ETH Board, 15 July 2016

At its annual retreat of 13/14 July 2016, the ETH Board discussed the 2017–2020 development plan of the institutions of the ETH Domain in detail. In addition, it looked into the possible impact of Brexit on research cooperation with the UK and the EU. The ETH Board regards it as clear that closer cooperation with British universities cannot replace participation in Horizon 2020. It therefore continues to insist that the Confederation should soon find a solution with the EU. Above and beyond this, the ETH Board appointed 14 professors and awarded the title of professor to one individual.

The ETH Board approves the ETH Domain’s development plans and monitors their implementation. This is enshrined in the ETH Act. At its annual retreat of 13/14 July, the ETH Board discussed the key points of the 2017–2020 development plans of the institutions of the ETH Domain, as well as their overall spatial and financial concept (OSFC), in great detail. The development plans indicate the focal strategic points in teaching, research and knowledge and technology transfer (KTT). They are attuned to the ETH Board’s Strategic Planning for 2017–2020 and the 2017–2020 ERI Dispatch. The institutions of the ETH Domain will now review their development plans and OSFC and submit them to the ETH Board for approval at one of its next meetings. On the occasion of its annual retreat, the ETH Board also took an on-site look at the master plan of the university quarter in the centre of Zurich.

Horizon 2020: the door is closing

“Closer cooperation between Swiss and British universities cannot replace cooperation within the framework of Horizon 2020,” says Fritz Schiesser, President of the ETH Board. “There is no other international research programme of such a high standard anywhere else in the world.” If Switzerland were excluded from it, it would lose an important access channel to knowledge and innovation. This will not only create disadvantages for the universities but also for Swiss SMEs and Swiss industry. ETH Zurich and EPFL alone cooperate with no fewer than 1000 industrial partners in connection with the 7th European Framework Programme for Research. In addition, every fifth franc which Switzerland is granted goes into the economy. The ETH Board therefore urgently calls on the Federal Council and on Parliament to ensure that Switzerland will be able to participate in Horizon 2020 to the full extent as quickly as possible.

Departure of André Schneider, Vice-President of EPFL

The ETH Board thanked Dr André Schneider, EPFL Vice-President for Resources and Infrastructure (VPRI), for this great commitment to EPFL and the ETH Domain. André Schneider, who has been VPRI at EPFL since June 2013, will take on the position of CEO of Geneva Airport as from 1 September 2016. During his time as Vice-President, EPFL has been able to reinforce its central services and continue to implement important infrastructural projects, including the SwissTech Convention Center with its shopping arcade, as well as the ArtLab Pavilions, which will be inaugurated in November. Furthermore, André Schneider was actively committed to the further implementation of a sustainable development of the campus.

His present deputy, Dr Etienne Marclay, has been appointed interim VPRI until 31 December 2016.

 

14 professors appointed at ETH Zurich and EPFL

Upon application of the President of ETH Zurich, Professor Lino Guzzella, and the President of EPFL, Professor Patrick Aebischer, the ETH Board appointed a total of 14 professors and awarded the title of professor to one individual.

Appointments at ETH Zurich

Dr Daniel Farinotti (*1982), currently a senior scientific staff member at WSL in Birmensdorf, as Tenure Track Assistant Professor of Glaciology. Daniel Farinotti addresses questions at the interface of climate science, hydrology and glaciology and has developed an internationally visible portfolio in the field of hydrology of the mountain cryosphere. In the coming years, his principal focus will be on researching the future development of ice deposits in the mountains and, increasingly, long-term hydro-glaciological forecasts. Daniel Farinotti will head a glaciology group at ETH Zurich and WSL, further strengthening the leading international position of both institutions in this field.

Professor Reto Knutti (*1973), currently Associate Professor at ETH Zurich, as Full Professor of Climate Physics. Reto Knutti is a world-renowned scientist. His research focuses on changes in the global climate system caused by rising emissions of greenhouse gases such as CO2, employing numerical models of varying complexity. His work plays a key role in improving our understanding of the uncertainty of climate forecasts, notably for the climate reports of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC/UNEP). Since 2015 he has been the sustainability delegate of the President of ETH Zurich. By appointing Reto Knutti as a Full Professor, ETH Zurich keeps a very successful researcher and a committed and popular lecturer.

