There’s more to the Internet than just the likes of Google, Facebook and Twitter. There’s a whole infrastructure constructed behind it. If Swiss values could be injected into it, perhaps confidence in the Internet might be restored. While all the talk is about cybersecurity, there is still a great deal of uncertainty. That’s what experts from the ETH Domain have to say about this issue.

Symbolic image Shutterstock

Cybersecurity. Or security in the digital realm, which is frequently no longer even called cyberspace be-cause it has long since become part of our everyday lives. And that’s precisely where the problem lies too. Some people still haven’t developed a sense of this space, especially of its dark corners and pitfalls. The German Chancellor Angela Merkel called it “uncharted territory” a few years ago and was criticised on the Internet for that comment. But she wasn’t altogether wrong. Society is taking this “uncharted territory” – and everything that makes it work – too much for granted. 

It has become clear to every Internet user since the US whistle-blower Edward Snowden made his revelations, if not before, that ambiguities and dangers lurk pretty much everywhere on the Internet. And new stories keep cropping up: it was recently reported that Asian hardware companies had been incorporating discreet back doors into the electronic infrastructure we use every day.

Nothing seems safe any more. You are left with a sense of unease and many questions. Where’s the threat actually coming from? What everyday digital activities and, more especially, which careless actions make you vulnerable? Are private Internet surfers even being targeted? Would society collapse in the event of a targeted attack on digital infrastructure? Are there problems residing within the structure of the Internet? Or should we be most afraid of malicious disruptive acts?

The digital world has infrastructure and “engineers” who build it. Switzerland has some of the best engineers in the world and, above all, engineering with a reputation for being highly reliable. Both Federal Institutes of Technology train engineers. Wouldn’t Switzerland have a lot to offer in order to build the digital realm to be both elegant and robust? A digital engineering paradigm based on bridges, tunnels and building statics.

C4DT: Interdisciplinary cybersecurity
Engineers have to know what stresses their system will face. For the safety of a bridge, this means that it has to be stable enough to withstand the ravages of time and the expected volume of traffic. And extreme peak loads, of course. But would it also have to be able to withstand an earthquake? If so, up to what magnitude? Therefore, the question of safety is always a question about the likely danger too.

Professor Edouard Bugnion, Vice President for Information Systems at EPFL and one of the initiators of the recently launched “Center for Digital Trust” (C4DT),believes that computer networks should not have to withstand natural hazards, but rather targeted attacks by perpetrators whose motivation he has no hesitation in calling “perverse”. “The enemy is not nature, but private or state attackers.” Therefore, the question of the security of a system, its resilience, is very different from the question of building physical structures. And as far as defence against cyber attacks is concerned, Switzerland clearly lacks the means and thus the expertise compared with other countries, such as the major players as well as specialists such as Israel. Nevertheless, Switzerland is precisely the right place to restore confidence in these systems.

In addition to engineering, Bugnion also sees a second great Swiss tradition, one that is just as important in developing identity and trust: reliability. For centuries, Switzerland has specialised in areas which are based on reliability and, thus, on trust between people, be it luxury watches, banks or insurance companies. This is an attribute that can also be put to good use in the digital realm. C4DT, which is an umbrella organisation for the research activities of more than 30 groups, is trying to combine ethical issues and political feasibility, adopting an interdisciplinary approach, for example in relation to encryption technologies. Security is under-stood here in a broader sense, as a kind of culture to be fostered.

Myriam Dunn Cavelty is in complete agreement with this. “Cybersecurity has long since ceased to be just a technical problem.” The researcher at the Center for Security Studies (CSS) at ETH Zurich firmly believes that we will not have secure cyberspace unless there is a socio-political agreement to protect this territory. There are some initiatives to change that, and occa-sionally they come from surprising quarters. Dunn Cavelty mentions the idea recently proposed by Microsoft President Brad Smith for a new Geneva Convention for digital space. This did not necessarily meet with widespread approval, “because countries do not like to be guided by private enterprise”. Nevertheless, she believes that Switzerland and Geneva, in particular, could play a special role in international efforts to stem attacks on digital infrastructure. On the other hand, she considers attempts to establish digital sovereignty in the national con-text as “humbug”. Bugnion feels the same way: “You have to be more European in your thinking.”In particular, he bemoans the absence of a European initiative for a different digital culture, focusing strongly on data protection and a secure Internet.

