What is the interior of Mars like? What is the structure and dynamics of the Red Planet? Planetary researchers only had a rough idea about this. They have only been able to use one of their most efficient methods of analysing ground vibrations for the past year or so, thanks to ETH Zurich.

The seismometer as a 1:2 model. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Mars Seismological Service. The name conjures up a lot of images: a dome somewhere in the red dust, a pioneering project to explore and colonise the desert planet? It might sound like the stuff of science fiction, but it is real. Domenico Giardini, professor of seismology and geodynamics, would be happy to help on that. Three young researchers are sitting in front of a bank of screens in an office at ETH Zurich, analysing and characterising the data received. The Mars Seismological Service is operated in collaboration with seismologists from the Swiss Seismological Service. A number of groups at ETH Zurich are ultimately responsible for the data acquisition and control electronics. The highly sensitive electronics of the seismometer were developed at the Aerospace Electronics and Instruments Laboratory at ETH Zurich.

The analogy to the regular seismological service is no coincidence. There is a competitive edge to NASA's Discovery programs – whoever presents the best scientific idea is invited to join the flight. The proposal put forward by ETH Zurich went down well, and so the InSight mission brought the seismometer developed by the European consortium to the Red Planet. The proposal explicitly stated: “We will do everything in the Mars Seismological Service exactly as we do on Earth,” said Giardini. This means using tried and tested infrastructure, existing knowledge and an institution with a reputation for a stable research environment.

But there is one difference. “The InSight instrument is more sensitive than any other instrument used on Earth.” And it had to withstand a long voyage through space, not to mention a tricky landing. It was set down on the surface of Mars on 19 December 2018 as the only seismometer to detect vibrations. The first recording of a quake on Mars was made on 6 April 2019. The researchers use sophisticated methodologies to accurately pinpoint some of the one or two quakes that are recorded each day. To do this, Giardini and his team combine methods from the early days of seismology with modern analytical techniques. What they discover will not only help to answer unsolved questions about the geological structure of Mars, but more generally about the formation of Earth-like planets in the inner solar system.

“You only get one chance. Everything has to work right as the mission is unmanned", knows Domenico Giardini, ETH Zurich professor of seismology and geodynamics

“We already knew a lot about the surface of Mars,” says Giardini, “but we could only speculate about the inner life of the planet.” This is now being scrutinised for the first time with hard facts – a series of assumptions have been refuted. After just over half a year of InSight measurements, almost three quarters of the 2,000 or so models on the structure of Mars have already been discarded. And he adds with a smile: “There is quite a lot of discussion going on in the Mars research community right now. One thing is certain, quakes on Mars must have different triggers than those on Earth. They are mostly caused by shifts in the tectonic plates here, whereas Mars only consists of a single tectonic plate.”

Because a completely new chapter has been started in planetary research, the InSight mission was a flight into the unknown. “We had no idea what kind of quakes to expect.” So the scientists designed a broad amplitude spectrum. Giardini says that he would send up “much simpler sensors” next time. But there's one big problem that's hard to ignore - the wind on Mars. It has literally blown away all the seismographic measurement experiments on Mars up to now. And the InSight instrument also only transmits storm noise during the day on Mars. Things only calm down on the Red Planet at night. The seismometer listens all the more closely then.

Giardini knows that a mission like this can also go wrong. “You only get one chance. Everything has to work right as the mission is unmanned, and there is no astronaut on board to keep an eye on things.” It takes a little bit of luck, too. ETH Zurich has specialists for the complicated data from smaller quakes, which are common on Mars, as has now been shown. But what they “hear” is also puzzling. The first seismic signals from the Mars quakes were easy for the researchers to classify, but the ensuing signals produced stronger echoes than expected. Some quakes lasted 10 to 20 minutes. In the meantime, many of our international colleagues are waiting impatiently for major tremors on the surface of Mars; such as a meteorite strike or a volcanic eruption. This would produce signals that would provide completely different insights into the structure of Mars. The Mars Seismological Service benefits them too.

Quels secrets Mars cache-t-elle dans les profondeurs de son sous-sol? Quelle est sa structure, sa dynamique? Les planétologues n’en avaient qu’une vague idée. Mais depuis un an et grâce à l’ETH Zurich, l’analyse des secousses du sol leur donne de premiers éléments de réponse.

