Toxicity tests are currently still carried out mainly on livestock. Within the context of environmental risk assessment, this is done most commonly on fish. An alternative method developed by Eawag researchers is currently overcoming crucial hurdles to its widespread use in practice. Thanks in part to the persuasive efforts of the scientists involved.

Professor Kristin Schirmer (right) and her colleague Melanie Fischer. Foto: Basil Stücheli

How do you measure whether a chemical substance is safe for the environment? By exposing live fish to increasing doses of this chemical until they finally die. And how do you measure whether the water from wastewater treatment plants is really clean? By keeping fish as living sensors. They indicate if there are problems with the water quality, as an early warning system, so to speak.

Professor Kristin Schirmer, Head of the Environmental Toxicology Department at Eawag, had long come to realise that there would have to be another way of doing this. She calls the current standard procedure for measuring water quality an “outmoded, crude test”. Nevertheless, the so-called acute fish toxicity test is one of the most widely used tests in environmental regulation. Schirmer is convinced that it is time to change this. So how do you make sure that any danger is detected without experimenting on living organisms?

Schirmer and her team have established a method involving a cell line from the gills of rainbow trout. They proceeded on the assumption that acute fish toxicity mainly affects the gill cells in the fish. The method that has since been established is something like a standardised fish substitute that can be used in different laboratories and should provide the same results everywhere. The breakthrough came with a round-robin test in various laboratories around the globe. The scientific article on this was published in the respected journal “Toxicological Science” in April 2019. Schirmer and her team have demonstrated that the methodology, which has long been established in their own laboratory, works reliably and can also be reproduced in other laboratories.

Gill cells can be tested for vitality using fluorescent dyes
Photo: Basil Stücheli

The gill cells can be tested for vitality using fluorescent dyes. In doing so, they react to a whole spectrum of chemical substances in a similar way as living fish. “This has confirmed our assumption that toxins initially affect the gills,” said Schirmer. There were a few outliers, particularly with some neurotoxic substances. Eawag researchers are, therefore, planning to extend the procedure to include nerve cells. They are already conducting intensive studies on the effects of chemicals using cell lines from the liver and intestine of rainbow trout. They are also experimenting with the cultivation of cells on chips, on which cell vitality can be measured in real time on the basis of the electrical resistance provided by the cells. These chips should also make remotecontrolled, fully automatic measurements possible. “Our vision is to fully simulate a living fish by combining different cell types,” said Schirmer. Her team is already working on the possibility of using computer programs to investigate the effects of chemicals in the future.

“Our vision is to fully simulate a living fish by combining different cell types,” said professor Kristin Schirmer, Head of the Environmental Toxicology Department at Eawag

As ruthless as the current test may appear, at least it measures what it is supposed to measure. Or does it? “It's an illusion to assume that every test with live fish yields clear results,” says Schirmer. Because the test is primitive both in terms of its concept and its validation. In terms of comparability and reliability, the new test is much more stringent, and the requirements placed on laboratories are more rigorous. This has persuaded specialists to get behind it. It has already attracted a great deal of interest from industry. The round-robin test was co-financed by the European Chemical Association. After all, the revolution would not only mean fewer animal experiments, but also simpler, cheaper and more standardised methodology. Specific test requests soon followed from industry, and Schirmer, together with her laboratory assistant Melanie Fischer and Eawag postdoctoral student Stephan Fischer, founded the Eawag spin-off aQuaTox-Solutions back in 2016.

The matter was “actually concluded from a research perspective” with the publication of the round-robin test. Nevertheless, Schirmer and her team will continue to invest a great deal of time in the project to ensure that the methodology is actually applied in practice. She is extremely motivated by the prospect of bringing something so important to society. Thus, she made regular visits to certification authorities and learnt how to convince not only her peers from the research community and technical experts on various commissions. The combined research and lobbying efforts ultimately led to the first toxicity test using cultured gill cells being ISO-certified in 2019. This earnt the researchers the 3Rs Award 2019 by the 3R Competence Centre Switzerland (3RCC). And Schirmer is confident that further progress will now be made quickly. She is currently working with experts on the certification of the gill cell test by the OECD.

aquatox-solutions.ch

Aujourd’hui encore, la toxicité se teste pour l’essentiel sur des animaux vivants, surtout sur des poissons quand il est question de risques environnementaux. Une méthode alternative développée par des scientifiques de l’Eawag vient de franchir une étape qui devrait favoriser sa diffusion, grâce entre autres au travail d’information des scientifiques impliquées.

