ETH Board, 11 March 2016

In its latest meeting, the ETH Board focused on the financial planning for the ETH Domain in detail after the Federal Council had announced the financial resources earmarked in its
2017–2020 ERI Dispatch. It is positive that the Federal Council has stipulated important focal points for education, research and innovation policy. The ETH Board, however, considers additional investments in the reinforcement of the innovative power in general and the ETH Domain in particular to be necessary. Nonetheless, severe cost-cutting measures at the two Federal Institutes of Technology and the four research institutes remain inevitable, as do salary measures and a socially compatible increase in tuition fees from autumn 2018.

At its meeting of 9/10 March 2016, the ETH Board allocated the financial resources for 2017 to the institutions and the large-scale strategic projects and discussed the funding of the ETH Domain for the new performance period of 2017–2020. This discussion took place after the Federal Council adopted and submitted to Parliament the Dispatch on the Promotion of Education, Research and Innovation 2017–2020 (ERI Dispatch).

Inadequate resources for the ETH Domain

Owing to the upcoming parliamentary debates both on the ERI Dispatch and on the 2017–2019 Stabilisation Programme, the definite amount of financial resources available to the ETH Domain in 2017 has not yet been defined. For the time being, deliberations are based on an amount of CHF 2,489.1m. The major part of these funds will be employed for the basic mission and the operation of the two Federal Institutes in Zurich and Lausanne, as well as the four research institutes PSI, WSL, Empa and Eawag. In addition, however, the institutions will have to be able to invest in national research infrastructures and pioneering fields of research in order to safeguard the innovative power and competitiveness of the Swiss national economy in the long term.

The funding as planned according to the ERI Dispatch entails that in comparison with the ETH Domain’s own financial planning for 2017–2020, there will be a total shortfall of federal funds to the tune of CHF 830m. Whereas the ETH Domain provided evidence of an annual increase in strategic resource requirements of 3.5%, the Federal Council’s ERI Dispatch allows for merely 1.5%. This is the smallest growth rate for all ERI actors. This strikes the ETH Board as incomprehensible, nor is the funding earmarked for the ETH Domain adequate. The ETH Board will therefore seek the necessary corrections to be made by Parliament. Irrespective of this, the institutions of the ETH Domain will already have to initiate severe cost-cutting measures, for instance with regard to planned construction and renovation projects and current teaching and research activities.

Salary measures and a socially compatible increase in tuition fees

To ensure that the ETH Domain will be able to pursue its strategic objectives in spite of scarce resources, the numerous cost-cutting measures will mean that the area of human resources will inevitably be affected too. In view of the salary increases that have to be specified on an annual basis in the ETH Domain, the ETH Board’s plans for 2017 provide that the percentage of the corresponding wage bill will be reduced from 1.2% to 0.6% for the individual wage control of employees in the salary system of the ETH Domain.

With regard to tuition fees, the ETH Board is planning a socially compatible increase from autumn 2018. At less than CHF 1,300 p.a. the tuition fees at both Federal Institutes of Technology are relatively low in comparison with other Swiss universities and have not been increased in real terms for 20 years. Before definitively specifying the type and extent of the increase in tuition fees, the ETH Board will conduct a hearing of the university assemblies and student associations. Also, it will wait for the current reform of the ETH Act, which will be debated by the Federal Parliament in the current year.

Restrictions on immigration: research institutes and ETH particularly affected

The ETH Board is facing a strict quota system in connection with the implementation of the immigration initiative with misgivings. Swiss science depends on highly specialised experts from home and abroad. The research institutes of the ETH Domain such as Empa and the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) alone employ specialists from more than 50 nations. The ETH Board thus calls for a separate solution for foreign researchers and students. Furthermore, the proposed Immigration Commission should also have representatives of Switzerland’s education and research sector among its members.

Quick approval of the Croatia protocol

The ETH Board welcomes the signature of the protocol for the extension of the EU’s free movement of persons to Croatia. It now counts on an expeditious approval of the protocol by the Federal Parliament in order to prevent Switzerland’s impending exclusion from Horizon 2020 in ten months. EU support monies, which amount to far more than CHF 100m p.a. for the ETH Domain, constitute a significant source of funding. It is at least as important, however, that Switzerland safeguards its access to knowledge and innovations in this way and that the country’s industries and SMEs do not suffer any disadvantages vis-à-vis international competitors.

 

For the appointment of professors by the ETH Board, see the ETH Board's separate press release (publication on 11 March 2016 at approx. 2 p.m.).

Conseil des EPF, 11 mars 2016

Le Conseil des EPF a examiné en profondeur la planifi­cation finan­cière du Domaine des EPF, alors que le Conseil fédéral vient d’annoncer les ressources prévues dans le cadre du Message FRI 2017–2020. Il est positif que le Conseil fédéral fixe les grandes priorités pour la politique de formation, de recherche et d’inno­vation. Cependant, le Conseil des EPF estime qu’il faut investir davantage dans le renfor­cement de la capacité d’innovation et dans le Domaine des EPF en particulier. Des économies importantes restent toutefois inévitables dans les deux EPF et les quatre établissements de recherche, tout comme des mesures salariales et une augmentation socialement supportable des taxes d'études à partir de l'automne 2018.