Professor Marloes H. Maathuis (*1978), currently Associate Professor at ETH Zurich, as Full Professor of Statistics. Marloes Maathuis is a very creative scientist and a leader in her field. Her work covers causal inference, algorithms and methods for high-dimensional thin-layer graphic models and interdisciplinary applications at the interface between biology, epidemiology and statistics. Her contributions on causal inference in particular are considered pioneering and have opened up fundamental new possibilities in this field. By appointing Marloes Maathuis as a Full Professor, ETH Zurich is securing an excellent scientist who is engaged in mathematical and interdisciplinary research at the highest level and also drives forward knowledge transfer.

Dr Jeremy Richardson (*1986), currently Junior Research Fellow at Durham University, UK, as Tenure Track Assistant Professor of Theoretical Molecular Quantum Dynamics. Jeremy Richardson's research focuses on the theoretical description of the quantum dynamic processes of complex systems. Among other things, his results facilitate investigation of processes that are of central importance in chemistry such as proton and electron transmission in large molecular complexes and the condensed phase. By appointing Jeremy Richardson, ETH Zurich is gaining a highly original theoretical chemist who will continue the successful tradition of the Chemistry and Applied Biosciences Department in the field of theoretical chemistry.

Professor Konrad Schindler (*1974), currently Associate Professor at the ETH Zurich, as Full Professor of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing. Konrad Schindler is highly regarded internationally in his field and an exceptionally committed teacher. His three main topics are integrated treatment in the extraction of geometric and semantic information, combining and merging data and information from multiple sensors and platforms, and maintenance and tracking of very large geo databases, especially information and data made available via the internet. The appointment of Konrad Schindler as Full Professor helps to secure and strengthen the ETH Zurich's leading international position in photogrammetry.

Professor Heather Stoll (*1973), currently professor at the University of Oviedo, Asturia, Spain, as Full Professor of Climate Geology. Heather Stoll is interested in gaining a deeper understanding of the history of the Earth's climate in the past ten million years, with a special focus on fluctuations in the concentration of atmospheric CO2. For this, she uses state-of-the-art geochemical tools. The appointment of Heather Stoll greatly strengthens paleoclimatology at ETH Zurich. She will dedicate herself to the pressing and societally relevant questions of the links between atmospheric CO2 content and climate on the one hand and biological adaptations due to climate change on the other thus generating significant synergies with other chairs in the Geosciences Department and at ETH Zurich as a whole.

Professor Jing Wang (*1979), currently Assistant Professor at ETH Zurich, as Associate Professor of Air Quality and Particle Technology. Jing Wang is regarded as one of the world’s leading scientists in the field of air quality and particle technology. His principal areas of research include reducing nanoparticle transmission and emissions, developing tools to measure nanoparticles in the air, and air and water filtration. His work helps enhance our understanding of the importance of nanomaterials for environmental protection and occupational safety. By appointing Jing Wang as Associate Professor, ETH Zurich and Empa are securing an excellent research scientist who will contribute substantially to both institutions’ work on the maintenance of air quality in environmental engineering.

Dr Ce Zhang (*1987), currently a post-doctoral student at Stanford University, California, USA, as Tenure Track Assistant Professor of Computer Science. Ce Zhang is a very promising young scientist. His research interests are databases, data processing, machine learning and data science. His applications focus on systems to help scientists analyse and understand large quantities of data. He links conventional areas of databases and information retrieval with new methods of machine learning. By appointing Ce Zhang, the Computer Science Department is decisively strengthening its teaching and research activities in the field of data science.

