ETH Board, 27 April 2012

The number of students at ETH Zurich and EPFL rose by 6.3% in 2011 to a total of 25,629. New entrants rose by 6.9%, particularly in mathematics, informatics, natural sciences and technics (the “MINT” subjects). ETH Zurich, EPFL, and the four research institutes PSI, WSL, Empa and Eawag are strengthening knowledge and technology transfer (KTT). Industry associations Swissmem and scienceindustries welcome this development, along with the growth in student numbers. They are calling for the ETH Domain to maintain its leading international position, and for greater investment on the part of the Swiss Confederation.

New student numbers rose at both Federal Institutes of Technology in 2011, particularly in engineering sciences (+4.8%), information and communication technology (+5.4%), and pure natural sciences (+14.7%); the proportion of women pursuing Bachelor courses of study rose slightly once again to 29.4%. Revenues from direct federal funds (“primary funding”) rose by 3.6% year-on-year in 2011 to CHF 2.207 billion. The project funds acquired competitively (“secondary funding”) rose by 9.0% to CHF 445.2 million.

Ensuring the continuing high quality of courses remains a challenge for ETH Zurich and EPFL: The professor-to-student ratio, which is closely observed in international rankings, deteriorated further in 2011 (from 1:33.2 in 2002 up to 1:35.8 today), despite the fact that the ETH Domain employed 30 more professors in 2011 than it did the previous year (new total: 749). At the annual media conference of the ETH Board, President Dr Fritz Schiesser commented as follows: “The rise in the number of students in MINT subjects fulfils a long-standing wish on the part of the Swiss economy and Swiss society, particularly as the study programmes at ETH Zurich and EPFL are continually being evaluated and adapted in keeping with learning outcomes and their practical orientation.” The national contribution made by the two Federal Institutes of Technology and the four research institutes of the ETH Domain is evident, for example, in their participation in 83 of the 246 projects approved by the Commission for Technology and Innovation (CTI) as part of measures to combat the strength of the franc. In the area of energy research, on which the ETH Domain spent some CHF 190 million (excluding overheads) in 2011, the range of promising research projects currently underway includes research into the use of biomass, innovations in the function and manufacture of photovoltaic cells, geothermal energy, and the energy efficiency of buildings (e.g. NEST, the new platform for energy-conscious construction at Empa). Teaching remains a key priority for the ETH Board; with a view to maintaining Switzerland’s international competitiveness, the ETH Domain also invests in large-scale research and infrastructure projects such as high-performance computing. Due to the long-term nature of its work, the ETH Board welcomes the proposal from the Committee for Science, Education and Culture (CSEC) of the Council of States for continued growth of federal contributions in the years 2013–2016: “Switzerland holds an outstanding position in the area of education, research and innovation (ERI), but countries such as Germany and China are catching up. The ETH Domain must be in a position to invest if it is to make an even greater contribution to innovation in Switzerland”, urges Schiesser. 
 

Training, using infrastructures, analysing findings

The way in which the ETH Domain promotes innovation is explained by Dr Adrienne Corboud Fumagalli, Vice-President of Innovation and Technology Transfer at EPFL: According to Fumagalli, the involvement extends from training to shared infrastructures – such as at the Binnig and Rohrer Nanotechnology Center of IBM and ETH Zurich in Rüschlikon (Canton Zurich) – through to the sale of licences and the provision of services and expertise. “Key factors for successful cooperation include commitment to an open campus and sufficient financial resources to bridge over lean phases in the innovation process,” she explains. An example of this kind of bridge financing was the “innogrant” (a grant for entrepreneurial initiative) awarded by EPFL to the initiator of Aleva Neurotherapeutics back in 2008. The company recently raised EUR 9.5 million in the form of venture capital, and today employs eight members of staff in Switzerland at EPFL’s Parc Scientifique. The strength of the links between the ETH Domain and the Swiss economy are revealed by the following figures: In 2011, ETH Zurich concluded some 700 research agreements, of which 219 were with Swiss SMEs. The combined value of these contracts amounted to just under CHF 150 million. EPFL signed 122 agreements for industrial-scientific joint ventures, thereby increasing its direct funding from industry by 16% compared to 2010. Corboud Fumagalli sees the EPFL’s Quartier de l’Innovation as the perfect example of an open campus: Since the end of 2010, this has housed not just start-ups but also major companies, as a result of which more than 1,000 jobs have been created in total. Ultimately, the Quartier de l’Innovation will be in a position to host almost 2,000 people. Many EPFL students are currently on internships or are embarking on their professional careers with these companies. “If Switzerland is to become a national ‘innovation park’ as envisaged by the new Federal Research and Innovation Act, it must build on successful hubs of this kind and integrate the different regions of Switzerland into a single network,” says Corboud Fumagalli.
 

