des EPF. Le Message relatif à l’encouragement de la formation, de la recherche et de l’innovation sert de référence pour le contenu.

Dans son Message relatif à l’encouragement de la formation, de la recherche et de l’innovation (Message FRI), le Conseil fédéral formule les lignes directrices, les objectifs et les mesures de sa politique de formation et de sa politique scientifique pour quatre ans. Des fonds sont ensuite alloués pour atteindre les objectifs fixés.

Le Message FRI est élaboré sous la conduite du Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation (SEFRI). Les principaux intéressés (Domaine des EPF, universités, hautes écoles spécialisées, Fonds national suisse, Commission pour la technologie et l’innovation, etc.) sont largement impliqués dans le processus (cf. Secrétariat d'Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l'innovation). Le Conseil des EPF y contribue au travers de son Plan stratégique pour le Domaine des EPF.

Objectifs stratégiques assignés par le Conseil fédéral au Domaine des EPF

Le Conseil fédéral assigne un Mandat de prestations de quatre ans au Domaine des EPF dans le cadre du Message FRI. Le Parlement approuve l’enveloppe budgétaire nécessaire à l’exploitation et aux investissements du Domaine des EPF. Le Conseil des EPF assume la conduite des deux EPF (ETH Zurich et EPFL) et des quatre établissements de recherche (PSI, WSL, Empa et Eawag) sur la base de ces décisions et passe une convention d’objectifs avec chacune de ces institutions.

Enveloppe budgétaire 2017–2020 de la Confédération pour le Domaine des EPF

L’enveloppe budgétaire accordée par l'Assemblée fédérale au Domaine des EPF pour la période de prestations 2017–2020 est de 10 337,7 millions de francs.

Objectifs fixés par la Confédération pour le Domaine des EPF selon les objectifs stratégiques 2017–2020

Les objectifs stratégiques assignés par le Conseil fédéral au Domaine des EPF pour les années 2017 à 2020 s’appuient sur les constats effectués lors des mandats de prestations précédents (appellation utilisée jusqu'en 2016). Pour le Domaine des EPF, les principaux enjeux sont l’augmentation du nombre d’étudiants, le positionnement par rapport à la concurrence internationale, la possibilité de participer sans restriction aux coopérations internationales ainsi que le financement, l'exploitation et le développement des infrastructures de recherche.

Pour la période 2017–2020, le Conseil des EPF vise entre autres les objectifs de formation, de recherche et de transfert de savoir et de technologie (TST) suivants, proposés par le Conseil fédéral et approuvés par le Parlement:

  • En comparaison internationale, le Domaine des EPF propose un enseignement de premier ordre, axé sur la recherche et attrayant pour les étudiants. Il continue de consolider sa position de leader dans la recherche internationale et définit de grands axes thématiques.
  • Il gère et développe de grandes infrastructures de recherche d'importance nationale et internationale.
  • Il favorise le transfert de ses connaissances et compétences dans la société et l’économie et continue à consolider sa position de partenaire universitaire important des entreprises et de l'administration publique. Il participe activement à la poursuite de la conception et de la mise en œuvre de la stratégie pour le Parc suisse d’innovation.
  • Le Domaine des EPF participe activement à la conception de l’espace suisse des hautes écoles, étend sa coopération et son réseau avec les meilleures institutions du monde et renforce son rayonnement international.
  • Il favorise des conditions de travail favorables aux familles et attrayantes sur le plan international, veille à l’égalité des chances et encourage la relève scientifique.

Le Conseil fédéral et le Parlement ont en outre mandaté le Conseil des EPF pour coordonner l’exploitation des terrains et des immeubles et veiller au maintien de leur valeur et de leur fonction, développer les bases de financement du Domaine des EPF et allouer les fonds aux institutions en fonction de ses objectifs stratégiques, des prestations académiques et des charges financières inhérentes aux activités de base des institutions. De plus, le Conseil des EPF a fixé avec les institutions du Domaine des EPF quatre grands axes stratégiques de recherche: Systèmes de fabrication de pointe (Advanced Manufacturing), Médecine personnalisée et technologies associées, Science des données et Energie.