Alessio Figalli won the most important mathematics prize in the world, the Fields Medal, in 2018. This put him in the spotlight and made hima role model, especially for the next generation: matriculation figures for mathematics in his native Italy surged.

Fields Medal Winner 2018: Alessio Figalli (Photos: Basil Stücheli/ETH Board)

Alessio Figalli hurries into his office in the main building of ETH Zurich and apologises in a heartfelt Italian way for being two minutes late. His shirt freshly ironed; on his desk a few piles of papers, which he quickly straightens up. The autumn sun shines in, he pulls the blinds and apologises for the mess, which is hardly worth mentioning – ticking the boxes for “light-shy” and “likes things to be tidy”. Otherwise, however, Figalli does not strike you as being eccentric. He comes across as the sort of sociable young man you would trust with your financial affairs. In fact, he couldn’t be any less like the stereotype of a mathematician. And that stereotype actually gets on Figalli’s nerves. “Why do we believe that mathematicians always have to be a little unworldly or quirky?” Most of them don’t fit that image. He first decided to go to a grammar school specialising in humanities, including Greek and Latin, before being drawn to the legendary Scuola Normale Superiore in Pisa via the Mathematics Olympiad.

Alessio Figalli, professor of mathematics

The office still fits the cliché, however with the stereotypical board, scribbled all over with formulas and diagrams. Yes, sometimes he likes to get stuck into his work on there. It can be rather liberating to wipe the board clean and rearrange your thoughts. Figalli says, however, that he simply works best with a pen and paper – and whenever possible, the computer stays switched off. He sometimes wonders whether the rhythm of today’s society is healthy and whether we should not take it down a few gears. Mathematics, he says, moves along at a rather slow pace. Every single line of thought has to be carefully examined and proven. That takes time.

And what if the computer did some of the work in the background? Figalli’s brow becomes furrowed. He is “anxious” at the prospect that artificial intelligence might soon learn to draw and link logical conclusions. While there is not much to be said against automated systems acquiring this skill in theory, he cannot (or does not want to) imagine that they could also achieve the creative ability to do so. And he refers to chess; all the fun has gone by the wayside since the best computers can now beat any human player without any bother.

”Mathematics is everywhere. A discipline for modelling the world.”

He chose mathematics because of its logic and order, because it was “clean” and not a matter of faith. However, he chose this field of research precisely be-cause of the “fun” that rich mathematical problems offer. He was awarded the Fields Medal because he was able to demonstrate how questions about the optimum distribution of resources intertwine with the geometry of space. The findings can be applied in economics, probability theory or fluid mechanics. So, is he contributing towards the unstoppable drive to increase efficiency, with the ever-more, ever-faster culture? No, he doesn’t like to see it that way, because efficiency can also enable us to save time to do other things. In essence, however, it is good to know that our discoveries can also be beneficial. “The closer you get to the application, the better.” But he wouldn’t let the application steer him in his work. The mathematics would ultimately have to stand on its own merits. Figalli mentions the Fourier transform. Without that, it is inconceivable that today’s electronics would function, although Fourier could not have foreseen that.

He regards communication among researchers, be they physicists or biologists, as a fundamental stumbling block in linking basic mathematical research to scientific applications: “We just don’t understand one another.” Mediators who are familiar with both fields can help, but the approaches will always re-main essentially different. “There’s still no sound theory for the phenomenon of how planes fly; it’s a very difficult field mathematically.” And it sums up the difference between mathematics and physics neatly. Of course, the absence of any rock-solid evidence does not stop the engineer from building aircraft. Nor does it stop us from boarding them.

En 2018, Alessio Figalli a remporté la plus presti-gieuse récompense en mathématiques au monde: la médaille Fields. Ce prix l’a placé sous les feux de la rampe et a fait de lui un modèle à suivre, notamment pour la jeune génération. En Italie, son pays natal, les inscriptions en mathématiques ont bondi.

