ETH Board, 11 July 2014

The ETH Board has appointed Prof. Sarah Springman as the new Rector of ETH Zurich on the occasion of its meeting of 10 July 2014. She will succeed Prof. Lino Guzzella, President Designate of ETH Zurich, as from 1 January 2015.

The ETH Board has appointed Prof. Sarah Springman as the new Executive Board member and Rector of ETH Zurich, thus following the application of the President of ETH Zurich, Prof. Ralph Eichler. Sarah Springman will succeed Lino Guzzella, who will become President of ETH Zurich on 1 January 2015. In the Executive Board of ETH Zurich, Sarah Springman will be responsible for teaching matters.

Sarah Springman (*1956, British national) has been Professor of Geotechnical Engineering at ETH Zurich since 1997. As a pioneer in the field of the geotechnical modelling of soil structure/building interactions and a recognised expert in the domain of the geotechnical aspects of natural hazards, Sarah Springman is part of an excellent international network. She has also been actively involved in science policy bodies and exercised management functions in the Department of Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering. Sarah Springman has also run various learning and teaching projects of ETH Zurich and made major contributions to the establishment of the Bachelor’s and Master’s programmes of her department.

For further appointments by the ETH Board, cf. the ETH Board’s separate media release (release in the course of today).

Conseil des EPF, 11 juillet 2014

Le Conseil des EPF a nommé la professeure Sarah Springman en tant que nouvelle rectrice de l’ETH Zurich lors de sa séance du 10 juillet 2014. Sarah Springman prendra ses nouvelles fonctions le 1er janvier 2015 et succédera au professeur Lino Guzzella, nouveau président désigné de l’ETH Zurich.

Le Conseil des EPF a suivi la proposition que lui a soumise le professeur Ralph Eichler, président de l’ETH Zurich, et nommé la professeure Sarah Springman en tant que membre de la direction et rectrice de l’ETH Zurich. Sarah Springman prendra la succession du professeur Lino Guzzella, qui deviendra président de l’ETH Zurich le 1er janvier 2015. Au sein de la direction de l’ETH Zurich, Sarah Springman sera chargée des questions liées à l’enseignement.

Sarah Springman (née en 1956, de nationalité britannique) est professeure ordinaire de géotechnique à l’ETH Zurich depuis 1997. Pionnière dans le domaine de la modélisation géotechnique des interactions entre les ouvrages et le sol et experte reconnue concernant les aspects géotechniques des dangers naturels, Sarah Springman dispose d’un excellent réseau au plan international. De plus, elle s’est engagée dans des comités dédiés à la politique scientifique et a assumé des fonctions de conduite au sein du Département Génie civil, environnement et géomatique. Sarah Springman a également dirigé plusieurs projets d’apprentissage et d’enseignement à l’ETH Zurich et a contribué de manière détermi-nante à la mise sur pied des programmes de bachelor et de master de son département.

Concernant les autres nominations décidées par le Conseil des EPF, voir le communiqué de presse séparé (qui sera publié dans le courant de la journée).