Various materials are being researched at Empa, some of them with surprising properties. For example, there are elastomers that react to current and that contract or expand depending on the voltage applied. Two decades ago, a few researchers wondered what you could do with something like this. The result is almost ready to be marketed now – and could revolutionise electronic control elements.

The actuators developed by Gabor Kovacs (left) have the potential to make the leap from a research laboratory to a large-scale industrial application. Dorina Opris tailored the polymer films to meet specific needs. (Photo: Basil Stücheli/ETH Board)

Does something have to be set in motion? Nature relies on muscles, technology on motors; nature deforms, technology turns and screws. That could all be about to change, because researchers from Empa are in the process of bringing low-cost, mass-produced actuators to market maturity. They are based on technology that is basically simple, but rather secretive. Dielectric elastomers belong to the group of electroactive polymers and are materials that deform when electrical voltage is applied. Why they do this is still being researched at molecular level. In the last 20 years, scientists have learned how to “rein in” these materials in such a way that the deformation is very precise and can be finely manipulated. “It’s not that easy to create a linear movement,” says Pierangelo Gröning, member of the directorate and Head of the “Modern Materials and Surfaces” department. However, Empa has steadily progressed towards this goal over the years and been able to do so at comparatively deep or low voltages thanks to its know-how. Thus, the actuators developed by Gabor Kovacs have the potential to make the leap from a research laboratory to a large-scale industrial application.

The test actuators are like a soft stack of plastic in your hand, consisting of many thin plates. It might look unspectacular, but a lot of research work has gone into the ten-centimetre high stack. Kovacs recalls that a research programme was launched at Empa in 2000 with the aim of deforming mechanical structures with electrical signals. However, the mate-rials known at that time could hardly be used for specific applications. They did too little and were too expensive. However, believing firmly in the technology’s potential, they decided to move forward and set up the Functional Polymers department to develop these materials themselves. This makes actuators a “classic Empa case,” says Gröning, since they have their origins in materials research. What sets Empa apart is that the idea will then be refined “in this way in two different laboratories”. The engineering challenge was compounded by the optimisation of the material.

“Electroactive polymers have the potential to revolutionise electronic controls.” Pierangelo Gröning, member of the directorate and Head of the “Modern Materials and Surfaces” department

Dorina Opris is involved in the development of more suitable polymer films tailored to specific needs. The breakthrough was achieved thanks to her expertise. She modifies the elastomers that make up the films with dipoles, which makes them more “sensitive”. After modification, they become deformed at much lower voltages. She has also made the films “fit” for the special manufacturing process, in which they are applied to one another like in a 3D printer. This wet stack process also makes the Empa technology unique – automation has already been incorporated.

There are two manufacturing robots in the Kovacs research laboratory. One of the machines prints the finest film layers including stretchable electrodes, one on top of the other, so that a plastic plate about 0.5 millimetres thick slowly grows. This is then cut into small pieces in the other machine and stacked. As soon as electrical voltage is applied, each individual film is deformed marginally, and its thickness changes as well. The result would hardly be noticeable with a single layer, but there are more than 1000 foil layers in a stack. The effect is multiplied accordingly, and the actuators achieve movements from millimetres to centimetres that are even visible to the naked eye. The movement is completely silent, and the actuators compact and light. And reliable. The “artificial muscles” perform their movements thou-sands and millions of times without complaint. The principle can also be reversed: if the foils change thickness under pressure, this appears as an electrical signal.

One of the machines prints the finest film layers including stretchable electrodes, one on top of the other, so that a plastic plate about 0.5 millimetres thick slowly grows. This is then cut into small pieces in the other machine and stacked.

On the one hand, Kovacs envisages that they can be used in the human body as “auxiliary muscles”. However, he also sees great potential in the con-sumer goods industry. Human-machine interaction could be completely transformed by actuators. Imagine a flat user interface that reacts by tactile rather than visual means. Buttons are created as required, and a relief is constantly changing. This is of interest to the car industry, for example. “Morphing cockpits will be standard in cars in ten years,” predicts Kovacs. CTsystems, a business which grew out of his tenacious research work, will put this into practice and bring it onto the market.

A l’Empa, des matériaux très différents sont étudiés, dont certains ont des propriétés surprenantes. Il existe p. ex. des élastomères qui réagissent à l’électricité et se contractent ou se dilatent en fonction de la tension appliquée. Il y a 20 ans, des chercheurs se sont demandé ce qu’il était possible d’en faire. Les résultats sont aujourd’hui presque prêts à être lancés sur le marché et pourraient révolutionner les commandes électroniques.

