ETH Board, 12 March 2012

The ETH Board is increasing the 2013 budgets for all six institutions of the ETH Domain by 2.1% in comparison with the preceding year, and additionally placing an emphasis on teaching. – The ETH Board has also appointed Professor Lino Guzzella to succeed Professor Heidi Wunderli-Allenspach as a member of the Executive Board of ETH Zurich.

In the first meeting in its new composition, the ETH Board allocated the 2013 funds for the six institutions of the ETH Domain – ETH Zurich, EPFL, PSI, WSL, Empa and Eawag. In doing so, it followed the principle of further promoting the two Federal Institutes of Technology, which occupy a top international position in their specific fields, and of acknowledging the renewed strong performance of the research institutes in their specific fields. Subject to the Federal Parliament’s approval of the budget application, the six institutions will have 2.1% more funds at their disposal in 2013 for their regular operations (accomplishment of their basic academic mission) than in the preceding year. The ETH Board is highlighting a priority by additionally granting the six institutions a total of CHF 16.8m from this sum-total; this contribution is ring-fenced for teaching and is made up of monies that were as yet unallocated or had been earmarked for the strategic large-scale projects. In other areas – such as the ETH Domain’s competence centres – the ETH Board made cuts earlier on. Thus the institutions are intended to receive a total of CHF 2,099m in 2013 (+ CHF 59.7m).The ETH Board thus agrees to ETH Zurich’s and EPFL’s demand for more funds for teaching. “ETH Zurich and EPFL are now called upon to set even stronger priorities in their own one-line budgets and to free up funds for the benefit of teaching,” says President Dr Fritz Schiesser. With a view to the future, Vice-President Professor Paul Herrling adds: “Trade and industry and society are calling for more university graduates. The ETH Domain is therefore committed to increasing student numbers as long as the high quality of the education it provides and the funding are guaranteed.”

All in all, the allocation of funds to the institutions results in the following picture:

in million CHFBudget 2012Budget 2013
ETH Zurich1’073.81’105.6
EPFL530.3546.1
PSI242.8249.5
WSL49.450.8
Empa90.492.9
Eawag52.654.1
Subtotal, institutions2’039.32’099.0
Strat. projects, ETH Board, etc. 1)135.1140.4
Total, ETH Domain2’174.42’239.4 2)

1) Own administration, start-up and incentive funding; ongoing ERI mandates and projects of 2012-2016 strategic planning such as HPCN, SwissFEL, Blue Brain, competence centres, participation in SUC programmes and CIP-SUC; in 2012, this includes one-off investment contributions to ETH Zurich and EPFL, Empa and WSL.

2) Of which CHF 12m from previously unallocated funds.

Guidelines for the assumption of external mandates by executive personnel

Moreover, the ETH Board dealt with the guidelines concerning side jobs taken on by executive personnel of the ETH Domain. The ETH Board noted that such mandates are desirable since they are apt to promote cooperation with practice and to make important contributions to the further development of executive personnel. However, external mandates must not trigger conflicts of interest and excessive workloads, nor must they cause any damage to people’s reputations. The guidelines are applicable to the Presidents and other members of the Executive Boards of ETH Zurich and EPFL, as well as to the Directors and other members of the Executive Boards of the research institutions. However, individual investigations of a legal nature are still required concerning the concrete implementation of the guidelines.

Prof. Lino Guzzella a new member of ETH Zurich’s Executive Board

In its capacity as the competent electoral authority, the ETH Board appointed Professor Lino Guzzella as a member of the Executive Board of ETH Zurich. In doing so, the ETH Board followed the application of the President of ETH Zurich, Professor Ralph Eichler. Lino Guzzella will succeed Professor Heidi Wunderli-Allenspach, who will retire at the end of July 2012.

Lino Guzzella (*1957, of Swiss and Italian nationality) has been appointed as a member of the Executive Board for a four-year term of office. He will take office on 1 August 2012 and assume responsibility for teaching issues at ETH Zurich. Lino Guzzella has been Full Professor of Thermotronics since 1999. His research has focused on the field of “low-energy mobility”. Owing to his scientific activities, Lino Guzzella has an excellent network and reputation at an international level; in Switzerland, his is an authoritative voice in the energy debate, and he is involved in the work of the Commission for Technology and Innovation with regard to technology transfer. Above and beyond this, Lino Guzzella is an inspiring university teacher, who has made a crucial contribution to the advancement of the Department of Mechanical and Process Engineering.

Further business and professorial appointments

The ETH Board has also appointed its Vice-President, Paul Herrling, as a member of its Audit Commit-tee, which is now made up of Beth Krasna (Chair), Dr Barbara Haering and Paul Herrling.
The ETH Board further dealt with the ETH Domain’s report on energy research that it will have to submit to the State Secretariat for Education and Research. In addition, it reviewed the relevant performance agreements with the institutions for the first time on the basis of its 2012-2016 strategic planning. The Presidents of ETH Zurich and EPFL explained their professorship planning for 2012-2016 to the ETH Board, and upon their application, the ETH Board appointed 17 professors, took note of the resignations of six professors and thanked them for their services, and awarded the title of professor to two individuals (cf. separate media release).

Conseil des EPF, 12 mars 2012

Le Conseil des EPF augmente de 2,1% les budgets 2013 des six institutions du Domaine des EPF par rapport à l'année précédente et met par ailleurs l'accent sur l'enseignement. Il a en outre nommé le professeur Lino Guzzella à la direction de l'ETH Zurich pour succéder à la professeure Heidi Wunderli-Allenspach.