La professeure Kristin Schirmer (droite) et sa collègue Melanie Fischer. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Comment mesure-t-on l’innocuité d’une substance chimique sur l’environnement? En exposant des poissons vivants à des doses croissantes de ce produit jusqu’à provoquer leur mort. Et comment mesure-t-on la propreté de l’eau traitée par une station d’épuration? En y lâchant des poissons qui font office de capteurs vivants. Sortes de système d’alerte précoce, ils indiquent si la qualité de l’eau pose problème.

Kristin Schirmer, professeure et cheffe du département de toxicologie environnementale à l’Eawag, voulait trouver une autre solution. Pour elle, la méthode standard actuelle de mesure de la qualité de l’eau est rudimentaire et surannée. Malgré cela, les règlements s’appuient très souvent sur le test de toxicité aiguë sur des poissons. Il était temps d’y remédier. Mais comment être certain d’identifier tous les risques sans expérimenter sur le vivant?

K. Schirmer et son équipe ont mis au point une méthode basée sur une lignée de cellules branchiales de la truite arc-en-ciel, convaincues que la toxicité aiguë agissait d’abord sur ce type de cellules. Leur solution s’affranchit des poissons et peut être employée par différents laboratoires pour fournir partout les mêmes résultats. Un essai circulaire interlaboratoires et international l’a confirmé et a permis une percée. L’article à ce sujet a été publié en avril 2019 dans la revue Toxicological Sciences. K. Schirmer et son équipe ont prouvé que leur méthode était solide et reproductible dans d’autres laboratoires.

Colorants fluorescents
Photo: Basil Stücheli

Des colorants fluorescents permettent de tester la vitalité des cellules branchiales qui réagissent à un large spectre de substances chimiques, à l’instar des poissons vivants. «Nous avions supposé que les substances toxiques agissaient d’abord sur les branchies et cette hypothèse s’est confirmée», relate K. Schirmer. Quelques exceptions existent, notamment en présence de substances neurotoxiques. Les scientifiques de l’Eawag vont donc étendre la méthode aux cellules nerveuses. Elles utilisent des lignées de cellules hépatiques et intestinales de la truite arc-en-ciel pour étudier l’effet des produits chimiques. Elles emploient aussi des puces pour mesurer la vitalité cellulaire en temps réel en se fondant sur la résistance électrique des cellules. Ces puces devraient permettre des mesures à distance automatisées. «Notre ambition est de simuler entièrement un poisson vivant en combinant plusieurs types de cellules», précise la chercheuse. Son équipe travaille sur la mise au point de programmes informatiques capables d’identifier tous les effets des produits chimiques.

«Notre ambition est de simuler entièrement un poisson vivant en combinant plusieurs types de cellules», précise Kristin Schirmer, professeure et cheffe du département de toxicologie environnementale à l’Eawag

S’il est sans pitié, le test actuel a l’avantage de mesurer ce qu’il doit mesurer. Non? «Il est illusoire de croire que les tests sur des poissons vivants fournissent des résultats indiscutables», conteste K. Schirmer. Le test est primitif, tant au niveau du concept que de la validation. En matière de comparabilité et de fiabilité, le nouveau test est plus strict et les exigences posées aux laboratoires plus rigoureuses. Les spécialistes ont été convaincus. Et l’industrie s’y intéresse de près. L’essai circulaire a été cofinancé par le Conseil européen de l’industrie chimique. Cette révolution réduirait les expérimentations animales, tout en simplifiant et standardisant la procédure qui serait aussi moins coûteuse. Des acteurs économiques ont rapidement demandé des tests, si bien que K. Schirmer, Melanie Fischer, sa laborantine, et Stephan Fischer, postdoctorant de l’Eawag, ont fondé la spin-off Eawag aQuaTox-Solutions dès 2016.

Si la publication de l’étude circulaire marque l’aboutissement des travaux de recherche menés, K. Schirmer et son équipe consacrent encore beaucoup de temps à ce projet afin que leur méthode soit effectivement appliquée. Leur motivation à apporter ce progrès à la société est immense. K. Schirmer rend régulièrement visite à des organismes de certification et apprend à convaincre aussi bien ses collègues scientifiques que les experts techniques des différentes commissions. Grâce à ce travail de recherche et d’information, le tout premier test de toxicité employant des cellules branchiales cultivées a été certifié ISO en 2019. Le Centre de compétence suisse (3RCC) a de ce fait décerné aux chercheuses le prix 3Rs 2019. K. Schirmer est convaincue que les progrès vont s’accélérer. Actuellement, elle travaille avec des experts sur la certification du test par l’OCDE.

aquatox-solutions.ch