«Das jetzige Internet hat so viele Probleme, dass man es von Grund auf neu konzipieren und bauen muss, wenn man es wieder sicherer machen will.» Professor Adrian Perrig, Leiter der Network Security Group an der ETH Zürich

SCION – new Internet architecture
Adrian Perrig thinks global. The professor at ETH Zurich and head of the Network Security Group has perhaps taken on one of the most ground-breaking cybersecurity projects in the ETH Domain; he wants to rebuild the entire Internet. The network specialist realised at some point that “the current Internet has so many problems that you have to redesign and build it from scratch if you want to make it more secure.” Perrig and his group have invested a good ten years of research into this topic. Specifically, the aim has been to find out how much security can be achieved at all. Not as a theoretical ideal, but in everyday computing practice. “Achieving absolute security for the use of computers is very difficult,” Perrig cautions. However, in the case of networks, he is very optimistic after many years of testing. The new Internet architecture is not only more secure, but also more efficient.

Another important contribution is the work done in the research groups led by Professors David Basin and Peter Müller at ETH Zurich. They are working on mathematical proof that the Internet protocols and the code are actually secure. “Due to the complexity of today’s Internet, this so-called formal verification is extremely difficult,” says Basin, adding, “but it is the structure of our new network architecture that makes verification possible in the first place. Professor Müller’s group is working on the verification of the source code. He observes that “in recent years, we have done intensive research to improve our methods in order to provide evidence.” Thanks to a breakthrough, it was possible to use the methods of evidence developed by the Basin and Müller groups so that the entire system, from protocol to code, is verifiably secure.

This new network is called SCION (Scalability, Control, and Isolation on Next-Generation Networks), and Perrig promises that users will not notice any difference between it and the “old” Internet; and if they do, they’ll find surfing more enjoyable. One of the ways in which the SCION team achieves this is by specifically influencing the paths of the data packets and using several different paths for a single transmission, for example one with a short delay for the audio signal and one with more bandwidth for the video signal. There is no need to completely rebuild everything for this. “Imagine if you could choose to go along a road either on a bicycle or in an electric car.” While this may still be a vision for the future, it is not too far off; intensive negotiations are under way with Internet providers. So, does this mean thatyou will soon have several options for how you want to surf, as you do with electricity providers? At low cost and insecure or in the fast lane, with network architecture from the 21st century? That doesn’t sound all that farfetched; it’s actually perfectly reasonable from an engineering perspective

The “enemy” in my laptop
But what if the problem is in your own computer? Professor Gabriel Aeppli, member of the directorate and Head of the Photon Research Division at the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) can well imagine that the hardware has already been manipulated. While the software that keeps the western digital world turning was probably written in America or Europe, the hard-ware in most computers is produced in Asia. If it were possible to corrupt the computer components during manufacture, then normal defence strategies or new network architectures wouldn’t be much use. Therefore, Aeppli believes that it will soon be standard practice to conduct spot checks on hardware de-liveries down to individual circuit level.

So far, this has only been possible with great effort, which makes reasonable monitoring impossible, which opens the door to suspicious activities, of course. This is precisely where new X-ray technology co-developed by Aeppli could help. It can X-ray entire chips within a matter of minutes without destroying them. The 3D method perfected at the PSI has caused quite a stir in technology circles, as it allows the routing of the internal, nanometer size components to be shown in detail and without any distortion for the very first time. The deliverables can then be compared with the goods ordered. It is good for trust, and monitoring will be better in the future.

It begs a key question at the psychological level. Who can you even trust? The story about the corrupted hardware did nothing to improve trust, not least of all since the companies affected denied everything and sought injunctions against the reporters. Then again, this reaction is hardly surprising when you consider how damaging this sort of loss of trust would be to business. Dunn Cavelty’s view is that “trust is crucial, not least of all for the economy

L’Internet ne se limite pas qu’à Google, Facebook, Twitter & Co.: c’est aussi une infrastructure concrète. Si celle-ci intégrait les qualités suisses, la Toile inspirerait peut-être davantage confiance. La cybersécurité est sur toutes les lèvres, mais l’insécurité est grande. C’est l’avis des experts du Domaine des EPF.

Image symbolique Shutterstock

Cybersécurité. La sécurité au sein de l’espace numérique, que l’on n’appelle plus le cyberespace, depuis le temps qu’il fait partie de notre quotidien. Et c’est là le problème: les utilisateurs ont toujours du mal à cerner cet espace, surtout ses zones d’ombre et ses pièges. Il y a quelques années, la chancelière allemande Angela Merkel avait été critiquée pour l’avoir qualifié de territoire inconnu. Mais elle n’avait pas tout à fait tort. En effet, la société considère ce «nouveau territoire» – et tout ce qui le fait fonctionner – comme un acquis évident.

Depuis les révélations d’Edward Snowden, voire même avant, tout internaute sait pourtant à quel point le réseau peut être ambivalent et dangereux. De nouvelles histoires défraient régulièrement la chronique. Récemment, on a pu lire que des entre-prises asiatiques de matériel informatique installaient depuis longtemps des mouchards sur des composants électroniques que nous utilisons au quotidien.