Swiss mechanical and electrical engineering industries call for investment in training

Swissmem Chairman Hans Hess, who appeared as a guest speaker at the annual media conference, expressed his firm conviction that Switzerland had to remain a centre of research and innovation: In 2011, more than 1/3 of all Swiss goods exports (CHF 68.5 billion) were accounted for by the mechanical and electrical engineering industries, which generated 9.2% of gross domestic product thanks to total sales of CHF 89 billion. In a survey of Swissmem member companies conducted in 2011, 65% of SMEs (i.e. companies with up to 249 staff) and 78% of larger companies reported a lack of qualified specialists at all levels. Hans Hess is therefore calling for more trust in the dual education system, as well as an increase in Swiss student numbers at the two Federal Institutes of Technology: “Too few young people are training to become engineers.” Where the transfer of knowledge from higher education institutions to companies is concerned, Hess believes that both parties have to make an effort: “Large companies have very good access to KTT. Medium-sized companies have favourable conditions, but they do not exploit them sufficiently. And SMEs need to increasingly cultivate contact with universities of applied sciences, which would be attractive partners for them,” argues Hess. Overall, he is calling for consistent growth of investment in education, research and innovation over the years. In addition, the instruments of knowledge and technology transfer need to be better coordinated and more efficient.
 

Chemical and pharmaceutical industries call for 6% growth in ERI funding

For the Swiss chemical and pharmaceutical industries (as represented by scienceindustries), innovation is the prerequisite for success in the manufacture and marketing of high-value-creating products such as pharmaceuticals, diagnostic equipment, vitamins and nutritional supplements, plant treatment products, and high-quality material treatments. The member companies of scienceindustries directly employ more than 70,000 employees in Switzerland, of which 12,000 work in research. Guest speaker Michael F. Plüss, Vice-Chairman of scienceindustries, emphasises that the member companies of the association account for 44% of all private research expenditure in Switzerland, and are at the same time reliant on the public sector to fund training and basic research to a level of excellence: A cluster effect manifests itself when knowledge and technology transfer functions across the entire network of public and private research. “In research, the rule that ‘people follow jobs’ can become inverted so that ‘jobs follow people’,” says Plüss. The best scientists look for proximity to other outstanding specialists, wherever they may be in the world. Plüss sees a clear lesson to be drawn from this: “If we are not simply to give away the leading global position held by the Swiss science industries and lose our research and innovation status, we need a binding commitment to growth in ERI funding of at least 6%.”

Conseil des EPF, 27 avril 2012

En 2011, le nombre d’étudiants à l’ETH Zurich et à l’EPFL a augmenté de 6,3% pour totaliser 25 629 personnes. Les nouvelles immatriculations ont progressé de 6,9% dans les domaines MINT (mathématiques, informatique, sciences naturelles et technique). Tant l’ETH Zurich et l’EPFL que les quatre établissements de recherche PSI, WSL, Empa et Eawag renforcent le transfert de savoir et de technologie (TST). Les organisations économiques Swissmem et scienceindustries saluent cette évolution, ainsi que la progression de l’effectif estudiantin. De plus, elles lancent un appel pour que le Domaine des EPF conserve une position internationale de pointe et demandent à la Confédération qu’elle intensifie ses investissements.

En 2011, les immatriculations de nouveaux étudiants ont augmenté dans les deux écoles polytechniques: +4,8% dans les sciences de l’ingénieur, +5,4% dans les technologies de l’information et de la communication et +14,7% dans les sciences naturelles exactes. La proportion de femmes a une nouvelle fois légèrement progressé dans les filières de bachelor pour s’établir à 29,4%. En 2011, les moyens mis directement à disposition par la Confédération («fonds primaires») ont enregistré une hausse de 3,6% par rapport à l’exercice précédent, à 2,207 milliards de francs. Les fonds acquis sur concours destinés à des projets («fonds secondaires») ont augmenté quant à eux de 9,0%, à 445,2 millions de francs.