Lors de sa première séance dans sa nouvelle composition, le Conseil des EPF (CEPF) a procédé à l’allocation des ressources pour 2013 à l'ETH Zurich, à l'EPFL, au PSI, au WSL, à l'Empa et à l'Eawag. Ce faisant, il a eu pour principe, d'une part, de continuer à encourager l'ETH Zurich et l'EPFL qui sont particulièrement bien positionnées au niveau international et, d'autre part, de reconnaître les prestations, à nouveau remarquables, fournies par les établissements de recherche dans leurs domaines spécifiques. Sous réserve de l'approbation du budget 2013 par les Chambres fédérales, ces six institutions disposeront en 2013 d’un budget augmenté de 2,1% par rapport à 2012 au titre de leur fonctionnement ordinaire (exécution du mandat académique de base). Le Conseil des EPF met par ailleurs l'accent sur l'enseignement en accordant dans cette enveloppe budgétaire des fonds à affectation spéciale pour un montant de 16,8 millions de francs, qui proviennent de fonds non alloués précédemment ou prévus pour les grands projets stratégiques. Le Conseil des EPF a d'ores et déjà réalisé des économies dans d'autres secteurs, comme les centres de compétences du Domaine des EPF. Les six institutions devraient donc recevoir 2099 millions de francs au total en 2013 (+ 59,7 millions de francs). Ce faisant, le Conseil des EPF satisfait aux exigences des deux EPF qui demandaient des fonds supplémentaires pour l’enseignement. «L'ETH Zurich et l'EPFL doivent elles aussi fixer résolument d'autres priorités dans leur budget global afin de dégager des fonds pour l'enseignement», précise Fritz Schiesser, président du Conseil des EPF. Concernant l'avenir, le professeur Paul Herrling, vice-président du Conseil des EPF, déclare: «L'économie et la société réclament davantage de diplômés des écoles polytechniques. Dès lors, le Domaine des EPF s'engage résolument en faveur d'une progression de l'effectif estudiantin tant que la qualité élevée de la formation et le financement sont garantis.»

Dans l'ensemble, les ressources sont allouées comme suit:

En millions de francsBudget 2012Budget 2013
ETH Zurich1’073.81’105.6
EPFL530.3546.1
PSI242.8249.5
WSL49.450.8
Empa90.492.9
Eawag52.654.1
Sous-total «Institutions»2’039.32’099.0
Projets strat., Conseil des EPF, etc. 1)135.1140.4
Total «Domaine des EPF»2’174.42’239.4 2)

1) Administration propre, financements incitatifs et d'aide au démarrage; mandats FRI déjà en cours ainsi que projets figurant dans le Plan stratégique 2012–2016 du Conseil des EPF (HPCN, SwissFEL, Blue Brain, centres de compétences, participations aux programmes de la CUS et PCI-CUS); en 2012 y c. des contributions uniques aux investissements accordées aux deux EPF, à l'Empa et au WSL.

2) Dont 12 millions de francs provenant de fonds non distribués.

Directives concernant l'exercice de mandats externes par les membres des directions

Le Conseil des EPF a également délibéré sur les directives concernant les activités accessoires des membres des directions des EPF ou des directions des établissements de recherche. A cette occasion, il s'est déclaré favorable à de tels mandats, car ils favorisent la collaboration sur le terrain et constituent un atout indéniable pour le développement des cadres dirigeants. Toutefois, ces activités externes ne doivent pas conduire à des conflits d'intérêts, ni générer une charge de travail excessive ou constituer des risques de réputation. Ces directives s'appliquent aux président(e)s et aux autres membres des directions de l'ETH Zurich et de l'EPFL, ainsi qu'aux directeurs/directrices et aux autres membres des directions des établissements de recherche. Leur application concrète doit encore faire l'objet de certaines vérifications juridiques.

Le professeur Lino Guzzella accède à la direction de l'ETH Zurich

En sa qualité d'autorité de nomination, le Conseil des EPF a nommé le professeur Lino Guzzella au sein de la direction de l'ETH Zurich. Ce faisant, il donne suite à la proposition du président de l'ETH Zurich, le professeur Ralph Eichler. Lino Guzzella succède ainsi à la professeure Heidi Wunderli-Allenspach, qui prendra sa retraite fin juillet 2012.

Lino Guzzella (*1957, de nationalités suisse et italienne) est nommé en tant que membre de la direction d'école pour un mandat de quatre ans. Il prendra ses fonctions le 1er août 2012 et s'occupera des ques-tions ayant trait à l'enseignement. Professeur ordinaire de thermotronique depuis 1999, Lino Guzzella s'est distingué dans la recherche sur la mobilité douce. Outre son excellent réseau de relations, son acti-vité scientifique lui a valu une renommée internationale. En Suisse, il est une voix influente dans le débat sur l'énergie et s'engage en faveur du transfert de technologie dans le cadre de la Commission pour la technologie et l'innovation. Enseignant à l'enthousiasme communicatif, Lino Guzzella a grandement con-tribué à l'essor du département de génie mécanique et de technologie des procédés.

Autres dossiers et nominations de professeurs

Le Conseil des EPF a également nommé son vice-président, le professeur Paul Herrling, comme mem-bre du comité d’audit, qui compte désormais trois membres, dont Beth Krasna (présidente) et Barbara Haering. Il a aussi débattu du rapport partiel du Domaine des EPF consacré à la recherche énergétique qu'il doit remettre au Secrétariat d'Etat à l'éducation et à la recherche. S'appuyant sur son Plan straté-gique 2012–2016, il a aussi discuté une première fois des conventions d'objectifs qu'il passera avec les institutions. Les présidents de l'ETH Zurich et de l'EPFL lui ont ensuite présenté leur planification des professorats 2012–2016. Sur cette base, le Conseil des EPF a nommé 17 nouveaux professeurs au to-tal, a adressé ses remerciements à six professeurs partant à la retraite et a décerné deux titres de pro-fesseur (cf. communiqué de presse séparé).