 

Appointments at EPFL

Professor Friedhelm Hummel (*1969), currently Deputy Director of Hamburg-Eppendorf University Hospital, Germany, as Full Professor of Life Sciences. Friedhelm Hummel is an internationally renowned specialist in the research and treatment of stroke. He was the first person to demonstrate using non-invasive methods such as magnetic stimulation to stimulate the brain can improve stroke patients’ motor functions. With his broadly based experience of hospitals, research and teaching, Friedhelm Hummel is the ideal person for this Chair, which focuses on neurotechnology and human-machine interaction. He will work both at the Campus Biotech in Geneva and at the Campus EPFL Valais Wallis.

Dr Martin Jaggi (*1982), currently a post-doctoral student at ETH Zurich, as Tenure Track Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Communication Systems. Martin Jaggi is already a highly regarded mathematician and computer scientist. He dedicates his entire energy to the relatively new field of machine learning. The automated recognition of patterns and laws in big data is currently developing very fast and promises progress in a wide range of scientific applications. In Martin Jaggi, EPFL is gaining a very dynamic – and, despite his youth, persuasive – scientist who will continue to establish and drive forward his specialist field in research and teaching.

Professor Andrew Oates (*1969), currently Professor at University College, London, UK, as Full Professor of Life Sciences. Andrew Oates is a highly innovative, world-renowned developmental biologist. His research focuses on genetic programmes that trigger the embryonic development of vertebrates through the formation of somites in a precisely defined time sequence. His interdisciplinary approach combining theoretical biology, system biology, physics, computer modelling and quantitative imaging methods have enabled him to achieve widely acclaimed breakthroughs using zebra fish as an example. The appointment of Andrew Oates greatly strengthens EPFL's international position in developmental biology.

Dr Pavan Ramdya (*1979), currently a post-doctoral student at the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA, as Tenure Track Assistant Professor of Life Sciences. Pavan Ramdya is a promising neurobiologist who is investigating the group behaviour of drosophila flies using neurogenetics, observation of behaviour and computer simulations. At EPFL he will be focusing, inter alia, on the formation of patterns of leg movement in vertebrates and non-vertebrates. Pavan Ramdya is familiar with a broad spectrum of disciplines and methods, which he combines. This enables him to tackle highly demanding biological questions with translational potential.

Professor Paolo Ricci (*1976), currently Tenure Track Assistant Professor at EPFL, as Associate Professor of Plasma Physics. Paolo Ricci is a very creative scientist with high potential. In recent years, he has managed to position himself internationally at the forefront of his field. His research focuses on three topics: the simulation and analysis of turbulence in Tokamak fusion reactors, the dynamics of high-speed ions, and the validation of numerical codes used to simulate plasma turbulence. With his novel research strategies he will make a significant contribution to the international positioning of EPFL.

Dr Christian Theiler (*1982), currently a post-doctoral student at EPFL, as Tenure Track Assistant Professor of Plasma Physics. In recent years, Christian Theiler has achieved worldwide acclaim for his scientific results and papers in highly regarded publications. During a period at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Cambridge, USA, his work included developing a new technique of spectroscopic measurement of the exchange of charges in the plasma of a Tokamak reactor. He uses his findings to further improve this type of fusion reactor in international projects. The appointment of Christian Theiler enables EPFL to step up its activities in the field of nuclear fusion.

 

Award of the title of Professor

Dr Andreas Rigling (*1964), currently Lecturer at ETH Zurich, as Adjunct Professor at ETH Zurich. Andreas Rigling is a member of the Directorate of WSL, where he heads the Research Unit of Forest Dynamics. He has also been a Lecturer in the Department of Environmental Systems Science at ETH Zurich since 2007. His research focus is on aspects of forest dynamics, especially the response of forests to changes and disruptions such as fire, infestation by insects and climate change.

