ETH Board, 31 March 2020

Switzerland, as many countries worldwide, is facing a huge healthcare crisis. The country, but also our institutions, are challenged to find the best approach to address the current pandemic.

The Swiss scientific community, one of the strongest worldwide, has a huge potential to positively influence the outcome of this crisis, be it through research, education or innovation.

The ETH Domain has the ambition to be a role model on how we handle the current crisis. It therefore called into life an ad-hoc task force in March and gave it the mandate of identifying research, innovation and advisory opportunities for members of the ETH Domain to help combat SARS-CoV-2.

At the end of March, the Federal Council appointed a scientific advisory body to assist the authorities in overcoming the coronavirus crisis. Matthias Egger, president of the National Research Council of the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), heads the «Swiss National Covid-19 Science Task Force». The members of the body are all experts in relevant fields. They will advise the federal government and the cantons based on the latest scientific knowledge. In addition, they are expected to define research topics and special measures.

The Science Task Force uses and integrates the initiative set up in the ETH Domain, and also combines initiatives and expertise from the SNSF, swissuniversities and the Academies of arts and sciences.

Conseil des EPF, 31 mars 2020

Comme beaucoup d'autres pays dans le monde, la Suisse est confrontée à une énorme crise sanitaire. Le pays ainsi que nos institutions sont mis au défi de trouver la meilleure approche possible pour faire face à la pandémie actuelle.

La communauté scientifique suisse, l'une des plus fortes au monde, dispose d’un énorme potentiel pour influencer positivement l'issue de cette crise, que ce soit par la recherche, l'éducation ou l’innovation.

Le Domaine des EPF a l'ambition d'être un modèle sur la manière dont nous gérons la crise actuelle. En mars, il a donc mis en place un groupe de travail ad hoc et lui a donné le mandat d'identifier les possibilités de recherche, d'innovation et de conseil pour les membres du Domaine des EPF afin de contribuer à la lutte contre le SRAS-CoV-2. 

Fin mars, la Confédération a mis en place un organe consultatif scientifique pour aider les autorités politiques à gérer la crise du coronavirus. Matthias Egger, président du Conseil de la recherche du Fonds national suisse (FNS), dirige cette Swiss National COVID-19 Science Task Force. Elle se compose d’experts reconnus dans les domaines de spécialisation concernés qui conseillent la Confédération et les cantons sur le plan scientifique. Ces experts doivent aussi définir des thématiques de recherche et des mesures spéciales.

Cette Science Task Force met à profit et intègre l’initiative fondée au sein du Domaine des EPF et intègre de plus les initiatives et les compétences du FNS, de swissuniversities et des académies suisses des sciences.