A l’occasion de sa séance des 9 et 10 mars 2016, le Conseil des EPF a alloué aux institutions ainsi qu’aux grands projets stratégiques du Domaine des EPF les ressources financières pour l’année 2017 et débattu du financement du Domaine des EPF pour la prochaine période de prestations 2017–2020. Ces travaux interviennent alors que le Conseil fédéral a adopté et transmis au Parlement fin février son Message relatif à l’encouragement de la formation, de la recherche et de l’innovation pendant les années 2017 à 2020 (Message FRI).

Une enveloppe insuffisante pour le Domaine des EPF

Les débats parlementaires portant sur le Message FRI et sur le programme de stabilisation 2017–2019 doivent encore avoir lieu. Le montant des ressources financières destinées au Domaine des EPF en 2017 n’a donc pas encore été fixé de manière définitive. On évoque pour l’instant une enveloppe de 2489,1 millions de francs. La majeure partie de ces fonds servent à la réalisation du mandat de base ainsi qu’au fonctionnement des deux écoles polytechniques fédérales de Zurich et Lausanne et des quatre établisse­ments de recherche PSI, WSL, Empa et Eawag. En outre, les institutions du Domaine des EPF doivent pouvoir continuer à investir dans les infrastruc­tures de recherche natio­nales et dans des champs d’investigation porteurs d’avenir afin de préserver la capacité d’innovation et la compétitivité de l’économie suisse à long terme.

Le financement tel qu’il est prévu dans le Message FRI 2017–2020 signifie qu’il manquera au Domaine des EPF un total d’environ 830 millions de francs par rapport aux fonds fédéraux sur lesquels il tablait dans sa propre planification financière. Tandis que le Domaine des EPF chiffrait à 3,5% la hausse annuelle de ses besoins financiers stratégiques, le Conseil fédéral envisage dans son Message une progression de 1,5% seulement. Il s’agit là, parmi tous les acteurs FRI, de la croissance la plus faible. Cette situation suscite l’incompréhension du Conseil des EPF qui considère que le financement prévu pour le Domaine des EPF est insuffisant. Il s’emploiera à ce que le Parlement procède aux correctifs nécessaires. Les institutions du Domaine des EPF devront malgré tout faire des choix douloureux dès aujourd’hui et renoncer par exemple à certains projets de construction ou de rénovation ou à des activités d’enseignement et de recherche.

Mesures salariales et augmentation socialement supportable des taxes d’études

Pour permettre au Domaine des EPF de réaliser ses objectifs stratégiques malgré des ressources restreintes, de nombreuses mesures d’économie sont nécessaires et, parmi celles-ci, aussi certaines qui concernent inévitablement le personnel. Dans la perspective des augmentations de salaires devant être fixées tous les ans au sein du Domaine des EPF, le Conseil des EPF projette par conséquent pour 2017 de réduire de 1,2% à 0,6% la masse salariale correspondante allouée au pilotage individuel des salaires pour les collaborateurs rémunérés selon le système salarial du Domaine des EPF.

S'agissant des taxes d'études, le Conseil des EPF prévoit une augmentation socialement supportable à partir de l'automne 2018. Inférieurs à 1300 francs par an, les écolages perçus par les deux EPF sont relativement modérés en comparaison avec ceux d’autres universités suisses et n’ont pas connu d’augmentation réelle au cours des vingt dernières années. Avant de déterminer définitivement la nature et l'ampleur d'une telle augmentation, le Conseil des EPF procédera à une consultation des assemblées d'écoles et des associations d'étudiants. De plus, il attendra la fin de la révision de la Loi sur les EPF, qui sera traitée par le Parlement fédéral durant l'année en cours.

Restriction à l’immigration: établissements de recherche et EPF particulièrement touchés

Le Conseil des EPF voit avec inquiétude la perspective d’un système de contingentement restrictif dans le contexte de la mise en œuvre de l’initiative «Contre l’immigration de masse». La science et la recherche en Suisse sont tributaires de la main-d’œuvre hautement spécialisée suisse et étrangère. A titre d'exemple, l’Empa et l’Institut Paul Scherrer (PSI) emploient à eux seuls des spécialistes issus de plus de 50 pays. Le Conseil des EPF demande dès lors l’élaboration d’une solution spécifique pour les chercheurs et les étudiants étrangers. De plus, il est indispensable que des représen­tants de la formation et de la recherche en Suisse fassent partie de la future commission de l’immigration.

Adoption rapide du protocole sur la Croatie

Le Conseil des EPF salue la signature du protocole relatif à l’extension de la libre circulation des personnes à la Croatie. Il s’attend désormais à ce que le Parlement fédéral adopte rapidement ce document pour éviter à la Suisse d’être exclue d’Horizon 2020 d'ici début  2017. Les fonds d’encouragement européens dont bénéficie le Domaine des EPF et qui dépassent largement les 100 millions de francs par an constituent pour lui une source de financement substantielle. Le fait que la Suisse puisse accéder à la connaissance et aux innovations en participant aux programmes-cadres de recherche de l’UE est néanmoins un aspect tout aussi important, qui permet d’empêcher que les scientifiques suisses, mais aussi l’industrie et les PME ne soient désavantagés face à la concurrence internationale.

 

Concernant les nominations de professeurs, voir le communiqué de presse séparé du Conseil des EPF (publié le 11 mars 2016, vers 14h00).