Le sismomètre à l’échelle 1:2. Photo: Basil Stücheli

Service sismologique martien. Le nom évoque tant d’images: une coupole dans la poussière rouge, un projet pionnier d’exploration et de colonisation de la planète tellurique? En tout cas, il ne s’agit pas de science-fiction. Domenico Giardini, professeur en sismologie et en géodynamique, est ravi de tout expliquer. Dans un bureau de l’ETH Zurich, trois jeunes scientifiques scrutent une multitude d’écrans et analysent les données reçues pour les caractériser. Le Service sismologique martien est géré avec des sismologues du Service sismologique suisse. Au final, plusieurs groupes de l’ETH Zurich sont responsables des systèmes électroniques de saisie des données et de commande. Le Laboratoire d’électronique et d’instruments astronautiques de l’ETH Zurich a développé la partie électronique ultrasensible du sismomètre.

L’analogie avec les services sismologiques terrestres habituels n’est pas un hasard. Les programmes Discovery de la NASA fonctionnent sur le principe du concours: est retenu le candidat qui présente la meilleure idée scientifique. La proposition de l’ETH Zurich a remporté un vif succès et la sonde InSight a donc permis d’amener sur la planète rouge le sismomètre développé par le consortium. Concrètement, D. Giardini et son équipe avaient promis de «procéder sur Mars exactement comme sur Terre». Infrastructure éprouvée, connaissances existantes et réputation de l’institution garante de stabilité ont convaincu.

Tout n’est pas strictement identique: «L’instrument de mesure InSight est bien plus sensible que ceux utilisés sur Terre.» D’autant plus qu’il devait aussi résister à un long voyage interplanétaire et à une pose délicate. Arrivé sur le sol martien le 19 décembre 2018, le sismomètre est seul à enregistrer les vibrations de Mars. Il a détecté son premier séisme le 6 avril 2019. Les scientifiques peuvent localiser très précisément quelques-uns des un à deux soubresauts captés quotidiennement. A cet effet, D. Giardini et son équipe associent des méthodes issues des débuts de la sismologie à des procédures d’analyse modernes. Leurs résultats aideront à répondre aux interrogations sur la structure géologique de Mars, en particulier, et sur la naissance des planètes telluriques du système solaire, en général.

«On n’a qu’une seule chance. Tout doit fonctionner car aucun astronaute ne peut intervenir sur place», sait Domenico Giardini, professeur en sismologie et en géodynamique de l'ETH Zurich

«Nous avions déjà beaucoup d’informations sur la surface de la planète rouge, mais ne pouvions que former des hypothèses sur ses entrailles.» C’est la première fois que ces suppositions peuvent être vérifiées concrètement et validées ou non. Après plus de six mois de mesures InSight, les trois quarts des quelque 200 modèles sur la structure de Mars ont été écartés. Actuellement, la communauté scientifique travaillant sur Mars ne manque pas de sujets de discussion, ajoute le chercheur avec un grand sourire. Une chose est sûre: sur Mars, l’activité sismique a d’autres origines que sur Terre. Ici-bas, elle résulte principalement de la tectonique des plaques, tandis que, là-haut, Mars ne compte qu’une seule plaque tectonique.

Un tout nouveau chapitre s’étant ouvert en planétologie, «nous ne savions pas quel type de séismes escompter.» Les scientifiques avaient donc prévu un large spectre d’amplitudes. Si prochaine fois il y a, D. Giardini enverra des «capteurs bien plus simples». Un gros problème va persister: le vent martien. Jusque-là, il avait réduit à néant toute tentative de mesure sismographique. Et même l’instrument InSight ne retransmet que le mugissement du vent durant la journée martienne. Le calme ne gagne la planète rouge que le soir. Le sismomètre prête alors une oreille d’autant plus attentive.

D. Giardini sait qu’une telle mission peut facilement échouer. «On n’a qu’une seule chance. Tout doit fonctionner car aucun astronaute ne peut intervenir sur place.» L’intuition est aussi de rigueur. L’ETH Zurich a demandé à des spécialistes d’interpréter les données compliquées sur les petites secousses qui ébranlent fréquemment Mars. Les sons entendus sont énigmatiques. Les scientifiques ont pu classifier facilement les premiers signaux sismiques captés, mais les échos subséquents sont plus forts que prévu. Certains se ressentent pendant 10 à 20 minutes. De nombreux scientifiques de l’étranger attendent impatiemment des secousses plus fortes: l’impact d’une météorite sur la surface martienne, une éruption volcanique. Les signaux ainsi produits donneraient de nouveaux indices sur la structure de la planète rouge. Le travail du service sismologique martien est suivi de près!