ETH Domain

Switzerland as a global player

For the third time, ETH Zurich exhibited at the WEF with its own pavilion in Davos. The ETH Board and the institutions of the ETH Domain invited delegates to events on cutting-edge research in Switzerland. The networking events brought together national and international scientists, policy-makers and the business community.

Switzerland as a global player

Federal Councillor Guy Parmelin with the Presidents and the Directors of the institutions of the ETH Domain. Photo: Markus Mallaun

ETH Zurich: Fields Medal 2018

Profile of Alessio Figalli

He won it. The most prestigious prize in mathematics in the world, the Fields Medal. And this has turned Figalli, a professor in mathematics at ETH Zurich, into a role model. Twice as many young people enrolled to study mathematics in his native city of Rome in Italy in autumn 2018. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Profile of Alessio Figalli

EPFL: 2018 Latsis Preis

Winner Andrea Ablasser

Andrea Ablasser, assistant professor at EPFL, was awarded the 2018 National Latsis Prize for her ground-breaking research on innate immunity. Photo: EPFL

Winner Andrea Ablasser

WSL

Mounting extremes

In an interview, WSL experts Andreas Rigling and Manfred Stähli explain what effect dry summers like the one in 2018 will have on nature in Switzerland. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Mounting extremes

Empa

Actuators instead of motors

CTsystems, a spin-off company from Empa, has already unveiled the first prototype of electromechanical polymer converters in a stacked configuration: as an actuator, it converts electrical energy into mechanical work with an “integrated” sensor function. Thanks to the collaboration with the Swiss specialist Dätwyler, the degree of industrial production reached a new level. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Actuators instead of motors

PSI

Successful expansion of research infrastructure

The ETH Domain maintains numerous research infrastructures such as the research and innovation building NEST or the neutron source SINQ, which is at the disposal of national and international researchers. The latter is currently being refurbished and will then be the source with the best lens in the world. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Successful expansion of research infrastructure

Eawag

The wastewater goldmine

Millions of people around the world have no access to sanitation that offers a “clean” solution. Therefore, Eawag is researching technical possibilities for treating wastewater and recovering resources from it. Photo: Basil Stücheli

The wastewater goldmine

EPFL

Disappearing glaciers and ecosystems

A team of researchers from EPFL is planning a major expedition to around 200 glaciers around the world to gain a better understanding of microbial life in those disappearing ecosystems. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Disappearing glaciers and ecosystems

Domaine des EPF

La Suisse sur la scène internationale

Pour la troisième fois déjà, l’ETH Zurich a participé au WEF de Davos avec son propre pavillon. Le Conseil des EPF et les institutions du Domaine des EPF y ont organisé des rencontres sur le thème de la recherche de pointe en Suisse, réunissant acteurs scientifiques, politiques et économiques helvétiques et étrangers.

WEF 2019

Le conseiller fédéral Guy Parmelin avec les présidents, la directrice et les directeurs des institutions du Domaine des EPF . Photo: Markus Mallaun

ETH Zurich: médaille Fields 2018

Portrait d'Alessio Figalli

A. Figalli, professeur de mathématiques à l’ETH Zurich, l’a gagnée. La plus prestigieuse récompense en mathématiques au monde: la médaille Fields. Elle a fait de lui un exemple à suivre. Même dans sa ville d’origine, Rome, où à l’automne 2018 le nombre d’inscriptions en études de mathématiques a doublé. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Alessio Figalli

EPFL: Prix Latsis 2018

Andrea Ablasser récompensée

Pour ses travaux de recherche particulièrement innovants sur l’immunité innée, Andrea Ablasser, professeure assistante à l’EPFL, a reçu le Prix Latsis national 2018. Photo: EPFL

Andrea Ablasser

WSL

Les situations extrêmes se multiplient

Dans cet entretien, les experts du WSL Andreas Rigling et Manfred Stähli expliquent les implications qu’au-ront les étés secs comme celui de 2018 sur la nature en Suisse. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Les experts du WSL

Empa

Des actionneurs à la place de moteurs

CTsystems, spin-off de l’Empa, a présenté le premier prototype de transformateur polymérique électro-mécanique par empilement, qui change l’énergie électrique en travail mécanique en intégrant une fonction de capteur. Grâce à la collaboration avec le spécialiste suisse Dätwyler, le niveau de la production industrielle a atteint un nouveau palier. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Spins-off de l'Empa

PSI

Développement réussi des infrastructures de recherche

Le Domaine des EPF entretient de nombreuses infra-structures de recherche qu’il met à la disposition des scientifiques nationaux et internationaux, comme le bâtiment de recherche et d’innovation NEST ou la Source de neutrons a spallation SINQ. Actuellement en travaux, cette dernière disposera ensuite de la meilleure optique au monde. Photo: Basil Stücheli

SINQ

Eawag

Les eaux usées, une mine d’or

Dans le monde, des millions de personnes n’ont pas accès à des installations sanitaires offrant une solution «propre». C’est pourquoi l’Eawag recherche des moyens techniques pour traiter les eaux usées et récupérer leurs ressources. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Eawag

EPFL

Glaciers et écosystèmes en voie de disparition

Pour mieux comprendre la vie microbienne au sein de ces écosystèmes menacés, une équipe de l’EPFL prépare une grande expédition qui la conduira vers quelque 200 glaciers à travers le monde. Photo: Basil Stücheli

EPFL