Médaille Fields 2018: Alessio Figalli. (Photos: Basil Stücheli/Conseil des EPF)

Alessio Figalli arrive en se dépêchant à son bureau, situé dans le bâtiment principal de l’ETH Zurich, et s’excuse pour ses deux minutes de retard avec une cordialité toute italienne. Sa chemise est bien repassée, son bureau à peine encombré par quelques documents qu’il remet en place. Le soleil automnal inondant la pièce, il baisse le store. Il est navré pour le désordre. Le désordre? Quel désordre? Il semble affectionner les choses bien ordonnées. Quitte à en décevoir certains, A. Figalli n’a rien d’un excentrique. C’est un jeune homme sociable, à qui on serait prêt à confier la gestion de ses opérations bancaires. Il est à mille lieues du cliché du mathématicien. Et ce cliché justement l’énerve. «Pourquoi les mathématiciens devraient-ils être bizarres et éloignés des réalités?» La plupart ne sont pas du tout conformes à cette image. Avant d’intégrer la légendaire Ecole normale supérieure de Pise, il était inscrit en lettres classiques au lycée et suivait des cours de grec et de latin. Il ne s’est intéressé aux mathématiques qu’après avoir participé à l’Olympiade de mathématiques.

Alessio Figalli, professeur de mathématiques

Son bureau ne déroge tout de même pas à un beau cliché, avec son pittoresque tableau noir recouvert de formules et de diagrammes. Oui, parfois, il aime travailler là. Pouvoir tout effacer d’un coup d’éponge pour réorganiser ses pensées a un côté libérateur. Mais il préfère tout simplement le stylo et la feuille de papier – l’ordinateur restant éteint dans la me-sure du possible. De temps en temps, il se demande si le rythme de la société actuelle est sain et si nous ne ferions pas mieux de passer à la vitesse inférieure. Les mathématiques sont un processus plutôt lent. Chaque étape d’un raisonnement doit être minutieusement contrôlée et justifiée. Ce qui prend du temps. 

Et si l’ordinateur effectuait une partie de ce travail, en arrière-plan? A. Figalli plisse le front. Il trouve «inquiétant» le fait que l’intelligence artificielle soit sans doute bientôt capable de tirer des conclusions logiques et d’établir des liens. En principe, peu d’obstacles s’opposent à ce que des machines acquièrent cette aptitude, mais A. Figalli a du mal à croire qu’elles puissent aussi être créatives. Il cite les échecs: il considère que tout le plaisir du jeu s’est envolé depuis que les meilleurs ordinateurs battent aisément n’importe quel joueur humain.

«Les mathématiques sont partout. Et peuvent modéliser le monde.»

Il a choisi les mathématiques par goût de la logique et de l’ordre, pour leur «propreté» et parce qu’elles s’affranchissent de toute question de croyance. C’est justement le facteur «plaisir» qu’offrent les problèmes mathématiques complexes qui l’a conduit à son domaine de recherche. Il a reçu la médaille Fields pour avoir réussi à démontrer comment les questions de transport optimal des ressources étaient liées à la géométrie de l’espace. Les résultats sont utilisés en sciences économiques, en calcul de probabilités ou encore en mécanique des fluides. Ne participe-t-il pas ainsi lui-même à la course à l’efficacité, à cette envie d’en avoir toujours plus, toujours plus vite? Non, il n’envisage pas la chose sous cet angle puisque l’efficacité permet notamment de libérer du temps pour autre chose. Dans tous les cas, il aime savoir que ce qu’il trouve est utile: «Plus l’application est proche, mieux c’est.» Mais son travail n’est pas guidé par l’application. Les mathématiques sont une discipline en soi. A. Figalli évoque la transformation de Fourier, indispensable au fonctionnement des systèmes électroniques actuels, alors que Fourier même ne s’en doutait pas.

Il trouve que la communication avec les chercheurs, qu’ils soient physiciens ou biologistes, complique fortement les rapports entre recherche fondamentale mathématique et application scientifique: «Nous ne nous comprenons tout simplement pas.» On fait appelà des médiateurs qui connaissent les deux domaines, mais les approches resteront toujours fondamentalement différentes: «Le phénomène qui permet aux avions de voler ne s’appuie toujours pas sur une théorie solide. C’est un domaine complexe du point de vue mathématique.» Pour illustrer la différence entre les mathématiques et la physique, il dispose d’un bon exemple: l’absence d’une preuve irréfutable n’empêche pas l’ingénieur de construire ces engins volants. Et ne nous dissuade pas non plus de voyager à leur bord.