Plus rien ne semble sûr. Un malaise s’est installé et les questions se multiplient. Mais d’où vient la menace? Quelles activités numériques quotidiennes et surtout quelles négligences rendent vulnérables? Les particuliers sont-ils visés? La société pourrait-elle s’effondrer après une attaque ciblée de l’infrastructure numérique? Les problèmes résident-ils dans la structure même du réseau? Ou faut-il plutôt redouter des actions malveillantes?

Le monde numérique a une infrastructure et des ingénieurs qui la construisent. La Suisse peut compter sur les meilleurs ingénieurs au monde et surtout sur une ingénierie réputée particulièrement fiable.

Les deux EPF formant des ingénieurs, la Suisse n’est-elle pas bien placée pour organiser le monde numérique de façon aussi élégante que robuste? Un paradigme d’ingénierie numérique, adossé aux ponts, aux tunnels et à la statique de construction.

C4DT: la cybersécurité interdisciplinaire
Un ingénieur doit connaître les charges auxquelles son système sera exposé. Si l’on prend l’exemple d’un pont, celui-ci doit être assez solide pour résister à l’usure du temps et à la circulation prévue. Et aussi aux sollicitations maximales extrêmes. Ne devrait-il pas aussi pouvoir faire face à un tremblement de terre? Et si oui, de quelle intensité? La question de la sécurité est toujours une question de risque à prévoir.

Les réseaux informatiques n’ont pas à résister à des dangers naturels, mais à des attaques ciblées aux motivations qualifiées de «différentes» par le professeur Edouard Bugnion, vice-président pour les systèmes d’information de l’EPFL qui est à l’origine du Center for Digital Trust (C4DT). «L’adversaire n’est pas la nature, mais des instigateurs privés ou publics.» La question de la sécurité d’un système, de sa résistance n’est pas la même que pour la construction de structures physiques. Et en ce qui concerne la défense face aux cyberattaques, la Suisse manque clairement de moyens et d’expertise, par rapport à d’autres pays – comme les grands protagonistes et les spécialistes tels Israël. Malgré tout, la Suisse peut justement être le bon endroit pour restaurer la confiance dans ces systèmes.

Pour E. Bugnion, la Suisse dispose, en plus de son ingénierie, d’un autre grand atout qui a une forte valeur identitaire et qui inspire la confiance: sa fiabilité. Depuis des siècles, la Suisse s’est spécialisée dans des domaines qui reposent sur la fiabilité et sur la confiance entre les personnes: montres de luxe, banques, assurances... Cette qualité pourrait servir au sein de l’espace numérique. Le C4DT, qui réunit une trentaine de groupes de recherche, essaie dans plusieurs disciplines de concilier questions éthiques et applicabilité sur le plan politique, en lien par exemple avec les technologies de cryptage. Ici, le terme sécurité a une acception plus large, celle de culture à entretenir.

Myriam Dunn Cavelty est tout à fait d’accord: «La cybersécurité est plus qu’un simple problème tech-nique.» Chercheuse au Center for Security Studies(CSS) de l’ETH Zurich, elle est convaincue que, tant qu’il n’existera pas d’accord socio-politique qui protégera le cyberespace, ce territoire ne sera pas sûr. On recense quelques initiatives pour y remédier, aux origines parfois surprenantes. M. Dunn Cavelty cite l’idée d’une nouvelle convention de Genève pour l’espace numérique qu’a récemment proposée le président de Microsoft Brad Smith. Celle-ci a rencontré peu d’écho, «les Etats n’aimant pas que des entreprises privées leur dictent ce qu’il faut faire.» Mais M. Dunn Cavelty pense que la Suisse et Genève, en particulier, pourraient jouer un rôle intéressant dans la lutte internationale contre les attaques portées à l’infrastructure numérique. En revanche, elle considère comme une «bêtise» les tentatives d’établir la souveraineté numérique dans un contexte national. E. Bugnion partage cet avis: «Nous devons penser plus européen.» Il regrette l’absence d’une initiative européenne qui ferait évoluer la culture numérique en direction d’une forte protection des données et de la sécurité d’Internet.

