ETH Board, 25 October 2019

The ETH Board intends to create a new institute in the area of the environment and sustainability. It thus aims to focus research in the ETH Domain on urgent social questions such as climate change and the sustainable use of resources in a more targeted way. In this context, the two research institutes WSL and Eawag will be united for this purpose in the medium term. The objective of the new institute is to use its leading international research to find solutions for a sustainable future for society, and to develop Switzerland further as a leading research centre for the environment and sustainability.

The ETH Board is tasked with gearing teaching, research, and knowledge and technology transfer in the ETH Domain to the challenges facing society. Together with the presidents of the two Federal Institutes of Technology and the directors of the four research institutes, the ETH Board will adjust the structure and strategic orientation of the institutions of the ETH Domain to the long-term future. One of the most pressing problems is climate change and its social and economic impact. This is where the ETH Domain can make a valuable contribution, because new technologies will play a crucial role in the development of sustainable solutions.

Forward-looking orientation of the structure of the ETH Domain

On the basis of its Strategic Plans of the past few years, the ETH Board had decided to review the structure of the ETH Domain in a forward-looking way with reference to its four strategic areas of focus: Personalised Health, Data Sciences, Advanced Manufacturing and Environment & Energy. The existing thematic competencies in the ETH Domain are thus to be more clearly represented and systematically consolidated, and new initiatives by the institutions promoted in a coordinated manner. As a first step, the ETH Board is focusing on the area of environment and energy. WSL and Eawag are to be combined in order to strengthen teaching, research and knowledge and technology transfer in the area of environment and sustainability. A new institute is therefore being set up that will attract researchers from other institutions as well as a variety of partners. This decision, which was taken at the end of September 2019, followed various discussions in the ETH Board over a period of several years, in which the presidents of the two Federal Institutes of Technology and the directors of the four research institutes were regularly involved.

WSL and Eawag to be combined into an institute for environment and sustainability

In the medium term, WSL and Eawag are to be amalgamated into this internationally prominent institute, which has a working title of “Swiss Federal Institute of Technology for Environment and Sustainability”. The ETH Board is thus also responding strategically to an external evaluation, which recommends that cooperation within the ETH Domain should be strengthened. The next step will be to clarify the question of how energy research topics at PSI and Empa that relate to the new institute could be pooled more effectively; this will be done in consultation with ETH Zurich and EPFL.

Combining the strengths of WSL and Eawag under one roof and one management offers an opportunity to exploit synergies while also boosting international visibility and cooperation on content. The ambition of the ETH Board is to supplement the existing top-class competencies of WSL and Eawag with additional relevant focus areas. These additional thematic focuses will be developed jointly with the researchers. No changes are planned as regards the current sites, job numbers and key national tasks. “It is high time for this kind of institute for the environment and sustainability,” says Beth Krasna, President of the ETH Board. “Current events and debates show that society is demanding solutions for a sustainable future. Thanks to its leading international research and its technological and scientific expertise, the ETH Domain has an important role to play.”

Enhanced cooperation in the ETH Domain and next steps

The two research institutes PSI and Empa, as well as the two universities ETH Zurich and EPFL, will also be encouraged to strengthen their coordination and cooperation with the new institution. A specific working group has been tasked with working out the research activities to be undertaken by the new institute, and will devise these in close cooperation with researchers from the subject areas concerned over the next few months. The working group consists of representatives of all institutions of the ETH Domain. At the same time, it will be necessary to formulate the mission of the future institute and prepare for the political process. Before the documents are submitted to the Federal Council, an official internal consultation process on these subjects will be held with the institutions next year. On the one hand, the selected procedure will ensure strategic leadership by the ETH Board, which defines the overarching orientation. On the other, the strong involvement of the researchers and management of the institutions guarantees that the topics covered and the portfolio of research activities are in line with the ETH Domain’s claim to be a leading international research centre.

Conseil des EPF, 25 octobre 2019

Le Conseil des EPF envisage de créer un nouvel institut dédié à l’environnement et à la durabilité. Il entend ainsi orienter les activités de recherche effectuées au sein du Domaine des EPF de manière encore plus ciblée sur les enjeux de société urgents, tels que le changement climatique et la gestion durable des ressources. Dans ce contexte, il est prévu de regrouper à moyen terme deux établissements de recherche, à savoir le WSL et l’Eawag. Grâce à ses activités à la pointe mondiale de la recherche, ce nouvel institut contribuera à élaborer des solutions afin de garantir un avenir durable à la société et de permettre à la Suisse de poursuivre son développement en tant que pôle de recherche majeur en matière d’environnement et de durabilité.