Conseil des EPF, 15 juillet 2016

Lors de sa séance de réflexion annuelle, qui s'est tenue les 13 et 14 juillet 2016, le Conseil des EPF a examiné de manière approfondie les plans de développement des institutions du Domaine des EPF pour les années 2017 à 2020. Il s'est en outre penché sur les éventuelles répercussions du Brexit sur la collaboration avec la Grande-Bretagne et l'UE en matière de recherche. Pour le Conseil des EPF, il ne fait aucun doute qu'une collaboration plus étroite avec les universités britanniques ne remplacera pas la participation au programme Horizon 2020. Il reste donc primordial que la Confédération parvienne rapidement à un accord avec l'UE. Le Conseil des EPF a également nommé 14 professeures et professeurs et attribué un titre de professeur.

Le Conseil des EPF approuve les plans de développement du Domaine des EPF et contrôle leur exécution, comme le prévoit la Loi sur les EPF. Lors de sa séance de réflexion des 13 et 14 juillet, le Conseil des EPF a examiné de manière approfondie les points centraux des plans de développement des institutions du Domaine des EPF pour les années 2017 à 2020 ainsi que leurs schémas généraux des espaces et du financement (SGEF). Les plans de développement mettent en évidence les priorités stratégiques dans l'enseignement, la recherche et le transfert de savoir et de technologie (TST). Ils sont élaborés en fonction du Plan stratégique 2017-2020 du Conseil des EPF et du Message FRI 2017-2020. Les institutions du Domaine des EPF vont à présent remanier leurs plans de développement ainsi que leurs SGEF et les soumettre pour approbation au Conseil des EPF lors d'une prochaine séance. Dans le cadre de sa séance de réflexion, le Conseil des EPF s'est également rendu dans ce qui deviendra le quartier universitaire du centre de Zurich pour se faire une idée du plan d'aménagement prévu (Masterplan Hochschulquartier Zürich Zentrum).

Horizon 2020: la porte se referme

«Une collaboration plus étroite entre les universités suisses et britanniques ne remplacera pas la collaboration dans le cadre d'Horizon 2020», indique Fritz Schiesser, président du Conseil des EPF. «Il n'existe nulle part ailleurs dans le monde un programme de recherche international d'un niveau aussi élevé.» En cas d'exclusion, la Suisse perdrait un des accès majeurs à la connaissance et à l'innovation, ce qui pénaliserait non seulement les hautes écoles, mais également les PME et l'industrie suisses. A titre d'exemple, l'ETH Zurich et l'EPFL travaillent actuellement à elles seules avec plus d'un millier de partenaires industriels dans le cadre du 7e Programme-cadre de recherche européen. De plus, un franc sur cinq obtenu sur concours par la Suisse va à l'économie. Le Conseil des EPF demande donc expressément au Conseil fédéral et au Parlement de tout mettre en œuvre pour que la Suisse soit pleinement associée à Horizon 2020, et ce le plus rapidement possible.

Démission d'André Schneider, vice-président de l'EPFL

Le Conseil des EPF a remercié André Schneider, vice-président pour les ressources et les infrastruc­tures (VPRI) de l’EPFL, pour son grand engagement au service de l’EPFL et du Domaine des EPF. André Schneider, qui occupe ce poste depuis juin 2013, a été nommé Directeur général de Genève Aéroport, fonction qu’il assumera dès le 1er septembre 2016. Sous sa vice-présidence, l’EPFL a pu renforcer ses services centraux et poursuivre la mise en œuvre d’importants projets d’infrastructures comme le SwissTech Convention Center et sa galerie marchande, ainsi que les pavillons ArtLab qui seront inaugurés en novembre prochain. Il a également continué à œuvrer pour un développement durable sur le campus.

Etienne Marclay, actuel délégué du vice-président, a été nommé VPRI par intérim jusqu’au 31 décembre 2016.

 

14 professeurs nommés à l'ETH Zurich et à l'EPFL

Sur proposition du professeur Lino Guzzella, président de l’ETH Zurich, et du professeur Patrick Aebischer, président de l’EPFL, le Conseil des EPF a nommé un total de 14 professeures et professeurs et attribué un titre de professeur.