Garantir la qualité de la formation reste un défi de taille pour l’ETH Zurich et l’EPFL: le taux d’encadrement, auquel s’intéressent les classements internationaux, s’est encore détérioré en 2011 (pour passer de 1:33,2 en 2002 à 1:35,8 aujourd’hui), alors que le Domaine des EPF a employé 30 professeur(e)s de plus qu’en 2010 (749 au total). Lors de la conférence de presse annuelle du Conseil des EPF, le président Fritz Schiesser a déclaré: «La hausse du nombre d’étudiants dans les domaines MINT permet d’exaucer le souhait exprimé depuis de longues années par l’économie et la société, d’autant que les filières proposées par l’ETH Zurich et l’EPFL sont évaluées et adaptées en continu, en fonction de leurs performances et de leur orientation sur la pratique.» La Suisse profite des activités déployées par les deux écoles polytechniques et les quatre établissements de recherche du Domaine des EPF. La preuve en est la participation à 83 des 246 projets approuvés par la Commission pour la technologie et l’innovation (CTI) dans le cadre des mesures contre le franc fort. Concernant la recherche énergétique, dans laquelle le Domaine des EPF a investi quelque 190 millions de francs en 2011 (sans les coûts indirects), plusieurs projets de recherche prometteurs sont en cours, p. ex. pour l’utilisation de la biomasse, pour des innovations liées au fonctionnement et à la fabrication de cellules photovoltaïques, en matière de géothermie ou encore d’efficience énergétique des bâtiments (à l’instar de la nouvelle plateforme NEST, mise sur pied à l’Empa). L’enseignement reste la priorité du Conseil des EPF. Dans la perspective du maintien de la compétitivité internationale de la Suisse, le Domaine des EPF investit aussi dans des grands projets de recherche et d’infrastructure, comme le calcul à haute performance, qui est une entreprise de longue haleine. Le Conseil des EPF salue dès lors la proposition de la commission compétente du Conseil des Etats (CSEC) d’augmenter la contribution de la Confédération de manière continue pendant la période 2013–2016: «La Suisse détient d’excellents atouts en termes de formation, de recherche et d’innovation (FRI), mais des pays comme l’Allemagne et la Chine sont en train de la rattraper. Le Domaine des EPF doit pouvoir investir afin de contribuer de manière plus efficace encore à l’innovation en Suisse», poursuit M. Schiesser.
 

Former, utiliser les infrastructures, valoriser les découvertes

Pour Adrienne Corboud Fumagalli, vice-présidente pour l’innovation et la valorisation à l’EPFL, le Domaine des EPF encourage l’innovation à plusieurs niveaux: l’engagement va de la formation aux infrastructures utilisées conjointement avec l’industrie, comme au Binnig and Rohrer Nanotechnology Center d’IBM et de l’ETH Zurich à Rüschlikon (ZH), en passant par la vente de licences et l’offre de services et d’expertises. «Un campus ouvert et des moyens de financement pour surmonter les passages à vide éventuels durant le processus d’innovation sont indispensables à une collaboration fructueuse», ajoute Mme Corboud Fumagalli. Les «Innogrants» (bourses d’encouragement pour des initiatives entrepreneuriales) sont un exemple de pont de financement dont a bénéficié le fondateur d’Aleva Neurotherapeutics en 2008. Plus récemment, cette entreprise, qui emploie aujourd’hui 8 personnes au Parc scientifique de l’EPFL, a réussi à lever 9,5 millions d’euros de capital-risque. Pour illustrer les liens étroits entre le Domaine des EPF et l’économie au travers du TST, voici quelques chiffres: en 2011, l’ETH Zurich a passé environ 700 contrats de recherche, dont 219 avec des PME suisses, pour un volume de financement de près de 150 millions de francs. L’EPFL a pour sa part signé 122 contrats dans le cadre de coopérations scientifiques et industrielles, ce qui lui a permis en 2011 de faire progresser de 16% le volume de fonds issus directement de l’industrie. Pour Mme Corboud Fumagalli, le Quartier de l’Innovation de l’EPFL est le campus ouvert par excellence: depuis fin 2010, de grands groupes industriels y côtoient des start-up, et plus de mille emplois au total y ont été créés. A terme, le Quartier de l’Innovation pourra en accueillir près de 2000. Nombreux sont les étudiants de l’EPFL qui suivent un stage dans ces entreprises ou y décrochent leur premier emploi. «Un parc suisse d’innovation, tel que le prévoit la nouvelle Loi sur l’encouragement de la recherche et de l’innovation (LERI), doit tirer parti de ces structures prometteuses et impliquer les différentes régions de Suisse en les mettant en réseau», ajoute Mme Corboud Fumagalli.
 