«L’Internet actuel se heurte à tant de problèmes qu’il faudrait entièrement revoir sa conception et sa construction pour le rendre à nouveau plus sûr.» Adrian Perrig, professeur et responsable du Network Security Group à l’ETH Zurich

SCION – une nouvelle architecture pour l’Internet
Adrian Perrig pense global. Ce professeur à l’ETH Zurich, qui dirige le Network Security Group, mène peut-être l’un des projets les plus révolutionnaires du Domaine des EPF en matière de cybersécurité: il veut reconstruire Internet dans son ensemble. Un jour, ce spécialiste réseau a pris conscience que l’Internet actuel se heurtait à tant de problèmes qu’il faudrait entièrement revoir sa conception et sa construction pour le rendre à nouveau plus sûr. A. Perrig et son groupe ont travaillé une bonne dizaine d’années sur ce thème. Concrètement, il s’agissait de déterminer le niveau de sécurité que l’on pouvait atteindre. Pas en tant qu’idéal théorique, mais dans l’utilisation quotidienne des outils informatiques. «Il est très difficile d’atteindre un niveau de sécurité absolu avec les ordinateurs», précise A. Perrig. Mais, concernant les réseaux, plu-sieurs années d’essais l’ont rendu très optimiste. La nouvelle architecture Internet est plus sûre, mais aussi plus efficace.

Une autre contribution importante est le travail effectué par les groupes de recherche des professeurs David Basin et Peter Müller à l’ETH Zurich. Leur objectif: prouver mathématiquement que les protocoles Internet et le code sont effectivement sûrs. «La complexité de l’Internet actuel rend la vérification formelle extrêmement difficile. Mais la structure de notre nouvelle architecture réseau rend cette vérification possible», explique D. Basin. Le groupe du professeur Müller travaille à la vérification du code source. «Ces dernières années, nous avons essayé d’arrache-pied d’améliorer nos méthodes pour obtenir une preuve de cette ampleur», annonce-t-il. Une percée a permis d’intégrer les techniques de preuve des groupes de D. Basin et de P. Müller: l’ensemble du système est sûr, du protocole jusqu’au code, et c’est prouvé.

Ce nouveau réseau a été baptisé SCION (Scalability, Control, and Isolation on Next-Generation Networks). A. Perrig promet que l’utilisateur ne remarque aucune différence entre celui-ci et l’«ancien» Inter-net, hormis peut-être un plus grand confort de navigation. Ce résultat tient notamment au fait que l’on peut influencer de façon ciblée le parcours des paquets de données et que la transmission peut emprunter différents itinéraires, par exemple un chemin au court temps de retard pour le signal audio et un autre offrant un meilleur débit pour le signal vidéo. Il ne s’agirait pas de tout reconstruire à zéro. «Ce serait un peu comme si on pouvait choisir de se déplacer sur une même route soit avec une bicyclette, soit avec un véhicule électrique.» Cette vision n’est pas celle d’un avenir lointain puisque des négociations intensives sont en cours avec des fournisseurs d’accès à Internet.

Disposerons-nous donc bientôt de plusieurs options pour surfer sur Internet? A bas prix mais sans garantie de sécurité ou sur la voie express, avec une architecture réseau du XXIe siècle? Du point de vue d’un ingénieur, ceci ne semble guère pré-somptueux, c’est juste raisonnable.

L’«ennemi» est dans l’ordinateur
Mais que faire si le problème est au sein même de l’ordinateur? Pour Gabriel Aeppli, professeur, membre de la direction et directeur de la Photon Science Division à l’Institut Paul Scherrer (PSI), le matériel informatique peut avoir été manipulé. Tandis que les logiciels qui font tourner le monde occidental viennent souvent d’Amérique ou d’Europe, les composants des ordinateurs sont eux majoritairement produits en Asie. Si des éléments peuvent être corrompus dès le stade de la fabrication, les stratégies de défense traditionnelles et les nouvelles architectures de réseau sont vouées à l’impuissance. G. Aeppli pense donc que les procédures standard prévoiront bientôt l’examen à la loupe des livraisons de matériel informatique par échantillonnage et ce, jusqu’aux circuits imprimés.

Jusqu’à présent, les moyens à y consacrer étaient tels que cela rendait impossible tout contrôle raisonnable et laissait planer le doute. Mais G. Aeppli a participé au développement d’une nouvelle technologie d’imagerie qui permettrait d’y remédier puisqu’elle pourrait scruter des puces entières en quelques minutes, sans les détruire. Cette méthode tridimensionnelle, mise au point au PSI, a déjà fait sensation au sein de la communauté technologique car, et c’est inédit, elle permet de visualiser les conductions de courant dans les composants internes, mesurant quelques nanomètres, en détail et sans déformation. On pourrait donc comparer le produit livré à celui commandé. La confiance n’exclut pas le contrôle.

Une question centrale se pose au niveau psychologique: à qui peut-on encore faire confiance? L’histoire des composants informatiques corrompus n’a pas renforcé la confiance, notamment parce que les entreprises concernées ont tout démenti et demandé aux reporters de s’abstenir. Cette réaction ne surprend pas outre mesure, quand on réfléchit à l’impact d’une telle perte de confiance. M. Dunn Cavelty est bien consciente de ce problème: «La confiance est essentielle, y compris dans le domaine de l’économie.»