Nominations à l'ETH Zurich

Daniel Farinotti (*1982), actuellement collaborateur scientifique senior au WSL de Birmensdorf, est nommé professeur assistant tenure track de glaciologie. Les travaux de Daniel Farinotti se situent à l’intersection entre climatologie, hydrologie et glaciologie. S’étant déjà forgé une solide réputation internationale dans le domaine de l’hydrologie de la cryosphère de montagne, il se concentrera ces prochaines années sur l’évolution future des réserves de glace en altitude, ainsi que, de plus en plus, sur les pronostics hydro-glaciologiques à long terme. Daniel Farinotti dirigera un groupe Glaciologie à l’ETH Zurich et au WSL, et renforcera encore la position de pointe qu’occupent déjà les deux institutions dans ce domaine.

Le professeur Reto Knutti (*1973), actuellement professeur associé à l’ETH Zurich, est nommé professeur ordinaire de physique du climat. Scientifique de renommée mondiale, Reto Knutti consacre ses recherches aux modifications du système climatique planétaire induites par l’augmentation constante des émissions de gaz à effet de serre tels que le CO2. Ses travaux, pour lesquels il recourt à des modèles numériques présentant divers degrés de complexité, contribuent de manière décisive à une meilleure compréhension des incertitudes liées aux prévisions climatiques, notamment dans les rapports du Groupe d’experts intergouvernemental sur l’évolution du climat (GIEC/PNUE). Depuis 2015, il exerce la fonction de délégué du président de l’ETH Zurich pour le développement durable. En nommant Reto Knutti au poste de professeur ordinaire, l’ETH Zurich s’attache les services d’un éminent chercheur et d’un enseignant aussi engagé qu’apprécié.

La professeure Marloes H. Maathuis (*1978), actuellement professeure associée à l’ETH Zurich, est nommée professeure ordinaire de statistique. Chercheuse hautement créative, à la pointe de son domaine, Marloes Maathuis axe ses travaux sur l’inférence causale, l’algorithmique et les méthodes destinées aux modèles graphiques à faible densité en haute dimension, ainsi que sur les applications interdisciplinaires à l’intersection entre biologie, épidémiologie et statistique. Ses contributions dans le domaine de l’inférence causale, notamment, sont reconnues comme décisives et ont ouvert des perspectives entièrement nouvelles en la matière. En nommant Marloes Maathuis au poste de professeure ordinaire, l’ETH Zurich s’attache les compétences d’une scientifique de tout premier plan, menant des recherches mathématiques et interdisciplinaires au plus haut niveau et favorisant le transfert de savoir.

Jeremy Richardson (*1986), actuellement junior research fellow à l’Université de Durham, Royaume-Uni, est nommé professeur assistant tenure track de théorie de la dynamique quantique moléculaire. Jeremy Richardson mène des recherches dans le domaine de la description théorique des processus de dynamique quantique des systèmes complexes. Ses résultats permettent notamment d’étudier des processus de toute première importance dans le secteur de la chimie, comme les transferts de protons et d’électrons dans les grands complexes moléculaires et dans la phase condensée. En nommant Jeremy Richardson, l’ETH Zurich s’assure le concours d’un chimiste théorique d’une grande originalité, qui perpétuera la solide tradition du Département de chimie et des sciences biologiques appliquées dans le domaine de la chimie théorique.

Le professeur Konrad Schindler (*1974), actuellement professeur associé à l’ETH Zurich, est nommé professeur ordinaire de photogrammétrie et télédétection. Chercheur mondialement reconnu dans son domaine, Konrad Schindler fait montre d’un engagement exceptionnel dans l’enseignement. Ses trois thématiques phares sont le traitement intégré lors de l’extraction d’informations géométriques et sémantiques, la combinaison et la fusion de données et d’informations provenant de multiples capteurs et plateformes, ainsi que l’entretien et la mise à jour de très grandes bases de géodonnées, et notamment de données et d’informations disponibles sur Internet. La nomination de Konrad Schindler au poste de professeur ordinaire contribue à asseoir et à renforcer encore la position d’excellence qu’occupe l’ETH Zurich dans le domaine de la photogrammétrie.