L’industrie MEM veut des investissements dans la formation

Hans Hess, président de Swissmem, plaide en faveur d’une Suisse forte, qui assoit sa position en tant que pôle de recherche et d’innovation: en 2011, l’industrie des machines, des équipements électriques et des métaux (MEM) a représenté plus du tiers des exportations suisses totales (soit 68,5 milliards de francs) et 9,2% du PIB en générant un chiffre d’affaires total de 89 milliards de francs. A l’occasion d’un sondage réalisé en 2011 auprès des membres de Swissmem, 65% des PME (jusqu’à 249 collaborateurs) et 78% des entreprises de plus grande taille ont déclaré souffrir d’une pénurie de spécialistes à tous les niveaux. Hans Hess estime dès lors qu’il faut renouveler la confiance dans le système de formation duel, tout en augmentant le nombre d’étudiants suisses dans les deux EPF: «Trop peu de jeunes optent pour des études d’ingénieur.» A propos du transfert de savoir depuis les hautes écoles vers les entreprises, M. Hess est d’avis que des efforts doivent être faits des deux côtés: «Pour les grands groupes, il est très facile d’accéder au TST. Les entreprises de taille moyenne ont d’excellentes possibilités, mais ne les exploitent pas assez. Quant aux PME, elles doivent rechercher plus activement le contact avec les hautes écoles spécialisées, qui seraient pour elles des partenaires intéressants», poursuit-il. Globalement, le président de Swissmem demande une augmentation progressive des investissements à long terme dans la formation, la recherche et l’innovation. Il préconise en outre d’améliorer la coordination des instruments de TST pour en accroître l’efficacité.
 

L’industrie chimique et pharmaceutique exige une hausse de 6% des moyens FRI

L’industrie chimique et pharmaceutique suisse (scienceindustries) relève que le pouvoir d’innovation est la condition sine qua non pour remporter les succès escomptés dans la fabrication et la commercialisation de produits à forte valeur ajoutée, tels que les produits pharmaceutiques et diagnostiques, les vitamines et compléments alimentaires, les produits phytosanitaires ainsi que le traitement de haute qualité des matériaux. Les entreprises membres de scienceindustries emploient plus de 70 000 collaborateurs directement en Suisse, dont quelque 12 000 chercheurs. Michael F. Plüss, vice-président de scienceindustries, souligne que ses membres financent 44% du total des dépenses privées en matière de recherche en Suisse et que, dans le même temps, elles doivent pouvoir compter sur une formation et une recherche fondamentale d’excellente qualité, financées par des fonds publics. En effet, lorsqu’il fonctionne au sein de tout un réseau constitué de chercheurs issus à la fois du secteur public et du secteur privé, le transfert de savoir et de technologie favorise le regroupement de talents (effet cluster). «Dans la recherche, il arrive que le postulat ˂People follow jobs˃ s’inverse et devienne ˂Jobs follow people˃», explique Michael Plüss. Les meilleurs scientifiques recherchent en effet le contact avec leurs homologues, où qu’ils soient. Et M. Plüss de conclure avec fermeté: «Nous n’avons pas le droit de renoncer à la position de pointe mondiale qu’occupe le secteur scientifique suisse ni de négliger notre statut de pôle de recherche et l’innovation. Par conséquent, nous avons besoin d’obtenir l’assurance que les moyens FRI connaîtront une hausse annuelle de 6% au moins.»