Le Conseil des EPF a pour mission de veiller à ce que les activités d’enseignement, de recherche ainsi que de transfert de savoir et de technologie menées au sein du Domaine des EPF restent en phase avec les grands enjeux de société. L’objectif est d’axer la structure et l’orientation stratégique des institutions du Domaine des EPF sur une perspective à long terme, en collaboration avec les présidents des deux EPF ainsi que la directrice et les directeurs des quatre établissements de recherche. Parmi les problèmes les plus urgents figure le changement climatique et ses conséquences sur la société et l’économie. Un sujet sur lequel le Domaine des EPF peut justement apporter une contribution précieuse puisque les nouvelles technologies joueront un rôle crucial dans l’élaboration de solutions durables.

Orienter la structure du Domaine des EPF vers l’avenir

Se fondant sur les plans stratégiques de ces dernières années, le Conseil des EPF a décidé de remanier la structure du Domaine des EPF dans une optique tournée vers l’avenir, à la lumière de ses quatre grands axes stratégiques de recherche: Médecine personnalisée, Science des données, Advanced Manufacturing ainsi qu’Environnement et énergie. Il s’agit de dresser un inventaire des compétences thématiques en présence dans le Domaine des EPF, de les regrouper de manière ciblée et d’encourager les nouvelles initiatives des institutions de façon coordonnée. Le Conseil des EPF se consacrera dans un premier temps au thème Environnement et énergie. Il est prévu de réunir le WSL et l’Eawag afin de renforcer l’enseignement, la recherche ainsi que le transfert de savoir et de technologie dans le secteur de l’environnement et de la durabilité. Un nouvel institut sera donc créé pour attirer les chercheurs d’autres institutions et intéresser de nouveaux partenaires. La décision prise fin septembre 2019 est l’aboutissement de toute une série de discussions menées par le Conseil des EPF au fil des années, discussions auxquelles les présidents des deux EPF ainsi que la directrice et les directeurs des établissements de recherche ont régulièrement pris part.

Le WSL et l’Eawag réunis dans un institut dédié à l’environnement et à la durabilité

A moyen terme, le WSL et l’Eawag doivent être réunis au sein du Swiss Federal Institute of Technology for Environment and Sustainability (titre provisoire), un établissement au rayonnement international. Cette décision stratégique du Conseil des EPF lui permet également de faire suite à une évaluation externe, dont l’une des recommandations est de renforcer la coopération au sein du Domaine des EPF. L’étape suivante consistera à déterminer, en coordination avec l’ETH Zurich et l’EPFL, comment les activités de recherche sur l’énergie menées par le PSI et l’Empa et ayant un lien avec le futur institut pourront être intégrées de manière encore plus efficace.

La mise en commun des forces du WSL et de l’Eawag au sein d’une même entité avec une direction commune offre la possibilité d’exploiter des synergies ainsi que de renforcer la visibilité internationale et la coopération thématique. L’ambition du Conseil des EPF est de compléter les excellentes compétences existant au sein du WSL et de l’Eawag avec d’autres thématiques pertinentes, qui seront développées en concertation avec les chercheurs. Les sites et les postes de travail actuels, tout comme les services nationaux importants, seront maintenus. «Il est grand temps de créer un institut consacré à l’environnement et à la durabilité», déclare Beth Krasna, présidente du Conseil des EPF. «Les débats et événements récents montrent que la société réclame des solutions pour garantir un avenir durable. Grâce à ses recherches de pointe à l’échelle mondiale et aux compétences dont il dispose en matière de technologie et de sciences naturelles, le Domaine des EPF joue un rôle-clé à ce niveau.»

Renforcement de la collaboration au sein du Domaine des EPF et prochaines étapes

Les deux autres établissements de recherche, à savoir le PSI et l’Empa, ainsi que l’ETH Zurich et l’EPFL seront également invités à renforcer la coordination et la coopération avec la nouvelle institution. Un groupe de travail spécifique a été chargé de définir les activités de recherche du nouvel institut. Il les mettra au point durant les prochains mois en étroite collaboration avec les chercheurs travaillant dans les disciplines concernées. Ce groupe de travail est composé de représentants de toutes les institutions du Domaine des EPF. En parallèle, il faudra préciser la mission du futur institut et préparer le processus au niveau politique. Toutes ces étapes donneront lieu l’an prochain à une consultation interne officielle au sein des institutions avant que les documents ne soient soumis au Conseil fédéral. Cette manière de procéder permet, d’une part, de garantir la conduite stratégique par le Conseil des EPF puisque c’est à lui qu’il revient de définir l’orientation générale du Domaine des EPF. La forte implication des chercheurs et des directions des institutions permet, d’autre part, de veiller à ce que l’orientation thématique et le portefeuille de recherche du Domaine des EPF reflètent sa volonté de maintenir sa position à la pointe mondiale de la recherche.