La professeure Heather Stoll (*1973), actuellement professeure à l’Université d’Oviedo, principauté des Asturies, Espagne, est nommée professeure ordinaire de géologie climatique. Par ses travaux, qu’elle mène à l’aide des outils géochimiques les plus avancés, Heather Stoll cherche à approfondir notre compréhension de l’histoire climatique des dix derniers millions d’années, en axant tout particulièrement ses recherches sur les variations de la concentration de CO2dans l’atmosphère. La nomination d'Heather Stoll constitue un renforcement décisif pour le domaine de la paléoclimatologie à l’ETH Zurich. Elle consacrera ses travaux aux questions cruciales pour notre société que sont les rapports entre la concentration de CO2dans l’atmosphère et le climat, ainsi que les adaptations biologiques aux changements climatiques. D'importantes synergies sont appelées à se développer avec d’autres chaires au sein du Département des sciences de la terre et de l’ETH Zurich.

Le professeur Jing Wang (*1979), actuellement professeur assistant à l’ETH Zurich est nommé professeur associé de qualité de l’air et de technologie des particules. Jing Wang est l’un des scientifiques les plus en vue au niveau mondial dans les domaines de la protection de l’air et de la technologie des particules. Ses recherches portent notamment sur la réduction des transports et des émissions de nanoparticules, sur le développement d’instruments de mesure des nanoparticules dans l’air, ainsi que sur la filtration de l’air et de l’eau. Par ses travaux, il contribue à une meilleure compréhension du rôle des nanomatériaux dans la protection de l’environnement et la sécurité au travail. En nommant Jing Wang au poste de professeur associé, l’ETH Zurich et l’Empa s’assurent la collaboration d’un scientifique d’exception, qui fera avancer de manière durable les travaux sur le thème de la protection de l’air dans le domaine de l’ingénierie environnementale au sein des deux institutions.

Ce Zhang (*1987), actuellement postdoctorant à l’Université de Stanford, Californie, Etats-Unis, est nommé professeur assistant tenure track d’informatique. Jeune scientifique très prometteur, Ce Zhang axe ses recherches sur les bases de données, le traitement des données, l’apprentissage automatique et la science des données. Ses applications portent principalement sur les systèmes permettant d'aider les scientifiques à analyser et à interpréter de grands volumes de données. Pour ce faire, il allie les disciplines classiques des bases de données et de la recherche d’informations à de nouvelles méthodes du domaine de l’apprentissage automatique. En nommant Ce Zhang, le Département d’informatique renforce de manière décisive ses capacités d’enseignement et de recherche dans le domaine de la science des données.  

 

Nominations à l'EFPL

Le professeur Friedhelm Hummel (*1969), actuellement chef de clinique adjoint à la clinique universitaire de Hambourg-Eppendorf, Allemagne, est nommé professeur ordinaire de sciences de la vie. Spécialiste internationalement reconnu de l'étude et de la prise en charge des accidents vasculaires cérébraux (AVC), Friedhelm Hummel a été le premier à prouver que la stimulation du cerveau par des techniques non invasives telles que la stimulation magnétique transcrânienne (TMS) peut améliorer les fonctions motrices chez les personnes ayant subi un AVC. Grâce à sa large expérience dans le secteur clinique ainsi que dans la recherche et l'enseignement, Friedhelm Hummel est la personne idéale pour occuper ce poste de professeurcentré sur la neuro-ingénierie et l'interaction entre homme et machine. Il travaillera non seulement sur le Campus Biotech à Genève, mais également sur le pôle EPFL Valais Wallis.