Les actionneurs développés par Gabor Kovacs (à g.) pourraient passer à une application industrielle à grande échelle. Dorina Opris a adapté les films polymères aux besoins spécifiques. (Photos: Basil Stüchli/Conseil des EPF)

Quelque chose doit être mis en mouvement? La nature s’appuie sur les muscles, la technologie sur les moteurs, la nature déforme, la technologie tourne et visse. Cela pourrait bientôt changer, car des chercheurs de l’Empa sont en train de lancer sur le marché des «actionneurs» bon marché et disponibles en masse. Ils se basent sur une technologie simple, mais plutôt secrète: les élastomères diélectriques font partie des polymères électroactifs et sont des matériaux qui se déforment lorsqu’une tension électrique est appliquée. Les raisons de ce phénomène sont encore à l’étude au niveau moléculaire. Au cours des 20 dernières années, on a néanmoins appris à «maîtriser» ces matériaux de telle sorte que la déformation se fasse de manière très ciblée et puisse être manipulée avec précision. «Il n’est pas simple de produire un mouvement linéaire», relate Pierangelo Gröning, membre de la direction et responsable du département «Matériaux modernes et surfaces». Mais au fil des ans, on n’a cessé de s’approcher du but, en appliquant des tensions relativement faibles grâce au savoir-faire de l’Empa. Ainsi, les actionneurs développés par Gabor Kovacs pourraient passer à une application industrielle à grande échelle.

Dans la main, les actionneurs de test agissent comme une pile de plastique souple composée de nombreuses plaques minces. Ils n’ont rien de spectaculaire, mais la pile de dix centimètres de haut a nécessité beaucoup de travail de recherche. Un programme de recherche a été initié à l’Empa en 2000 dans le but de déformer des structures mécaniques à l’aide de signaux électriques, se remémore G. Kovacs. Mais les matériaux connus alors étaient difficilement utilisables pour des applications concrètes. Ils n’étaient pas assez performants et coûtaient trop cher. Mais comme on croyait ferme-ment au potentiel de la technologie, on a décidé de prendre le taureau par les cornes et on a fondé la division des polymères fonctionnels afin de développer ces matériaux nous-mêmes. C’est ce qui fait des actionneurs un «cas classique de l’Empa», explique P. Gröning, puisqu’ils sont issus de la recherche sur les matériaux. Décider ensuite de continuer à travailler sur l’idée «dans deux laboratoires différents», c’est ce qui différencie l’Empa. Le défi technique a été relevé par l’optimisation du matériau.

«Les polymères électroactifs pourraient révolutionner les commandes électroniques.» Pierangelo Gröning, membre de la direction et responsable du département «Matériaux modernes et surfaces»

D. Opris a participé au développement de films polymères plus appropriés et adaptés aux besoins spécifiques. Son savoir-faire a permis de réaliser la percée. Elle modifie les élastomères qui composent les films avec des dipôles, ce qui les rend plus «sensibles». Cette modification leur permet de se déformer avec des tensions beaucoup plus faibles. Elle a également adapté les films au procédé de fabrication spécial et les applique les uns sur autres comme dans une imprimante 3D. Ce «procédé d’empilage humide» rend aussi la technologie de l’Empa unique – l’automatisation a déjà été prise en compte.

Le laboratoire de recherche de G. Kovacs héberge deux robots de fabrication. Une machine imprime de très fines couches de films, y compris les électrodes étirables, les unes sur les autres, de sorte qu’une plaque de plastique d’environ 0,5 millimètre d’épaisseur croît lentement. Celle-ci est en-suite coupée en petits morceaux et empilés dans l’autre machine. Dès qu’une tension électrique est appliquée, chaque film se déforme un peu et son épaisseur se modifie aussi. Avec une seule couche, on ne remarquerait presque rien du résultat, mais dans une telle pile, il y a plus de 1000 couches de films. L’effet est donc aussi multiplié et les actionneurs réalisent des mouvements allant de quelques mm à quelques cm qui peuvent même être vus à l’œil nu. Le mouvement est silencieux, les actionneurs sont compacts, légers et fiables. Les «muscles artificiels» effectuent leurs mouvements des milliers et des millions de fois. De plus, le principe peut aussi être inversé: si les films changent d’épaisseur sous pression, cela se traduit par un signal électrique.

Une machine imprime de très fines couches de films, y compris les électrodes étirables, les unes sur les autres, de sorte qu’une plaque de plastique d’environ 0,5 millimètre d’épaisseur croît lentement.

G. Kovacs entrevoit des applications d’une part dans le corps humain comme «muscles auxiliaires». Mais il voit aussi un grand potentiel dans l’industrie de consommation. L’interaction homme-machine pourrait être complètement révolutionnée par les actionneurs. Imaginez, une interface utilisateur plate ne réagit pas visuellement, mais tactilement. Les boutons sont créés en fonction des besoins, un relief est en constante évolution. Cela intéresse notamment l’industrie automobile. «Dans dix ans, des tableaux de bord adaptatifs seront installés en série dans les voitures», prédit G. Kovacs. La société CTsystems, qui est le résultat de son patient travail de recherche, s’y prépare.