Martin Jaggi (*1982), actuellement postdoctorant à l'ETH Zurich, est nommé professeur assistant tenure track d'informatique et de systèmes de communication. Martin Jaggi est un jeune mathématicien et informaticien au parcours déjà très remarqué. L'ensemble de ses recherches sont axées sur le domaine relativement récent de l'apprentissage automatique (machine learning). Fondé sur la reconnaissance automatique d'exemples et de modèles dans de grandes bases de données, ce champ de recherche est actuellement en pleine expansion et permettra des avancéesdans de nombreux domaines scientifiques. La nomination de Martin Jaggi permettra à l'EPFL de s'adjoindre les services d'un scientifique très dynamique, capable de faire valoir ses points de vue malgré son jeune âge et à même de renforcer et de faire progresser l'enseignement et la recherche en matière d'apprentissage automatique.

Le professeur Andrew Oates (*1969), actuellement professeur au University College de Londres, Royaume-Uni, est nommé professeur ordinaire de sciences de la vie. Andrew Oates est un spécialiste extrêmement innovant et mondialement reconnu en biologie du développement. Ses recherches sont axées sur les programmes génétiques qui, en oscillant dans le temps d'une manière bien précise, coordonnent l'élongation de l'embryon avec la formation sérielle des somites. Combinant biologie théorique, biologie des systèmes, physique, modélisation computationnelle et méthodes d'imagerie quantitatives, les travaux interdisciplinaires menés par Andrew Oates sur le poisson zèbre lui ont permis de faire des découvertes très remarquées. La nomination d'Andrew Oates permettra à l'EPFL de renforcer de manière significative sa position internationale en biologie du développement.

Pavan Ramdya (*1979), actuellement postdoctorant au California Institute of Technology à Pasadena, Californie, Etats-Unis, est nommé professeur assistant tenure track de sciences de la vie. Pavan Ramdya est un neurobiologiste prometteur, qui étudie le comportement en essaim des drosophiles au moyen de méthodes neurogénétiques, d'observations du comportement et de simulations computationnelles. A l'EPFL, il axera notamment ses recherches sur la caractérisation des mouvements de jambes à la fois chez les vertébrés et chez les invertébrés. Pavan Ramdya maîtrise un large spectre de domaines et de méthodologies qu'il combine entre eux afin de pouvoir aborder des questions biologiques très complexes présentant un fort potentiel translationnel.

Le professeur Paolo Ricci (*1976), actuellement professeur assistant tenure track à l'EPFL, est nommé professeur associé de physique des plasmas. Paolo Ricci est un scientifique très créatif et prometteur. Au cours des dernières années, il est parvenu à se hisser à la pointe de son domaine au niveau international. Ses recherches suivent trois axes principaux: la simulation et l'analyse de turbulences dans des réacteurs à fusion de type tokamak, la dynamique des ions rapides ainsi que la validation des codes numériques utilisés pour la simulation de la turbulence des plasmas. Grâce à ses stratégies de recherche innovantes, il contribuera de manière déterminante à consolider la position internationale de l'EPFL.

Christian Theiler (*1982), actuellement postdoctorant à l'EPFL, est nommé professeur assistanttenure track de physique des plasmas. Au cours des dernières années, les résultats de ses recherches et ses articles dans diverses publications de renom lui ont valu une reconnaissance internationale. A l'occasion d'un séjour au Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, Etats-Unis, il a notamment développé une nouvelle technique pour obtenir des mesures spectroscopiques de l'échange de charge dans le plasma d'un tokamak. Il met en œuvre les résultats de ses recherches pour améliorer davantage ce type de réacteurs à fusion dans le cadre de projets internationaux. La nomination de Christian Theiler permettra à l'EPFL de renforcer son activité dans le domaine de la fusion nucléaire.

 

Attribution d'un titre de professeur

Andreas Rigling (*1964), actuellement chargé de cours à l’ETH Zurich, est nommé professeur titulaire de l'ETH Zurich. Andreas Rigling est membre de la direction du WSL, dont il dirige l’unité de recherche Dynamique forestière. Depuis 2007, il est en outre chargé de cours au Département des sciences des systèmes de l'environnement de l’ETH Zurich. Ses recherches se concentrent sur les thématiques de la dynamique forestière, et en particulier sur la réaction des forêts aux modifications et aux perturbations telles qu’incendies, infestations d’insectes ou changements climatiques.